Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic San Francisco Sourdough Bread

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2011

      This was my first time making a loaf of bread with no assistance (I usually let the bread machine make the dough), but I was thrilled by the challenge! I have been growing a sourdough starter for almost two weeks and wanted to try it out and do it right. This recipe was terrific! I was worried my starter wasn't "sour" enough, and while it will surely get better with time, it was enough to make this bread taste like a real sourdough loaf! My arms are sore from kneading, but the bread came out like a dream! It's all we could do not to eat a whole loaf at once! Oh yeah, and it's true that the flavor became more pronounced after waiting. We ate it about 45 minutes out of the oven and it was good, but the next day it actually tasted distinctly like a sourdough loaf. Great recipe thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Very very good. I did need to add a teaspoon of yeast as my starter lacked the livelyness it should have had. The end product was excellent!!! Looks great and tastes great. Worth the effort. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      This is a great recipe. I made 2 loaves & baked it in pans. I left one plain & made the other into a cinnamon swirl loaf. I did mix & knead my dough in my KA mixer & it worked fine. The bread has a lovely sourdough flavour. It came out with a nice crispy crust even though I did not put water in the oven while baking. I will make this recipe again. Thanks for posting it startnover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I was born and raised in California, since moving to the East coast, I have not had good sour dough. I made this using the Alaska Sourest Dough (starter) Alaska Sourest Dough (Starter). It took a lot longer to cook, probably because family would not stay out of the oven, they were hungry!!! Anyway, we cut one straight out of the oven, It was delicious. I can't wait to try the second loaf after the "2 hour wait to develop flavors". I plan on making this again for dinner with family, but will be making bread bowls for potato soup. My starter is only 5 days old, I can't wait until it gets even more sour!!! Then I am going to try 1/2 whole wheat or buckwheat flour Thank you homegirl, now all I need is some California Cheddar and some gallo salami!!! (Update: the family loved the sourdough bread bowls, it was really good with the Potato soup Potato Soup, it was 10 stars!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Ohhoho! I am a home breadmaker with over 25 years practice & this is the BEST sourdough bread recipe I have ever come across. Admittedly some luck depends on the vigor of your starter but this recipe using bread flour & bread machine for mixing yielded the most lovely dense but bubbly crumb that is perfect for sandwihes, toast & eating plain. Aroma out of the oven was sour intoxicating - covered the loaves with a kitchen towel while cooling to keep the crust from being too crisp. Love the wash - it accentuates the blisters beneath the crust (indicative of the perfectly textured bred inside). This is now my GO-TO recipe for San Fran style sourdough bread! Thanks homegirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      I can't believe I've waited so long to review this recipe. I've been baking this bread every Sunday for most of the summer, and it's perfect. I feed my starter with all purpose flour, and make my sponge with the same, but for the remaining cups of flour, I've started using sprouted whole wheat flour, and it works out great. I bake in loaf pans, and we use for sandwiches, toast, and anything else. A solid recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      I tried this recipe as a second attempt at sourdough bread. For Christmas I received a whole grain cookbook that was very vague about the sourdough starter and directions for the bread making. Once I saw this one, I decided to try it as I still had some starter left. Once reading the directions in their entirety I realized one mistake I made the first time; I didn't mix some of the flouer with the starter and let it sit overnight, I just mixed the ingredients, kneaded and let rise a mere 1.5 hours. The bread was anything but sour from THAT recipe. This recipe however produced two amazing loaves of bread!!! The cornstarch wash turned out great, additionally before brushing I misted the bread twice in 8 minutes, then at the 10 minute mark, I brushed them with the wash. All in all I let the inital ingredients sit under cover in the oven for about 15 hours, then another couple once shaped into long loaves. We couldn't wait more than 15 minutes to break into the first loaf (it was astounding), but the second will tell the tale on how much the sourdough develops in a two or more hour period. I baked the bread on a stone center oven after allowing the oven to preheat at 425 for 30 minutes, then reduced the temp to 400 and slid the bread in using a make-shift bakers' peel. Thanks again for the great recipe! I'm going to experiment with other sourdough starters. I found the recipe for an "Alaskan Style" starter that looks slightly different than the one I used although I'm completely stoked about the one I made already. I think I might try it to see if I can discern a difference. I had no idea that people actually handed down starters from genereation to generation... Amazing! Thanks again for a wonderful recipe and easy to follow instructions. It has become my go to recipe for SF style sourdough!