Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2010

      These were very good. I used veggie ground chicken and brown rice. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      This was a very good recipe. I did add 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning to the tomato/ketchup topping. I made this in the morning, did everything but bake it, and put it in the fridge for my husband to take out and heat up for dinner. It was a hit! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2014

      DH and I were the only ones who really enjoyed these. If I make them again I will do it on a night when it is just the two of us at home. Also, I liked the sauce and wish there was a little more of it. I think I will double it the next time. It was a great way to use up some of the bell peppers from the garden. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      These were amazing. All I did differently was use Taco Rice instead of Long Grain, Ground Turkey instead of beef, and Sharp Cheddar for the Monterrey. SO GOOD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      My BF made this for dinner yesterday, with vegetarian crumbles instead of the meat. It was quite delicious. I had the leftovers for lunch, and am looking forward to finishing it off tomorrow. (He omitted the parsley.) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      This is a great recipe! I added a can of tomato soup to the mix and omitted the ketchup just as a throw-back to my mom. It makes the stuffing so creamy. Absolutely delicious! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Thanks for this recipe! I've been wanting to make stuffed peppers for a number of years. This was the perfect recipe to try. I liked the ketchup topping - have a kinda-picky 8yr old and I think that really helped him. I didn't find white, but brown long grain rice. I boiled it longer worring that it would take longer to soften. Also, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the grnd beef. I did not thinking that it also would soften the rice. Rice ended up fine! I made on Monday morning and refridgerated until Tuesday night. They had to bake longer, because they were throughly chilled. I will make this again and I will make extra to keep in the freezer for future dinners. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Delicious! First time I made it I used tomato sauce with Italian Seasoning instead of ketchup. The second time, I used ketchup (my grown children liked it better with the ketchup) and more cheese. This recipe rated 5 stars from me, my daughter and son-in-law.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      I liked this better than I usually like stuffed peppers. I felt the peppers would have benefited from a couple of more minutes of pre-cooking - the ones I reheated in the microwave the next day were thoroughly tender without being mushy. My peppers may have been on the small side, as I had enough filling left over for at least two more peppers. I heated it and wrapped in warm tortillas. Personally, I would add a little more seasoning to this, but otherwise I would make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      This is a very good meal. I did put some of the tomato juice into the bottom of the casserole to prevent burning. I found that the rice/meat mixture wasn't heated all the way through and the cheese was browning. I think I would like a bit of spice in the mixture but the other two liked it as is. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      These were great stuffed peppers! I used Italian seasoned tomatoes and then added Italian seasoning to the ketchup mixture and also used cheddar cheese as that's what I had on hand. I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      These were excellent! We made only two, and mixed it half with ground deer meat and half with sausage and it was delicious! I have left over meat mixture, so may do what someone else mentioned and use it for tacos or something..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This was really good. I went with the other suggestions and used tomato sauce with italian seasoning on top instead of the ketchup mixture. I also added some red pepper flakes to the filling mixture because my family likes a little more spice, and next time I'll add even more spices to kick up the flavor a little bit more. I used green bell peppers and then I still had fililng left over so I stuffed some tomatoes as well, which were delicious. *update* I updated my rating from 4 stars to 5 stars, because the leftovers were even better the next day! I also used the leftover filling in tortillas as a sort of burrito, so got 2 meals in one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Very yummy. This was the first time I'm made stuffed peppers and I'm so glad I tried this recipe. The only changes I made was I added 2T of chopped celery in when cooking the onion and I used colby/jack cheese since that's what I had on hand. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Mmmmm Mmmmm Good! Thanks for posting this terrific recipe. My favorite so far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Lovely dish, thank you Heather. Made as directed other than the cheese. I thought I had Monterey Jack but it seems to have vanished. I used bit of what I did have..Swiss, Havarti & Extra Old Cheddar - Great meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This was delicious,Heather! I used green bell peppers, added an 6 oz. can of tomato sauce in place of the ketchup, and a blend of Colby and Monterey Jack cheese on top. Since there are just the two of us, I froze the other two and we enjoyed those just a much a few weeks later on an RV trip! Thanks for posting this- it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

    • on April 15, 2008

      I thought I had reviewed this already, but I guess not. My mom used to make this when I was little, so I was looking for a similar recipe. I added a can of corn to it. The only thing I didn't like was the intense ketchup taste. I think I will be changing it a little next time I cook these. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I am a young wife and I love to cook and I have been searching for a great recipe for Stuffed Peppers and this is definetly it! I had never made stuffed peppers on my own before and these turned out perfect the first time! I took a tip from another comment and went with tomatoe sauce instead of ketchup (I went with the kind with basil and oregano) and it was absolutely delicious. I also used freshly shredded pepper jack cheese for a little extra kick...yummy! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (417 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 528.7
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    49%
    Total Fat 29.3 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 89.2 mg
    29%
    Sodium 426.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 28.9 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites