Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cleaning Your Washer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cleaning Your Washer

    Average Rating:

    95 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 95

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2003

      Fantastic!!!!! Bev I'm sorry I haunted you with all my questions, I did not understand the steps because my machine locks automaticly (a safety feature) when you select a programme and cannot be opened after the cycle is finished.Thats why I could not let it fill with water and then add the bleach. This is what I did: 1 Emptied a bottle of bleach in the machine. 2 Selected the longest programme and the hottest temperature 3 Switched on. Did the same for the vinegar wash.I have a beautiful clean machine and the musty smell is gone. Years of trying to clean it with little success by myself, it is now done by the machine itself with an incredible result. One thing I should mention is that when I checked halfway on the bleach wash there was foam pouring out of the machine, it must have been the years of soap build-up, I cleaned it and did not panic about it, also don't think it will happen next time. This morning I did a wash and it came out beautiful and fresh smelling like it should! Many, many thanks for posting this Bev!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2003

      A Five Star all the way...with Shannon and family living here that thing sure had a bad smell for some reason? I know it works because my towels came out with the best smell ...Thank You so very much Bev...That is one thing I no longer have to worry about. Have a good day. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2003

      What a helpful suggestion and recipe! I had NO IDEA that I was getting a slimy build up in my wonderful new Maytag washer, but it does make a lot of sense to me. I'm off to the store to get the ingredients this morning. I would normally wait until after the treatment, but since I can't actually see inside of the machine or perhaps even tell the difference, I'm just giving you 5 stars for the very helpful suggestion, Bev. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2003

      this was sooooooo easy and so great, I had a funky smell in my washer, every wash smelled like it sat over night, the washer was clean to look at but couldn't get rid of it, this worked like a charm thank you thank you thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I haven't tried this yet, but I wanted to give a quick tip; If you use fabric softener with your towels it will make them more water resistant which is counterproductive. The same goes for using a dryer sheet. Although we all love soft towels it leaves a "film" which creates a bit of a barrier to water. Update: I have started using white vinegar in place of Softener to all of my clothes and everything comes out amazingly soft! I have an HE washer, so I use 1/4 cup at the most. Any vinegar smell always dissipates after drying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      Thanks so much for sharing this with us!!! I had no idea how great this simple "recipe" would work! Now my washer is clean and fresh. i can not open mine once it starts- so i just let it run a full cycle with the bleach, and then and full cycle with the vinigar. Thank you so very much! So quick and easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I have been trying to get my washer clean for months!! This is the answer to my prayers. Although I did use these two products to try and clean it in the past, I just didn't use it like this!! What a surprise to see how much "yuck" comes out of your machine! Thanks again for posting this. It is a life-saver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      Thank you for sharing this recipe Bev, as well as answering all of my questions. I did run a tub of rinse water through between the bleach cycle and the white vinegar cycle 'cause I read that bleach and white vinegar let off toxic fumes. There probably wouldn't be many toxic fumes, but I decided I'd prefer no toxic fumes to even a trace. Two days later and my washer still smells so fresh. Even though I couldn't see sludge, I knew there had to be buildup inside the pump, agitator and hoses. Now I feel comforatable that this has been removed! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      Auntie Bev, I'm rating this without trying it because I'm so blown with happiness with this idea! I will try this tomorrow and write another review. But till then, I just wanted you to know I needed a recipe like this so much, and I didn't think there really could exist one! THANK U for sharing this creative good idea! Update: With your timely help, my washing machine is glowing and sparkling like a silver coin! This is one of the best Zaar recipes I've ever come across till today. I'm so thrilled I've tried this. I will repeat this every 3 months(we have hard water here). My washing machine looks brand NEW now! A WORLD OF THANKS, Auntie Bev!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      Works like magic! I had left my washer in storage while I lived overseas for a year. When I retrieved my washer, it reeked of sour mildew and had a nasty film inside, even though I had cleaned it thoroughly before putting it in storage. Using this method twice removed the horrible smell and left the interior sparkling clean. Thank you for saving my washing machine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      Boy, is this going to change my laundry! We have such hard water, and even though our washer is relatively new, the clothes don't smell like the softener at all. I took Annelies advice, since my machine is also European, and can't be opened once it starts. We have a front loader, and the only problem I had was that I must have bought bleach with soap, because it really started sudsing up in the drum. At one point it started leaking out the sides of the door (which was shut tight) and then the bubbles started coming out of the detergent dispenser on top. I quickly turned the machine to the spin and drain cycle. I was able to run the vinegar wash straight through with no problems. Next time I'll make sure there is no soap in my bleach! I figure if I do this every 6 months or so I should have no problem with gray and smelly laundry! Thanks Bev, this is a jewel of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      This was a wonderful treatment for my sweeties washer. He left the door shut on his washer so much it was smelling musty all the time. I used your recipe and it looks and smells wonderful. Very simple to do and I recommend this to everyone. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      I really didn't think that my washer needed this, but decided to give it a try anyway because the drain seemed to be a little gurgly (is that a word?!?!?). It really did make a difference. It will be a routine at my home from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      If your washing machine repairman has ever had to remove the bowl from your machine you'll understand the deep embarrassment you feel when you see the disgusting, grey, slimy muck on the outside of the bowl. I had to take ours downstairs and scrub it before we'd allow it to be put back in our machine. Since then, we've wondered HOW we can clean something we can't get to. THIS IS THE SOLUTION. I filled the machine with hot water. Added a 1.2 litre bottle of White King bleach and let it wash and pump out. Because we have a septic system I stuck the hose out the window so the bleach didn't go into the system. When the bleach water had pumped out, I reset to 'wash' again, filled the machine with hot water, added 6 cups of white vinegar and let it run through a whole cycle. Checked the water during the wash cycle and could see all those yukky, slimy flakes floating around in the water, so I KNEW it was working. There were some flakes still left at the bottom of the machine at the end of the cycle but these were easily wiped up. AND the machine now smells clean instead of musty. A GREAT tip which I'll be passing on to my friends and rellies. Thanks Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      I did this today all of the other reviews epsecially motivated me to give this a shot. I have not done laundry yet, but the washer inside looks sparkling and smells fresh and tidy. I think my laundry will too. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      I have been meaning to try this for awhile. Made a huge difference in the way our laundry smells and looks. A great tip and much appreciated. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Oh thank you!!! My towels finally smell clean for the first time in *months*! This will probably help my water bill, too, because I won't keep feeling like I need to wash them every two days. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      I didn't really notice a difference after using this, but to be honest, it wasn't too bad to begin with. I do think it's a good idea to do this a couple times a year just to keep it clean. Thanks for sharing a great tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      Worked ok, I think my washer's to far gone. I'll use it to keep my next washer clean ! From Brewhead

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      Thank you for a fantastic solution for getting rid of that horrible musty water odor. My clothes smell great~as clean clothes should!!! I'll be sure to pass this on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cleaning Your Washer

    Serving Size: 1 (956 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 47.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bleach

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes