Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Roast Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Roast Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2009

    • on August 23, 2009

      I have used this recipe a couple of times now to make roasties for my English boyfriend. They have a soft and fluffy interior and a lovely crispy shell. Maybe my oven runs a bit hot, but I have found that my potatoes turn pretty brown after a full hour of roasting (even with turning). Reducing the time by just about 15 minutes seems to yield perfect golden brown potatoes. They are delicious either way though. Thanks so much for the wonderful techniques to make perfect roasties!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I made to serve with beef roast. Growing up, we always cooked potatoes in with the roast, however, my husband prefers roasted potatoes. He loved these. Thank you for your detailed instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I made these for dinner last night, and they were yummy! They came out lovely and golden, crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Will definitely be making them again. Don't be put off by the number of steps, it's really very straightforward.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      This is a Gary Rhodes recipe-and he really does classic British food to perfection,and this is no exception.Try adding a little mustard powder to the flour for an added zip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      These potatoes were beyond wonderful. Definately a little work involved as far as # of steps, but well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I used very tiny yellow potatoes so I left out the flour and just tossed with oil. I think the parboiling was the key! I made a tray of these (also carrots, same method) to go with pot roast and they were great! Thanks, MarieAlice, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

    • on October 12, 2007

      Outstanding! I served these with prime rib, and cooked them in the same pan with the roast for the oven portion of the cooking. I only used salt and pepper for the seasoning, but next time I will live a little on the wild side and add a little zip to the flour. Thank you for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe! Directions were clear and easy to follow. I used Idaho baking potatoes and fryed these in lard. I also used a prepackaged flour coating seasoned with salt/pepper and a touch of paprika for color since it didn't seem to vary from the recipe. This is also an inexpensive recipe which is a definite plus with a large family. I am considering taking these to a potluck prepared as written and transfered to a crock pot for keeping warm and transporting to the fellowship hall. Thank you for sharing this with those of us here in the states. This is a winner in my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Wonderful potatoes. I seasoned the flour with a bit of garlic powder, paprika and cumin in addition to the salt and pepper. They were delicious. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      Classic taste indeed - roughing up the edges is indeed the key to this recipe (as well as seasoning your flour properly - I used 1/2 t. salt and 1/4 t. pepper). Roasted them in a 350 oven for a little over an hour. Just a little time-consuming with all the steps, but if you're going for a simple, classic taste - worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      Excellent! Roasted with a chicken tonight at 450 F for 55 minutes. This method of roasting potatoes with or without meat - at this temperature or lower - is simply superb. Thank you MarieAlice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      Excellent directions and the end result was beautiful,I have been trying to make them for years thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      OK, these are THE BEST roast potatoes! Roughing up the edges like that makes a huge difference. This is a keeper recipe, well written and easy to follow. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      I tried these once and forgot to save them to my profile. I just spent 35 min trying to find them again. In other words these are great! Also thanks to MarieAlice for great directions!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      A fab recipe with complete & detailed instructions that result in the perfect roast potato! I served them with Parsnip Pudding (#44688) & roast chicken but I have a small convection/microwave in addition to my regular oven so I was able to deal with the temperature variations. Like Jude, I'll be adding to the roast beef pan to enjoy a real British dinner in the near future - along with Yorkshire pudding, of course. Thanx MarieAlice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      These potatoes are absolutely delicious and will be made again and again in my house. The directions are excellent and I was rewarded with potatoes crispy on the outside and soft and fluffy inside. I made these as written but I can see how these could be transferred to a pan containing a beef roast to finish them off and I'm going to try that next time. I must say also that I did not roast them at 400° but at 250°, as I was roasting a chicken at that lower temperature at the same time (no room in the chicken pan for the potatoes). I roasted the potatoes for about an hour at that temperature and they turned out quite fine, in my opinion. I turned them twice during that time. Thanks MarieAlice for posting this recipe, I'm going to WOW my British friends with this the next time they visit :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2004

      These were fantastic! Great directions. I used baking potatoes and did everything exactly as stated in recipe. turned out wonderfully. Served it with your Roast Lamb recipe. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Roast Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.4
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    18%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes