Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Scones

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2003

      The only reason I gave this 4 stars was because the dough was very hard to work with (everything else was 5 stars). The dough was extremely sticky and even though I floured the countertop and the rolling pin, the dough stuck to everything - including my fingers, which I floured. It was absolutely pointless to roll it out and cut it into wedges because when you went to pull up the piece to place on the cooking sheet, you mangled the piece beyond recognition. I pretty much ended up scrapping the pieces off the countertop and forming little blobs on the cooking sheet. However, this did NOT affect the taste of the scone one bit. They were DELICIOUS!!!! Since I don't know how to count or cut a circle into 12 equal pieces, I ended up cutting it into 16 pieces (still not equal) so they were a little on the small side. But, I was able to eat 2 scones for the price of 1. I normally find scones to be on the DRY side, which is why I hesitated on making this recipe. But these were the complete opposite. When they came out of the oven, I cut my scones in half and drizzled honey on top. They were YUMMY! Next time I'm not even going to bother rolling out the dough. Instead I'm going to drop the dough onto the cooking sheet by tablespoons and flatten them slightly with my fingers. I also want to add cranberries to them and maybe sprinkle some sugar on top before baking them. Thanks Dayla!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2003

      It's excellent! Very easy to make and the scones turn out to be crispy outside and soft inside. I follow up to step no.5 then use spoons to scoop the mixture out to make small doughs. It is sticky so why use hands?? Add raisins makes it more delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      good and easy, I doubled the sugar and used vanilla yogurt, then bushed coffee creamer on top and sprinkled sugar on it. I didn't need to double the sugar, I was worried it wouldn't be sweet enough but it was plenty sweet. Simple and easy, was sticky even with a little added extra flour I didn't roll it I just plopped clumps down on the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      These scones are very different from all the ones Ive tried so far (which is many). They have a quite eggy taste, which reminds me of pancakes. But this said, they are very, very YUMMY and a lovely addition to my scones routine! :) The dough was quite easy to work with, but I made them into drop scones, so that I wouldnt have any stickyness problems. That worked out perfectly. As Emme suggested in her review, I only made six scones, which resulted in nicely sized ones (~1tbs of dough per scone). THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this lovely recipe with us, Dayla! Ill make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      These scones were quite nice. The batter was not runny, but very very sticky. I just floured the counter quite heavily, as well as the dough. I didn't roll it - I just kneaded it a few times and patted it into a loaf. I then used a spatula to cut the loaf in half lengthways, then cut the 'sticks' into six. I used the spatula to scrape the scones off the counter and dropped them onto a tray lined with baking paper. The unbaked scones looked miniscule, but they did puff up nicely when baked. The scones only needed about 8 minutes in my fan forced oven. The scones were still quite small, and in the future I would only cut them into 6 at the most. The scones were light, soft and moist, and had a slight taste reminiscent of pancakes. I also used a vanilla flavoured yogurt. I would make these again, but am currently trying out a few scone recipes to find the favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      AWESOME! very soft and not at all dry. I like this basic recipe becuase it leaves room to add what ever you like. I also suggest sprinkling a bit of sugar on the tops prior to baking. I love that it's light and healthy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Had a great flavor. I cut the recipe in half and made 4, and also used strawberry yogurt for more flavor. Didn't have any problem with the dough, just recommend having enough flour on the counter, and I kneaded it a bit in that. Very good scone for the calories, soft too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      These were good -- almost crumpet like, rather than crumbly like a scone. I added currants, which gave them more flavor. I calculated 1.5 points for those on Weight Watchers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      These were delicious, but the batter was far too runny to roll and cut, as said! But I use a spoon to scoop it in a backing tray and they came fantastic!! The only drawback I found: they are so delicious and light, that I ate them all in a sitting two times...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      The preparation was extremely easy - the dough was soooooooooooo sticky though i ended up overflouring it and not getting the perfect texture. Could do with some more leavening and sugar i think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 67.5
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    21%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 16.1 mg
    5%
    Sodium 129.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes