32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe because I had all ingredients on hand and wanted to use it as the base for a cake with cranberry filling & white chocolate frosting (holler!!!). The flavor is good - somewhat sugar-cookie-ish, but for some reason mine turned out a bit fragile. I think it would be GREAT for cupcakes or something simpler, but my cranberry filling needs a strong base cake! Still tasty, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C December 23, 2009

Loved the flavor of this cake however I did double the vanilla. Everyone enjoyed the cake but remarked on the heaviness of it. I was very careful not to overmix it so I'm wondering if sifting the dry ingredients next time would do the trick. I would definitely make it again just because it tastes so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Learnee September 23, 2009

i am giving this 5 stars because I can see how these would be perfect if i made them correctly. I was nervous to mix the batter too much and get a tough cake, so i just folded the batter and ended up with little butter "dimples" in the top (but a nice texture!). Also, I found them to bea tiny bit grainy and very buttery (not bad, just an observation).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vye367 March 28, 2009

I cut this down to make 6 cupcakes and did the whole egg option instead of egg whites. This was dense and moist without being too thick. Unique flavor and definitely the recipe I'll be keeping! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel March 25, 2009

Maybe I messed up, but mine turned out really dense, like pound cake. I triple check the recipe and am a decent baker. I didn't miss anything. The taste was great, but ... is this really for TWO 9 inch layers? Each of my layers varies from 1/2"-1" in height, and the edge was crispy. Also, usually when I've seen cake with just the egg whites, the whites are beaten stiff and folded in. This recipe doesn't seem to do this...I'm pretty confused here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne OH January 08, 2009

Made this yesterday for my daughter's birthday. I used Smart Balance butter, 3 eggs instead of the egg whites, and goat's milk (allergy issues). It turned out great--taste, texture, everything. It's not a sweety-sweet cake, which I personally enjoy--if you want it super-sweet, you can take care of that with the frosting. I shaped it into a seven, and frosted it with Betty Crocker's white mountain frosting. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toddlermom December 06, 2008

my dad asked me to make him a simple white cake for him, to eat with whipped cream and strawberries.... so i searched for a recipe, and decided on this one. its pretty bad. i baked it in a 9x13x2 pan, and it didnt rise. also, everyone told me it tasted like shortbread, but i found it tasted like a sweetish cornbread. not a very good recipe if you are lookin for a 'fluffy' vanilla cake. next time, i'm using a box mix!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
935911 August 27, 2008

Very good. Made this cake for my first cake decorating class and used vanilla buttercream icing to frost. I also used 3 whole eggs and made it a yellow cake. Was a little disappointed because the cake was pretty crumbly and not quite as dense as I was hoping. Tasted great though. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 August 13, 2008

I used this recipe, with a butter cream frosting and took them to a bake sale. They were gone in no time! Thank you so much for posting and sharing this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jakezmom July 14, 2008

This was absolutely delicious! This is the first homemade cake I ever made and it turned out great. I made it for my son's 1st birthday and got great reviews from everyone there!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberlicious June 24, 2008
Classic White Cake