41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUCK!!!I don't know why this recipe is so popular. I tried it and found the pickles to be so salty that they were inedible. I thought maybe I made a mistake. I tried again but cut the salt and still found them too salty. Believe me, I love salty food but these were horrible. I'm not new to canning, I've been doing it for more years than I care to reveal. I just made another batch but used Claussen-Like Refrigerator Pickles which calls for just 1T. Of salt. Will update in a few days.

***Update***
The new batch using Claussen-Like Refrigerator Pickles came out fantastic! Really fresh tasting!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burger Monster September 06, 2011

Note: The amount of cucumbers is approximate, because the amount can vary with the size and shape of the cucumbers being used. A 1-gallon container holds 5 pounds of fresh cucumbers. A 5-gallon container holds 25 pounds of fresh cucumbers. :-)

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 July 12, 2010

OK, I'm going to have some serious issues with this one - it's only been three days and I'm already hitting them hard. :o) WOW are they great! The first day they were a little soggy but they are getting more crisp every day. YUM... I didn't have any canning salt so I used 2/3 c. of kosher. It is a little salty so I may cut it back a little next time, but I'm loving it. Thanks for the recipe - I'm glad I tried it early in the canning season so I can put up plenty!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gramma Rox August 11, 2009

I opened an account on this site just so I could add a review for this recipe. I have been trying for years to perfect a claussen's type pickle, and have put many batches on the compost pile. This recipe on the otherhand WORKED! I did tweek my second batch by adding 1 T peppercorns and 2 tsp of red pepperflakes, and they are awesome!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, one more batch and I'll have enough for a year!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kscalligraphy@aol.com August 19, 2011

Very close tasting to a Claussen. When I make this again I would add more garlic. I highly recommend using this Homemade Vegetable Wash/Preserver That Works! (Spray or Soak) you would not believe how many bugs came off the dill heads! It's difficult wondering what size dill head to use. Some were green, not quite opened and others were flowered.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat July 27, 2010

This is really a great recipe. I made a double batch and filled 8 qt jars. At first, I thought I would have way too much liquid, but it turned out to be exactly the right amount. I used fresh cucumbers and dill weed from my garden (1 sprig per jar). I had to buy dill seed because I did not have enough seed heads, and I substituted about 1 tsp dill seed (crushed a little to release the flavor) for each dill head. I substituted kosher salt for canning/pickling salt, white vinegar for cider vinegar, and I added several whole peppercorns and some crushed red pepper flakes. I put the pickles in the refrigerator as soon as they had cooled a bit because I read that it's less safe to leave them at room temperature for any length of time. After one week, they are DELICIOUS. Using cucumbers and dill from my garden gives them a fresh flavor that even the Claussens lack.

Next time I would probably cut down the onion a lot -- they are really oniony, almost a bit sweet, which I do not like, and I would also add more garlic. I think mine may become more garlicky over time, but I put two whole cloves per jar and I think I will crush or grate the garlic next time. Also, I will divide the seasonings between each jar instead of boiling them with the brine. It will make pouring in the brine much easier and ensure that each jar has the same level of flavor. I had a blast making these, and I am so excited they turned out. Thank you to Bonnie for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sulcoll88 August 29, 2011

This is a wonderful pickle, Crisp and very fresh tasting. We actually ate a huge jar one night at supper, we just kept talking and taking a dill. I have to make more to keep us thru the winter. Id give it a 10 if I could.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda September 10, 2010

Absolutely great, maybe better than the original. I'm starting my 3rd batch once again in gallon size. Thinking of making more as gifts if I can find more big mouth gallon jars. All the family loves them. JoeC Zion, IL

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Couperjoe November 05, 2009

way way way too much salt dont waste time with this bogus recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonshinesmuscadines January 27, 2013

way too salty for me! dont know if they can be saved.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rippyjj December 12, 2012
Claussen Kosher Pickle Copycat