Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Clone Kraft's Catalina Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Clone Kraft's Catalina Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2002

      Just finished making this dressing and the taste is so similar to Kraft's catalina dressing! Thanks, I will enjoy this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      I've been making this recipe since 2004. I've tried different kinds of vinegar and found that Balsamic tastes the best. I've also used Splenda in place of the sugar and Canola oil in place of vegetable oil. Everyone that's tasted this dressing, has asked for the recipe.
      Thanks so much for sharing t.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I made this exactly as directed. Not my favorite, although I usually love ketchup based salad dressings. I think it was too sweet. I may try to make again with much less sugar. Just realized that I did use the heinz organic ketchup and I think it is sweeter than the regular kind. I put in about 2 T. of grated onion, next time I would use less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      This was so good. I used a little less sugar. After I made it we have had salads quite often because the kids and I love this dressing so much. I think it is important to use the blender as it makes the emulsion. I don't think I will ever use the store bought stuff again. edited June 2012. This has been my go to recipe for a long time now, I don't grate the onion anymore and add some smoked paprika in addition to changing what type of vinegar-all are good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Loved this dressing. Great flavor and you don't need a lot on your salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      I have no idea what Catalina dressing is supposed to taste like as we cannot buy it here in Perth Australia so I made as 1 cup and got just over 1 cup (used 1/8 cup in Smoked Spicy Teriyaki Drumsticks 433189) and enjoyed the taste that I had of the dressing and look forward to using it in other recipes and on salad leaves, thank you Miss Annie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Excellent recipe. Definitely going to be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out pretty good. I don't think it really tasted like Kraft's catalina dressing as this one tasted a bit too "ketchup-y" to me. But i'll definitely make it again as it was still very tasty. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      Miss Annie, you have the BEST recipes! This is another winner! I used red wine vinegar, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I didn't even bother to get the blender out, just whisked it all together and then slowly whisked the oil in. It was so good! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Oh my goodness! This made me ask myself "why do I buy $2 and $3 bottles of salad dressing?!!" This is so simple and so delicious! I took another reviewer's suggestion on using Splenda, canola, and balsalmic vinegar making it a little more healthier. Thank you, Miss Annie ... great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      This is really good. I am sure I will be makeing it all the time. I didn't have any celery seed, but probably won't ever use that anyway. I thought it might be a little too sweet, but hubby said it was just right. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      just tried this dressing out today, n everyone really liked it! i did cut down on the sugar,infact used a Tb of Splenda instead. great dressing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I made this as a component of Chicken Wings... Hot Dawgie Style because I didn't want all that sugar that bottled Catalina dressing contains. (I substituted artificial sweetener.) This is really an excellent clone to the store bought stuff. Now I don't have to give up Catalina dressing due to hubby's diabetes. Yay! Actually, there is still a fair bit of sugar in this due to the ketchup, but much less with that one ingredient change. I really enjoyed this when I gave it a taste before use in the other recipe. I'll certainly be making this again for a salad in the future.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Very very good! I used Splenda as I live with a diabetic and he was thrilled to have this sweet dressing without having to worry about the sugar....thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      This was soooo easy, and tasty. My son loves Catalina dressing and cucumbers for a snack, I made this he gives this a huge thumbs up! I used cider vinegar, 1/2 cup of sugar in the raw, and only 1/2 of the oil to try to make it a little less caloric. Will try to use Stevia next time, as I am trying to stay away from refined sugars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I substituted 1 tsp onion powder for the grated onion. I used Bragg's unfiltered apple cider vinegar, Whey-Low (an all natural sugar replacement) and the ketchup I used was already sweetened with Agave Nectar. So no refined sugar went into my dressing. Tasted fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Great taste! I'll never buy store bought again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I love this dressing! I subsituted Splenda for the sugar and it was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      I've never been much of a Catalina salad dressing consumer, but we had a guest the other night and I knew that's all he likes, so I tried this one. Based on others' reviews I used less sugar (3/4 cup) and red wine vinegar. He said, "Wow, this is better than the real thing." I halved the recipe, but still there was some remaining. We finished it up last night and decided it's much better than we had ever given it credit for. Thanks for posting Miss Annie:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      Yeah, This dressing is yummy enough to turn a vegetable salad into a dessert. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Clone Kraft's Catalina Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (712 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1445.5
     
    Calories from Fat 986
    68%
    Total Fat 109.6 g
    168%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3231.3 mg
    134%
    Total Carbohydrate 120.8 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 118.1 g
    472%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites