60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just finished making this dressing and the taste is so similar to Kraft's catalina dressing! Thanks, I will enjoy this often!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 28, 2002

I've been making this recipe since 2004. I've tried different kinds of vinegar and found that Balsamic tastes the best. I've also used Splenda in place of the sugar and Canola oil in place of vegetable oil. Everyone that's tasted this dressing, has asked for the recipe.
Thanks so much for sharing t.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori91761 August 11, 2010

I made this exactly as directed. Not my favorite, although I usually love ketchup based salad dressings. I think it was too sweet. I may try to make again with much less sugar. Just realized that I did use the heinz organic ketchup and I think it is sweeter than the regular kind. I put in about 2 T. of grated onion, next time I would use less.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee Hock January 06, 2010

This was so good. I used a little less sugar. After I made it we have had salads quite often because the kids and I love this dressing so much. I think it is important to use the blender as it makes the emulsion. I don't think I will ever use the store bought stuff again. edited June 2012. This has been my go to recipe for a long time now, I don't grate the onion anymore and add some smoked paprika in addition to changing what type of vinegar-all are good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 June 11, 2012

Loved this dressing. Great flavor and you don't need a lot on your salad.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 01, 2010

I have no idea what Catalina dressing is supposed to taste like as we cannot buy it here in Perth Australia so I made as 1 cup and got just over 1 cup (used 1/8 cup in Smoked Spicy Teriyaki Drumsticks 433189) and enjoyed the taste that I had of the dressing and look forward to using it in other recipes and on salad leaves, thank you Miss Annie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 25, 2012

Excellent recipe. Definitely going to be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sillydragon August 05, 2012

I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out pretty good. I don't think it really tasted like Kraft's catalina dressing as this one tasted a bit too "ketchup-y" to me. But i'll definitely make it again as it was still very tasty. Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun January 29, 2012

Miss Annie, you have the BEST recipes! This is another winner! I used red wine vinegar, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I didn't even bother to get the blender out, just whisked it all together and then slowly whisked the oil in. It was so good! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose November 02, 2011

Oh my goodness! This made me ask myself "why do I buy $2 and $3 bottles of salad dressing?!!" This is so simple and so delicious! I took another reviewer's suggestion on using Splenda, canola, and balsalmic vinegar making it a little more healthier. Thank you, Miss Annie ... great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn October 09, 2011
Clone Kraft's Catalina Salad Dressing