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Excellent! I had been using another sourdough bread recipe, but this is so much better. The bread came out crusty on the outside and soft and high on the inside with a slight sourdough tang. My starter is only 2 weeks old, so it should get better. My husband and I couldn't wait for 2 hrs. to cut the loaf. We ate half of it slathered with butter 15 minutes out of the oven. Thanks for a fantastic recipe. I will be making this over and over again. No more store bought bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This is now my only SF Sourdough bread recipe - we live in Montana and I've even baked it one day and driven it to Arizona the next to deliver to Grandma... (OK we were already going but she LOVED the bread we brought too). I captured my starter wild with NO yeast, and it took it easily 6 months to get good and sour - still used it in the meantime but it finally got GREAT. For folks new to sourdough, my advice is to stick with it and let it work out your patience muscle... I let my batch raise up to 8 hours the second rise (step 5) for some seriously good sourdough action, but then we have a cooler climate/room temp than many other areas. This is great!!! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I did everything that this recipe said and my bread is not so much sour as weird tasting. I am so disappointed! Maybe this is because of my starter? I used the starter with the most 5-star ratings from this site. If anyone has any tips/suggestions please let me know.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      This is a great recipe I've used a similar one for years. One of the posters said they had to cheat and use a teaspoon of yeast I recommend simply keeping an eye on the bread and letting it rise longer. People might disagree with me but it's not an exacting science. The measurements are not down to the gram :-) sometimes a little more sometimes a little less flour when kneading the dough. You want to get a good elastic texture going it's definitely not your bread machine type baking but the and results will be satisfying and your friends will WOW you over the delicious sourdough bread you have made :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      Wow, best sourdough bread I've ever made. This is a good reason to keep your starter going and fresh. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I've made this twice in less than a week and have had great success and lots of compliments. I live in Australia, so can't claim to know what real San Francisco sourdough should taste like, but this version is delicious. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      Since I started making sourdough bread 2 weeks ago, I've produced 2 very flat and not very tasty loaves, 2 very nice loaves and 1 of sourdough Irish soda bread and then we come today.<br/><br/>I started last PM and mixed the dough as written. The dough was very active overnight and was still bubbling this AM. I added the salt, sugar and about 3 more cups of flour and kneaded it well. During the rising time, the dough released some liquid (water) but didn't rise much after 21/2 hrs. I kneaded it again and made it into 1 loaf and 12 rolls. Again they didn't rise much but I could tell there was activity in the dough as when I was making the rolls, the dough relaxed while I was working. <br/><br/>I now have baked them. The rolls first and there are only 9 left as they were very good and my husband wanted to try them immediately. The loaf is baked and looks nice but the top is slightly separated from the bottom. It seemed that a slight crust formed on the rising bread even though I covered it. So can someone shed some light on why they didn't raise like expected? I want to keep making the sourdough breads but need more help in this area.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      My bread is in the oven right now. I started it at about noon and it is now 11:40. I used the Herman sour dough recipe and it sure does make your loaves high risers. I could not believe how much they rose during the initial rise process. I have made sour dough before and wound up having to add yeast to get it going. Not with this starter! This recipe is also very simple. Good starter and good recipe makes for great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      My summer project was to create my own starter and delve into bread making. I found this recipe very easy. Sour dough is truly an exercise in patience but worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      My second attempt at sourdough. I think the sitting overnight is the key. It has a wonderful tangy, chewiness to the bread. The loves we're eye pleasing too! Made it mostly in my bread maker for the kneading and sitting overnight. A little messy, but soooo worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

    • on April 07, 2013

      I have been an occasional bread maker for many years. I have never been really pleased with my results until I tried this recipe! I have tried other sourdough bread recipes with very limited success. This recipe not only makes superb sourdough bread, but is better than any other bread recipe I have used, sourdough or not! Wow! The texture, consistency, flavor, everything about it is fantastic - thank you so much for the inspiration!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Great recipe. My starter is just a month old and I am looking forward to a more sour flavor over time. I love this recipe. Week 3 in a row of me making it! I have been using bread flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic San Francisco Sourdough Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1363 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1383.7
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    39%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2341.9 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 290.9 g
    96%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 38.7 g
    77%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes