Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Vinaigrette Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Vinaigrette Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2012

      Made a refreshing salad for we've been hovering around 100 degrees for the past four or five days. The weather guy said it will reach 85 next week. I'm just giddy with excitement. Made for ZWT#8~France.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      Great dressing with a few simple ingredients. The lemon juice adds fresh flavors and adds a bit of depth to the mustard. Easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand, will make this again often! Thank you Dreamer for sharing! Made and reviewed for ZWT 8 - 2012 The Fearless Red Dragons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      We really enjoyed this dressing on a simple green salad, I liked the bright freshness of using the lemon juice instead of the usual vinegar. Made by one of The Wild Bunch for ZWT 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      This was a great little dressing - made it tonite for ZWT - France. It's amazing what one little ingredient can do for a very basic dressing - the mustard made all the difference. Easy and good. Thanks, Dreamer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      I love a quick and versatile recipe like this. I used balsamic vinegar this time but am looking forward to trying both lemon juice and white wine vinegar - and others! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      I was searching for a basic vinaigrette for a vegetable platter and this worked out well. The salad I composed consisted of raw baby zucchini sliced into coins and long slices, fresh corn, carrots, and 'green zebra' tomatoes. Garnish of French sel de mer, tri-color sage and lemon zest for garnish, cracked black pepper. The vinaigrette recipe was cut in half because I didn't want to drown the farm fresh veggies in a pool of dressing. Good! Used lemon juice and white wine vinegar. Homemade salad dressings are best! Reviewed for Veg Tag/September.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      Wow, I can't believe a recipe with so few ingredients can pack such a powerful punch of flavor. I used white wine vinegar and it was perfectly tart and tangy...just the way I like my dressing. I will make this often because I always have all of the ingredients on hand. Made for Europe on Plate Italy Tag Game. Thanks!! Dreamer in Ontario, for this fabulous recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      So simple and so good. Cut recipe down to serve two. Made as written using a good quality olive oil and a fig balsamic vinegar yumm. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      I was searching for a simple dressing for a plain green salad, and this worked perfectly! I used 1 tablespoon lemon juice (juice from 1/2 a lemon), and 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar. I also added about a teaspoon of sugar, as I like it sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      A simple but delicious vinaigrette. I added some minced garlic (we love garlic) and other than that made as directed. Will be using this quite often since DH loved it. Thank you. Made for Zaar Alphabet Soup Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This is it! This is the simple and delicious vinaigrette I've been looking for! So easy to whip up and tastes great as written. Or it can be modified with extra herbs and flavors. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I have made something close to this in the past, it's a basic easy dressing that's delicious over mixed greens, I added in a few tablespoons of freshly grated Parmesan cheese and also a clove of minced garlic, thanks for sharing Dreamer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      This is a great basic vinaigrette! I used rice wine vinegar, but other than that, followed the recipe. I can see adding some fresh herbs to this for a different twist of flavor. Thanks for posting this- it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      I can see why this is so popular! It's easy, versatile, fresh, and delicious, and with no preservatives, etc. what could be better? I used the lemon juice option, which was a refreshing change of pace from vinegar. I added some fresh thyme and fresh dill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      We loved this! I used some good balsamic and will add some fresh lemon juice next time. We drizzled it over sliced tomatoes and avocados. I did not get a full cup, so next time I will double the recipe. Thanks for posting, Dreamer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      So simple and yet so tasty! I did add a pinch of sugar as I like it with a touch of sweetness. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Agree that this is a classing dressnig. I used my expensive aged balsamic which added a touch of sweet to this fabulous dressing. Looking forward to having it atop some greens for lunch today. Made for Veg*n tag #3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      This is a really good and "classic" salad dressing. I did reduce the amount of olive oil a bit but, other than that, it was exactly the same. Just wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      I don't use bottled salad dressings, and I've been using this variation on my salads all week!! I, too, cut back the olive oil just a little, by 1/4 or 1/3. However, I have made it using both lemon juice and balsalmic vinegar for the acid, depending on the ingredients of the salad. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Perfect and easy to put together for an impromptu lunchtime. I used EVOO, a bit of lemon juice and some red wine vinegar. The sel de mer sea salt was a great use here, and just had bits of salt pieces that crunched under your tongue. The Dijon mustard was a wonderful addition as this held all the seasonings and oil stay mixed. I will continue to use this for our salads as this is really the pinnacle of classic dining. Thank you Dreamer! Made for *SSC Pet Parade* July 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Vinaigrette Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1292.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1299
    10%
    Total Fat 144.4 g
    222%
    Saturated Fat 19.9 g
    99%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 854.4 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites