60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really good. I am sure I will be makeing it all the time. I didn't have any celery seed, but probably won't ever use that anyway. I thought it might be a little too sweet, but hubby said it was just right. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissy sue July 05, 2011

just tried this dressing out today, n everyone really liked it! i did cut down on the sugar,infact used a Tb of Splenda instead. great dressing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatintheKitchen May 24, 2010

I made this as a component of Chicken Wings... Hot Dawgie Style because I didn't want all that sugar that bottled Catalina dressing contains. (I substituted artificial sweetener.) This is really an excellent clone to the store bought stuff. Now I don't have to give up Catalina dressing due to hubby's diabetes. Yay! Actually, there is still a fair bit of sugar in this due to the ketchup, but much less with that one ingredient change. I really enjoyed this when I gave it a taste before use in the other recipe. I'll certainly be making this again for a salad in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest February 08, 2010

Very very good! I used Splenda as I live with a diabetic and he was thrilled to have this sweet dressing without having to worry about the sugar....thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc November 05, 2009

This was soooo easy, and tasty. My son loves Catalina dressing and cucumbers for a snack, I made this he gives this a huge thumbs up! I used cider vinegar, 1/2 cup of sugar in the raw, and only 1/2 of the oil to try to make it a little less caloric. Will try to use Stevia next time, as I am trying to stay away from refined sugars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icancook66 June 16, 2009

This is a great recipe. I substituted 1 tsp onion powder for the grated onion. I used Bragg's unfiltered apple cider vinegar, Whey-Low (an all natural sugar replacement) and the ketchup I used was already sweetened with Agave Nectar. So no refined sugar went into my dressing. Tasted fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T Beiser May 20, 2009

Great taste! I'll never buy store bought again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_schoeneich May 06, 2009

I love this dressing! I subsituted Splenda for the sugar and it was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quitoslady #2 April 16, 2009

I've never been much of a Catalina salad dressing consumer, but we had a guest the other night and I knew that's all he likes, so I tried this one. Based on others' reviews I used less sugar (3/4 cup) and red wine vinegar. He said, "Wow, this is better than the real thing." I halved the recipe, but still there was some remaining. We finished it up last night and decided it's much better than we had ever given it credit for. Thanks for posting Miss Annie:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judikins March 04, 2009

Yeah, This dressing is yummy enough to turn a vegetable salad into a dessert. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry Belle February 18, 2014
Clone Kraft's Catalina Salad Dressing