11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yay! Worked wonders! I didn't use bottled fruit juice, I just squeezed 2 lemons and topped it up with water until 85ml, very translucent colour and of course lemon = nice fragrance! I've used it for my fruit chiffon cake (as pictured) and my japanese chiffon cheesecake! Thx a million!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cabnolen March 05, 2011

THE BEST GLAZE! I've used it for everything and it is PERFECT. I love that I can substitute different kinds of fruit juice to suit different desserts. I most often use it for my cheesecake with fresh berries glazed on top; I add lemon juice to that recipe (1/2 c. water, 1/2 c. fresh squeezed juice with pulp strained out). ONE QUICK DECORATING TIP: Instead of placing your fruit on top of your cake then drizzling the glaze over the top, add a good spoonful of glaze to a bowl then add your fruit. GENTLY mix to coat all of the fruit then place the fruit where you'd like it onto your cake. It tends to look more professional this way. Only caution is that VERY ripe fruit, such as blackberries will break and mix their blackberry juice into the glaze if you mix too vigorously. Mix Gently. Good luck and enjoy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teanna S. February 18, 2015

This tasted nice and was simple to make but I found it wasn't clear but rather an orange colour. This could be due to the fact that I used peach juice but the recipe didn't specify which juice was best. Perhaps using apple juice might have given a more translucent result. I also used a bit of honey which might have added too much colour as I can't get corn syrup here. Perhaps glucose might have worked better. I will try again and update my findings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook February 23, 2011

One word: ABSOLUTELYPERFECT. This was beyond simple to make from ingredients that are always on hand and it was the perfect texture, taste and color. Half a batch was more than enough to do a dozen cupcake-sized cheesecake tarts. And a VERY adequate and tasty chocolate glaze resulted by adding about 1/4 cup of semi-sweet morsels to the full batch. This will also produce a glaze that sets a bit more solid and certainly not nearly as translucent. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CasMarino January 01, 2011

Thank you so much for posting this. I was pressed for time and needed something quick. Recipezaar to the rescue! I used this glaze for raspberries and blueberries that I used to top mini cheesecakes (recipe by RecipeNut).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
browniepie September 20, 2009

Thank you so much for posting this...I was frantic for a glaze that I could use on cheese cake tarts. (see photo) The recipe I had, suggested using an apricot jam glaze, but when I tried it, they didn't look very pretty. I came across this recipe and gave it a try and I am so glad I did. I didn't have corn syrup, but had some simple syrup that I used as a substitute, it turned out perfectly!! Thank you for posting and thank goodness for Recipezaar and all the wonderful people who make this site so great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawnygirl August 27, 2009

I used this to top off some tarts that I had made for Mother's Day. I used 1/2 c. water and 1/2 c. lemon juice instead of a full cup of juice. They turned out wonderfully and it was the perfect compliment to the fruit and cream cheese filling. They were a huge hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherrysweater May 19, 2008

This glaze is delicious! I made it with juice from mandarin orange tins and I used the orange segments to top a cheesecake! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo-Lynn December 23, 2007

I made this to top a fresh peach cake yesterday. I pureed a cup's worth of fresh peaches and some lemon juice, and it was like a spread. It is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renee Gahan August 20, 2006
Clear Fruit Glaze for Cakes