Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Roast Chicken and Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Roast Chicken and Gravy

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2010

      My boyfriend loved this! I brined the chicken first so it came out extra moist. I found that at 325 degrees it took over 2hrs to cook my 5 lb. chicken. I think that next time i'll cook it at 350. The flavor was exactly what you think of when you want roast chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      The chicken was fantastic! All the right herby goodness that I crave (thyme is one of my fave-o-rites!). We weren't crazy about the gravy, we felt it was just too lemony for our personal tastes so next time I think we'll stick with traditional giblet gravy. The chicken came out perfectly roasted and we really enjoyed it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I use the gravy part of this recipe often for making a lovely gravy to go with roasts. I usually omit the lemon juice and tried it with the lemon tonight, but we prefer it without (or perhaps I'll try less next time). I'm so glad I have an easy go-to recipe for rich and flavorful gravy like my mother and grandmother make. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      YUMMO!!! best chicken i have ever made!..my 4yo liked it so much she went for 2nds! I made the gravy as followed except i didn't put the lemon juice in it and it was excellent. Thankyou so much for sharing this great recipe with us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      Really fabulous! Flavor all the way thru the chicken! Put little red potatoes around the chicken and pulled the onion and garlic out of chicken and put together with potatoes to serve. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      mmmmmmmmmmmm soooooooo goooooooood!!!!!!!!! I don't like rosemary, sage or thyme, but have them in the kitchen and was wondering how to use them and still eat the food that has used them, this was it! I must say this has been the best chicken I've had! However it took 2 hours to bake in my oven, and the last 40 min I spooned the drippings and poured over the chicken every 10 min. The picture I have taken (and submitted) has the dripping on the plate coz I couldn't be bothered making the gravy, and the chicken is so nice just dipped in the dripping and eaten like a sauce! SO FLAVOURFUL I keep wondering when I should take out that other chicken......Although this serves 6, my brother and I finished 1 chicken in one go! Will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Nummy !!!!! This is a wonderful recipe thanks Ev :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      I found this to be a wonderful roast chicken. It browns beautifully and the herbs give it a really special touch. The squeezed lemon adds flavor that is not overpowering or obtrusive. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      This is an excellent recipe if you are looking for a beautifully browned, flavorful and succulent roast chicken! I made my own chicken stock for the gravy while my 7 pound chicken was roasting, by cooking the giblets in 4 cups of water with an onion, carrot and a stalk of celery. I adjusted the roasting time according to the larger size of my chicken. I served this with mashed potatoes and peas. This is an easy recipe which I will be making again! Thanks, Evelny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Roast Chicken and Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (429 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 543.6
     
    Calories from Fat 336
    61%
    Total Fat 37.3 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 173.4 mg
    57%
    Sodium 398.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 44.1 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites