37 Reviews

This delicious recipe is written using old-fashioned methods, but rest assured it is perfectly safe to store unopened on the pantry shelf if processed using contemporary techniques (boiling water bath), so don't pass it by if you're concerned. If you are unfamiliar with these techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeldaz51 July 07, 2012

Amazing recipe!! I cooked it for 20-30 minutes after adding butter. Thickness tried on a cold dish. Drip, let it rest for 30 sec, let it run on the plate. If it does not run as a liquid, it's ready (will finish setting when cold). Tried also with Sour cherries, and had same results. I was able to make 6 250ml Mason Jars with these amounts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
camibelcourt July 17, 2016

This was my first time to make jam. I followed the recipe exactly, although I did put my imersion blender in the strawberries first. Delicious! My husband loves it. He has been using it on bread as jam and on ice cream as a sauce. The consistency is perfect, not to thick and not too thin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ynnej18 May 25, 2013

I set out to find a jam recipe that doesn't use pectin. This is delicious, mouthwatering jam - I substituted some Stevia for part of the sugar but otherwise, followed the recipe as written. It took the full 20 minutes plus some before the jam was set properly. We already consumed a tiny jar and initial taste test confirmed this recipe is a keeper. Thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenBee49444 June 25, 2011

I like this recipe because it is simple. My only problem is that I can never get it to be as thick as I want it. I ended up simmering the jam for over an hour. Ultimately it turned out fine but only because we refrigerate it. It tastes wonderful and is not too sweet like most jams on the market. I also added the rind of the lemon to make it thicker.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vinita June 22, 2011

Excellent!!! I made strawberry jam last year after having success w/ black berry jam. I swore I would never make strawberry again it went so poorly! I followed the pectin recipe and smashed all the strawberries followed the directions but it came out way to runny! I thought okay maybe after a couple weeks it would thicken/set, no luck. I redid the process w/ more pectin then it came out okay. I was so frustrated and vowed to never do again. Well, strawberries were cheap and my son practically lives on PB and Strawberry jelly so I figured I should attempt it again. Since its 1 year later and strawberries are 99 cents a pound I thought lets try again. I looked for a new recipe to try and came across this one and thought awesome no pectin. I followed this recipe to a T and it came out perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The only change was I did was 3 cups sugar instead of 4 after checking the reviews. I cooked the whole 20 minutes, it came out in a nice beautiful red color much better than my last year batch w/ pectin done twice. I used 3-1lbs boxes of strawberries and got 46oz of jam, I think I made twice as much last year so debating if I should make more hmmmm well if I do I am using this recipe and I will make again next year!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m June 02, 2011

Great Jam. Just like grandma use to make. Mine set up good, a little thin like the description says, but the flavor was great. Makes me want to investigate more recipes using the old fashion non-pectrin approach.
Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH December 03, 2010

Love, love this jam. I was so glad to find a method that did not require pectin. I found the directions easy to follow and the reviews helpful. I haven't had store bought in decades and I this recipe makes it even easier to whip up a nice batch. I found the flavor to be bright and strong. My new recipe for jam. I only boiled for 20 minutes and found the thickness perfect

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KSJ July 29, 2016

Turned out perfect the first time. I did throw in a few extra strawberries and cooked it a few minutes longer than the recipe calls for. We are eating it with the Homemade Honey Wheat Bread also in my favorites cookbook. So good!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefie Stephie June 01, 2015

I made this last year, after searching for no-pectin recipes. It turned out so well, for my very first time, and I was quite proud of myself. It tasted really good, and my kids actually wanted to eat it. I gave some to my in-laws, and my father-in-law used it on everything, toast, cottage cheese, English muffins and ice cream. I'm waiting for strawberries to go on sale, and will make at least 4 or 5 batches. Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes June 15, 2014
Classic Strawberry Jam