Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Saffron Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Saffron Rice

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2012

      This was fantastic! I made this using fresh onion and a minced garlic sauteed in the butter first then adding the rice. I also had part of a tomato that I diced up and added to the rice at the end. Served this with Jamie Oliver's Broccoli Salad#468517 and Lime Salmon Fillets#256059 and asparagus....we had a wonderful dinner and I will definately make this again. Another winner for my Favorites of 2012. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I really liked this rice! I used plain long grain white rice, homemade chicken stock, Penzey's onion flakes (since that was where the recipe came from) and a healthy pinch of saffron threads, which I let sit in the heated chicken stock for a few minutes before tossing the whole mess into my rice cooker. It came out beautifully- the rice grains were tender and separate, the saffron flavor really came through. The only possible change I would make is to add some garlic, in imitation of a local restaurant that I love where EVERYTHING is heavily garlicked. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2014

      This was so flavorful and went perfectly with Tarragon Chicken!!! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      I served this a sidedish and came out delicious.<br/>Even for people in a hurry this could be a good way to prepare rice as the dried onion makes it easier, faster and special.<br/>I have a double a pot with double walls and cover whitch I use as ricecooker; after bringing it to simmer (low simmering) I could let it sit and after the required time it was done.<br/>Perfect and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe Paula. The rice had a wonderful texture and tasted fabulous. We really enjoyed this quick and easy to make dish. I garnished the rice with some additional saffron threads. It was a great side served with your Honey Ginger Carrots and baked chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      This is the best tasting rice dish, the chicken stock and onion flakes add a great depth of flavor to a already great tasting Basmati rice. I served this topped with Shrimp Addie. Thanks for posting, this will go into my Best of 2012 cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Nimeshiba sana. (I am full.) Kwaheri! (Goodbye!) See? As a result of my ZWT7 travels, I am, essentially, bilingual!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I loved how easy this was to make! I made just as directed, including the butter, as I had a lonely one TBL in the fridge. The flavor was outstanding. I love saffron so used about a pinch & a half. My rice didn't get thoroughly cooked by the time the liquid was gone & our chicken was done, but we still enjoyed it. Thanks for posting, PaulaG! Made for ZWT-6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I was about to submit the recipe as printed in Penzeys Spring 2008 catalog. As you said, Penzeys recipe calls for 1 cup long grain white rice and 1 tablespoon finely minced onion, optional. Penzeys directions don't call for rinsing the rice. They say place butter and minced onion in a heavy quart saucepan. Sauté over medium heat until onion is translucent. Add rice, saffron, water or stock and salt. Bring to a rolling boil. Cover, reduce heat to simmer. Cook until rice is tender and liquid is absorbed, about 18 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2014

      Nice, basic recipe! My only suggestion is that you take time to "bloom" the saffron in 2-3 Tbsp. of water (or stock) for at least 5 minutes before you add it to the rice. Otherwise, your poor little saffron threads won't have time to develop that great yellow color that saffron is known for, and the flavor isn't as good.<br/><br/>Still, this is a fast recipe and a nice side dish. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      I love this rice, and I'm not a rice person unless it's covered in sauce. I used jasmine rice, onion powder, about a tsp of powdered saffron (it's what I had), threw it in the rice cooker, turned it on and then let it sit on warm for at least an hour once done before eating. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      Just what I was hoping for. I only had brown basmati rice, so I used a medium grain rice and it worked out fine.Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      My take, 2cups long grain white, 1 14oz. can fat free chicken broth, saffron, 1T. butter, minced onion and garlic, small can mushroom stems and chunks drained, salt to taste. All in rice cooker and push the button. Wonderful side, first tried with grilled lamb chops. Lite and fluffy rice the way it's meant to be. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      This was my first time using saffron. I did follow other reviewers and cooked the onion with the butter prior to adding the other ingredients. (important to make sure your basmati rice is thoroughly rinced and left to drain prior to adding to the pot, it makes for a much fluffier rice). Next time I will add garlic. Some of the fire roasted tomato from my chicken ended up mixed in with the rice and this was a nice addition as well so may do this purposely the next time I make it. Thanks for a great recipe Paula

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Great recipe, the only thing I change was heating a bit of the stock and letting the saffron soak for an hour and tossed it all in the rice cooker as IngridH did. I was taught that you should do this with saffron to bring out the flavor, it had lovely saffron flavour and bright yellow colour as result. We had it with some broiled fish and pico de gallo so not only did it add flavor, it added colour to the meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      These few, very quick, additions make a big impact on plain rice. I used veg broth and cut back on the water just a bit since white basmati is usually 1:1.5 - worked well and tastes nice without being overpowering. Using fresh onion would make this a 5 star for me, but of course it wouldn't be as quick and easy as it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Fresh and tasty. I let the saffron soak in the chicken stock for a little before I added the rice. Threw it all into my rice cooker and enjoyed! Thanks Paula! Made for ZWT8 trip to India.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      This was a simple, easy-to-prepare dish that delivered a lot of flavor! I ended up using jasmine rice, since I was out of basmati. I was also out of chicken stock, and used vegetable stock in its place. I did add the butter with the dried minced onion, salt, and a generous pinch of saffron. The rice cooked perfectly, and was a beautiful shade of golden yellow. More importantly, it tasted wonderful, and was the perfect accompaniment to our curry dinner. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      Easy and delicious! Made for ZWT8, The Fearless Red Dragons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Very good rice. It was flavorful without being overly seasoned; went well with The Better Butter Chicken 243805 which was loaded with spices/ flavor. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Saffron Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.8
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    11%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 465.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes