32 Reviews

I made this cake to give to my sister in law that was ailing. I used a carmel icing #24765 which complimented this cake very well. When we dropped it off, she gave us each a slice of cake. I have recently starting making my cakes from scratch and find them very simple to do. I love the flavor of this cake and will continue to make it in the future.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen Sargeant February 06, 2004

I was searching for a cake to properly complement ChrissyO's Lemon Butter Lemon Butter and came up with your delicious cake, Steve! What a fabulous find! This cake stands completely on its own! Fabulous moist texture and flavor! I made a 13x9x2" cake knowing that I would be serving it with the Lemon Butter. I followed your excellent directions exactly. I highly recommned serving this cake with the Lemon Butter- really tasty!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us, Steve!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 01, 2003

I don't know what I did wrong, but this cake turned out pretty dense and crumbly. It tasted like a big sugar cookie. I ate it anyway, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miu July 04, 2009

Very good! I used this recipe as the basis of Rainbow Cupcakes and it worked out really nicely. The only thing I did differently was to use 1 1/4 cups sugar, but I think I would recommend using the full amount going forward. I baked the cupcakes for 20 minutes and they were moist inside with a slight crisp on the top ~ just the way cupcakes should be. I would definitely use this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SGpratt January 21, 2009

I am giving this cake a 4 star because I really had to mess with my oven a few times to adjust the recipe, second go around just to get it to turn out like these lovely other reviews! I first used two Fat Daddio's pans which have to be adjusted already because they are anodized, dropping between 25-75 degrees. I am very sad to say the majority of the cake was cornbread like..right on...it was OVER DONE. You ask how I know this...the center was as perfect as I could of even imagine! I used the left over batter and filled up a FD pan 4x4x3 and cooked it at about 250-275 (older gas range) perhaps the density on top of the heat is causing it to cook quicker (kind of like with the whole dome concept) which took even longer but it was amazing! Bev I would have to agree with, as I was snacking on the middle pieces I was like, lemon icing YUM!! It would be so much more helpful if you could adjust the size of the pans instead of the servings. Just keep messing with it ladies, it was well worth tossing the other cakes! I also did up a few 9 pans, used Wilton's four piece cookie cutter set and made little tiered cakes with tie dye effects. Turned out spectacular!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlazingCakes September 15, 2011

This cake was great for my taste. Its a bit dense though. The big problem with me was that it didn't rise evenly. That made it very hard to decorate, the way I was doing was with the offset spatula so there was a problem. Otherwise, this cake was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakingLuvr July 02, 2011

I made this cake for a birthday party. Everyone said the TASTE was good but the texture was heavy and dense. cornbread texture was right on, only more moist then cornbread. also the batter does not rise hardly any during baking so I was safe filling the pan full. I will hang on to the recipe won't be the first I grab it did taste good tho.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trustyourinstincts April 24, 2010

While this cake tastes good, its not the right texture. Seeing other people mention this I thought I would whip the egg whites seperate and fold in, but that didn't help much either. Really disappointed, whoever said it was like cornbread was right. I wish I could get box mix here but I can't. Can't go wrong with the box!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danikiser April 03, 2010

I was looking for a white cake recipe which calls for no sour cream and no white boxed cake mixes. Since this recipe offered both, this was my choice. I made one change to this recipe regarding the eggs. I saw some of the reviewers using three whole eggs instead of 6 egg whites, so adapted Egg Replacer (Only for Cakes) to fit the bill. I am trying to remember if I made it to use a 3 or 4 egg quantity. But I can tell you, the end result was excellent! I couldn't believe it. I made these to give away to a friend so I will be making some for myself very soon and will update on the correct amount of egg replacer I used for the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. February 24, 2010

I loved this recipe! I did only use 3 whole eggs instead of the 6 egg whites. (I find it hard to throw away 6 yolks) definately delicious! I used it with kittencal's chocolate buttercream frosting! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billiemarie February 18, 2010
Classic White Cake