Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Risotto (Plus Tips for Perfect Risotto) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Risotto (Plus Tips for Perfect Risotto)

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2009

      I have made this recipe many times and love it. Some changes I've made. -I add chopped mushrooms in with the onions at the start. -I use Half & Half instead of Heavy Cream. -I use Jasmine Rice instead of Arborio (my husband loves Jasmine Rice and buys a 25lb bag yearly. We have all this rice, so we use it instead. It turns out excellent).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Speaking of Risotto Tips. The proper time to add more liquid. Simmer the risotto down until (I use a wooden spoon to stir) The spoon should leave a trough in the risotto when you pull it through, then it is time to add. It should be liquid enough for the risotto to ooze back together but dry enough to leave a definate trough behind the spoon. As taught to me by an old italian chef that made risotto so good you it would make you bite your fingers. This recipe is really really close to the way he taught me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      A little confused on the amount of arborio. Even the bag calls for 1 1/2 cups to serve 4, whereas this recipe calls for 1 cup for 6? Gonna make it with the spicy chicken from the spicy chicken and lemon risotto recipe also posted. Wish me luck.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Easy, awesome. Everyone loves it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      This was a really great recipe for risotto. I replaced the water with water that I rehydrated shiitake mushrooms in, and added 3/4 tsp of basil. I also added about 1 Tlbs of fresh (in water) mozzerella and some parmesan cheese. Oh, and some garlic! Right before I added the rice. It turned out AMAZING! Thank you so much for this great fridge velcro recipe, I can't wait to play with it more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      This was a very good risotto recipe. I made it plain with no add ins and served it alongside duck with cherry sauce. It was a nice base for our meal. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      wow... this was sooo easy and really great. thanks so much for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This dish was AMAZING! After his first bite, my 7-year-old son said, "This tastes like mac & cheese!" The only thing I'll change for next time is not to add the salt at the end before tasting. I think it would have been fine just from the salt in the broth alone. I'll definitely be making this again and having fun with different add-ins!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      I have NEVER made risotto before; ate it plenty of times..:) I do have to say this was much easier than I expected and it tasted SOOOO yummy!!!! I added in some mushrooms, garlic & spinach. Can't wait to make it again!!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe with all of us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I have never made risotto before but this recipe is both easy and delicious! I used all broth instead of the water/broth mix, brown rice, added more onions, and chopped baby portobello mushrooms during the cooking so they would soak up the flavor. I wasn't sure how the brown rice would be, but it was very flavorful. Family loved it -- will definitely make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      The directions are a little misleading when they say to add the water/broth mixture 1 cup at a time and then cook 25 to 30 minutes. The way it's worded makes it sound like you cook it an additional 25 to 30 minutes AFTER the last bit of liquid is absorbed. I knew better because I knew if it cooked 25 minutes more after the last bit of liquid was absorbed the rice was going to burn. The directions should say that the total cooking time it takes to cook the rice is 25 to 30 minutes. Also, next time I think I'll leave out the onion. I don't like onions all that much so even a little bit of onion is noticeable to me. Be sure to use enough salt and pepper. If the risotto doesn't seem to have much flavor you're probably not adding enough salt and pepper. With the exception of the onion, this was pretty good. I'll definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I used this risotto as a base. I added about 2oz dried wild mushrooms (and broth they soaked in) garlic and more white wine. I did`nt have cream but it didn`t seem to matter. I used Grana Padano cheese instead of the parmesan. It was sooo good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      My husband loves risotto and this recipe has made him fall in love with me all over. This was my first time making it from scratch and it was so easy. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken and added a drizzle of white truffle oil. It was so good and the first risotto I really like!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      easy..easy..yum..yum.....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Used pearl rice (the kind you get by the huge bag in asian supermarkets). Much cheaper than arborio rice for us, and it worked beautifully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This was delicious. I tried with the tomoatoes, shrimp, and asparagus. It was a hit with the family

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I love this! The tips are the best, I'd tried several risotto recipes before this one and they never really came out right, but with the key things to watch pointed out this was great the first try. Tonight I'll be making it for the umpteenth time. Note: I sub in soy milk for the cream and it works fine (I'm lactose intolerant).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Just made this and it was delicious. I think you could leave out the heavy cream and itwould still be great. (And save some calories). Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This was amazing. It was absolutely delicious and so creamy. We all loved it. I didn't put in the sun dried tomatoes but I did everything else as written. I didn't quite use the 1/2 cup heavy cream. Didn't find it really needed it. I used vegetable broth because that is what I had. As well I used one portebello mushroom which I cut up and added when I was cooking the onions. I guess it took me a total of about 25 minutes cooking time and I used about 4 1/4 cups of broth. The pictures were as it was simmering, forgot to take a pic when it was all over. I served it with My Osso Bucco....wonderful. Thanks so much for the post of this fantastic recipe. This is a recipe I will turn to every time I want to make risotto.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      This dish was fantastic!!!!!!! I have been trying alot of risotto recipes lately, and this is the best so far. The only thing I didn't do was add the tomato, that was laziness on my part. I also made it again, adding shrimp and peas at the end. My husband even complimented it, and he doesn't hand those out that often!! Thanks for a wonderful risotto, we'll make it time and time again, I'm sure!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Risotto (Plus Tips for Perfect Risotto)

    Serving Size: 1 (295 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 302.5
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    50%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 51.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 392.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes