Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic White Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic White Cake

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-32 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2008

      I've been searching around for years for cake recipe that tasted just like it came from a box. This was it, plus more! I made the "yellow" cake version, instead of 6 egg whites i used 3 whole eggs. I am so thrilled it worked out as I now have a better cake base for my pastel de tres leches. Will make again! For a little tip if anyone is having a problem with texture (dense, bread/cornbread like). Cream realllly well. It's key! I used butter flavored crisco instead of regular butter allowing more time for me to cream without it going gritty and melting. The creamed mixture should nearly double in size and whiten in color. Also, I used only 1 cup of sugar, and I think next time I will add some almond extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      This was a really moist cake, and I enjoyed it very much as such. I added one orange that I completely grated in the food processor so it had that nice ornage flavour to it. I should have added a vanilla icing to it. i think it would have added better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      AWESOME recipe. Substituted whole eggs to make it a yellow cake, but still fab. Super easy, great results everytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      Very nice cake. Tastes great also. I used 2 round cake pans and they are on the thin side. The next time I make this, I will double the recipe to adjust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      This baked up nicely, w/ a good texture. Would be good w/ a filling. We had it with fudge frosting. Good stuff

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I made this after staying up all night and still managed to make good cupcakes for breakfast instead of pancakes when my boyfriend came over at 9am to wake me up. yumyum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This is one of the most outstanding simple white cake mixes I've ever used. I did use 3 whole eggs instead of egg whites only, but it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      this cake was delicous we made it for my sisters birthday and everyone that came liked it so much! i liked how it had very good iceing on it, it made me feel like i was in heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      I have made this recipe tons of times in the past few months and it is outstanding! I sub about 1/2 of the white sugar for brown sugar for a caramel cake recipe. I also use 3 lg eggs and 1 egg yolk. This is a very easy and versatile recipe! Thank you 1Steve for an awesome recipe that passes the test each and every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I thought this was great, I used egg beaters and added some strawberries. Very good thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      This cake was found in a Gourmet magazine! I can't remember the exact issue - but it dates back to 2001 or before. It also explains how to make a classic yellow cake: substitute 3 large eggs and 1 yolk for the egg whites. It is a very good cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2005

      Holy cow, this is nowhere like anything that would be enough to fill two cakepans! I had to double the recipe to fill two eight by eight pans. I think this would have been a problem before, right? Did I do something wrong? I just doubled it, and it was a nice cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic White Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1770.8
     
    Calories from Fat 664
    37%
    Total Fat 73.8 g
    113%
    Saturated Fat 46.0 g
    230%
    Cholesterol 195.9 mg
    65%
    Sodium 876.6 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 252.0 g
    84%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 151.3 g
    605%
    Protein 27.4 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites