9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Have been trying several new recipes lately and I think this will be my new go-to sandwich bread recipe. Substituted 1/3 wheat flour. Don't know if it was necessary, but I warmed up the milk as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swenseja March 26, 2013

I went grocery shopping last week and couldn't find a good loaf of bread for under $3. I nearly flipped so I decided I'd be making our bread from now on. I made this using my bread machine. I used the dough setting and finished in the oven. I have a quirk about the shape of bread baked in the machine. I substituted olive oil for the butter. First time I made it I used all white flour. It made a great loaf that does work well for sandwiches and toast. The second loaf I substituted one cup of the white flour for whole wheat and added 2 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten. This loaf was really good also. I prefer whole wheat for my family. Unless I find a better recipe in the future this will be our new sandwich bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mom of 7 April 15, 2011

This was very tasty and easy to make. However, it was a very wet dough, with a glue-like consistency. Impossible to knead or shape. I mixed it with my Kitchen Aid and just plopped it into the pan. It baked up nicely but was a bit too soft for sandwiches or toasting; it tended to fall apart. That didn't stop me from scarfing down most of it. I'm going to try it again and bake it just a tad longer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsune February 28, 2009

This is a very good bread recipe. I followed true to the instructions, yet somehow wound up with a less sandwich-like consistency. The flavor was very good. I'll try it again and experiment to find a consistency change, but I won't mess with the flavor if I can help it. :) thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu July 30, 2008

I should have reviewed this recipe a while ago, so this is long overdue - this is my weekly bread now! It is SO yummy, and it turns out so good every time. I usually sub 1 cup WW flour, and add 2 tsp of wheat gluten, but I've made it exactly as written and had perfect results. I don't have an ABM, so I use my Kitchen-aid. This is an excellent recipe, we don't ever buy bread anymore. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek April 07, 2008

What an easy bread recipe! This was delicious! Everything went together perfectly and the directions were easy to follow (you might want to check the times and incorporate the 2 hours of rising into the prep time). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon 24 January 07, 2008

This recipe was so effortless to prepare and turned out great. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elli2cook June 30, 2007

I've made this many times and love it! I originally got it on the back of a King Arthur flour bag. Thanks for posting, Stacey. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado June 26, 2007

I was skeptical when I started mixing this. The dough has the consistency of glue! I can't say I could "knead" this - more like squeeze, over and over - but boy, the final result was amazing! I've never seen a bread dough like this, but it tastes wonderful. You've got to try this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer R June 06, 2007
Classic Sandwich Bread