Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Clean Your Gas Cook Top Burner Grates Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Clean Your Gas Cook Top Burner Grates

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2011

      Wow is this a great recipe or what! I have a gas stove that has all grates over the whole top of it...so I was cleaning the oven and thought I should try this recipe for the top grates and throw in the oven grates in too....did it outside (it was 35 degrees) in a big garbage bag and I put about 1/2 cup in as it was a big bag...let it sit out on the stones in the driveway about an hour...and had to get out the hose to rinse them off before bringing in...but what a difference! Great recipe....thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      I've been saving this tip forever, and finally decided it was time to clean my gas grates after 5 years...since I'm selling the stove and think I'll get more money with it all pretty and clean. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the recipe time doesn't account for any time to do your scrubbing. There is no way they'll be clean in 32 minutes...I added another 30 minutes to lightly scrub everything. It did work like a charm and I would definitely use this technique again. Next time, I won't put the bag on the painted garage floor while it soaks..the bag leaked a bit and it took off some of the floor paint. Be careful where you put the bag. Next time I'll put it in the grass in the shade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      I wish I'd known this 36 years ago when I was first married-I've wasted so much time trying to clean those grates at home and at work and the anwser was so cheap, quick and easy. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      This works very well. Here's another tip: if you have a self-cleaning oven, you can put all of your grates and also cast iron pots and enamel ware baking pans in the oven when you clean it and they will come out just like brand new. It works every time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This is really quite astonishing. Have to admit that the burner on the front which I use daily was in the worst shape and required a little elbow grease, but nothing compared to the hours spent before. (It gets so bad I often put it in the oven when I'm running a self cleaning cycle and just incinerate the gunk. This was my first time with ammonia and was knocked over a bit by the fumes. Do this in a well ventilated area for sure. Thanks for a great and economical cleaning option.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Ok...first, my grates were in pretty bad shape and now they are almost like new - well, 3 look new and the 4th looks almost like new. :) Thanks so much for posting! Made for the I Recommend Tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      WOW! I was hesistated to try this, but i had nothing to lose. I had hacked and scratched and this stuff on my stove top was not coming off. I used a trash bag I put the burners in one with about a half cup ammonia, then I put my stove top into another poured in the ammonia. I then let them sit all day and ran out of time so doused the stove top with more ammonia and let them sit overnight. Put off doing the dirty deed as I knew that once again i would be hacking and scrapping along with more scratching. Took the burners first as I could clean them in the kitchen sink. WoW the stuff flaked off in sheets. With just a tad scrubbing the burnt on gunk was flaking off. Yowzer, okay now I'm excited about the stove top. The same thing the gunk just flaked off in sheets!! This stuff is amazing. Sadly my stove top is scratched in places trying to use other cleaners. I no longer will use them just a soak with ammonia and whiter then white once again. Thank you Susie for posting this miracle cleaning solution!!! Wish I had taken pictures of before and after, it is unbelieveable that it is white again with so little scrubbing. AMAZING!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I'm so glad to have found this technique. It worked wonders! I didn't bother to wash or scrub the grates beforehand. Just put them into a kitchen trashbag along with the discs that the grates sit on. I left it overnight and part of the next day. I would not do this inside as the fumes are quite powerful. I brought it in just before washing. To begin with any of the stuff that wasn't black wiped off with no trouble. The burned on areas took some scrubbing but I found that it would pop off with just my fingernail. I may have spend the same amount of time scrubbing as before but the difference was that when I stopped it wasn't because I had given up but because there was nothing more to scrub! I posted a picture... too bad I didn't think to take a "before" shot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      I was shocked with how well this worked. I used about a 1/2 cup ammonia in each bag, because I was trying to do it from memory. I also had to let it sit a couple of hours, because of errands. The gunk literaly just wiped off. No scrubbing whatsoever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Holy Cow! I really thought my grates were too far gone for this to work. But, it was worth a try! Well, I'm glad I tried it because they look brand new! I did have to scrub a few spots and one of the grates needed a second treatment because it was in terrible shape. But, it worked like a charm. They look brand new! Thanks SusieQusie! Now my mother in law can't complain about my kitchen any longer. WooHoo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I have tried everything to clean my ceramic burner grates and nothing has worked....until now! This was amazing! I really wasn't sure if it would work...just letting the fumes do the degreasing, but it did. My grates were REALLY dirty and this technique really worked. I never thought I would ever get my grates looking like new again. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS! To eveyone who is skeptical, just give it a try! It is stinky, but it does work!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Great recipe! I tried this on some grates that were lightly soiled and then on some that were totally disgusting, lol. It worked really well and I just had to do a little bit of scrubbing in a couple of places. Thanks for this winner SusieQusie. I'm sure that many of us will be saving this recipe for future use!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      I AM A VERY Satisfied customer!! :) Doing as much cooking as I do, I am sorry to say my cooktop grates had been embarrassingly neglected for a while now. I had absolutely no idea how I would ever get them clean again! The cooked on film I thought would never come off. With this method, all I had to do is minor scrubbing with a Brillo pad and now my grates are like brand spanking new! The ammonia softened that cooked-on, mess and made it a cinch to clean!! Thank you so much, SusieQusie!! I'm beaming now that my cooktop is sparkling clean again : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      2 Thumbs up!! Thanks for the warning about opening the bag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      Wow!!! I was considering buying some high temp paint to color all my grates black just to make life easy!!(lol!) This worked great! My grates are grey again!! The caked on, baked on, icky stuff just wiped off with a sponge! Good advice about the fumes, they can be powerful. I did this outside, too. Thank you! Thnak you! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      I'm not giving this recipe any stars because it worked so well for others I wouldn't want to discourage anyone from trying it, but it didn't work at all for me. I tried it as directed and nothing happened, so I read other reviews, tried it again, leaving it on overnight and still nothing, : ( I have a Jenn-Air range with grey grates and it's tough to keep the grey looking grey, when you cook as much as I do. I was so hoping this would work, but glad it has worked so well for others. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      I have tried this on my cooking grates 4 times now. Everything still is not off them. I don't know how anyone got their "gunk" to wipe of with a sponge, we are using a widgit and chiseling it off bit by bit. Each time it gets better, but it still isn't there yet. We have gradually increased the ammonia and "sitting" time with each try. My grates are MUCH better, but it is a great deal of work. Not nearly as effortless as the previous reviews claimed, at least not for me. I think I will have several more tries before they are looking to where I would like them too. Don't get me wrong, this works MUCH better than anything else I have tried, it's just that my experience with it was not as easy as others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      I am just flabbergasted! This worked so well, my grates look like they are brand new. I had the model number written down with the company name and phone number so that I could just toss out the grates and replace them with new ones when I moved out of this rental. One grate was much worse than the others, I rinsed it off and did a bit of scrubbing, but the baked on food was pretty stubborn so I just put it back in the bag to stew while I cleaned the others. I did have to do some scrubbing, but they came clean. I have tried many products and even with scrubbing the grates never came clean. Thanks so much for posting this SusieQusie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Clean Your Gas Cook Top Burner Grates

    Serving Size: 1 (6 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes