Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Rhubarb Crisp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Rhubarb Crisp

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2008

      This is my first time using rhubarb. I followed the advise of the other reviewers and substituted the nutmeg for the mace (I don't have any anyway). I also added about 1 cup of fresh strawberries. This is a very easy to follow recipe with few items to clean (I love that). I thought 1 cup of sugar with the fruit was a little bit too sweet for me (I like tart fruit). Excellent recipe. I threw in a couple of tablespoon of oatmeat with the topping because I love oatmeal. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      I found this way too sweet, but my husband enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I really enjoyed this dessert. I made a couple of changes - I added 1 cup of oatmeal to the topping, used 4-5 cups of rhubarb as well as added a quart of strawberries (sliced) and I replaced the mace with cinnamon and it all just fit into a 9" x 13" glass baking pan. I did not double the egg/sugar mixture and it was wonderfully tart, a perfect end to our meal. Thanks for posting and I will make sure that I freeze some rhubarb to enjoy this dessert at other times of the year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      I felt like there was too much mace. It took away from the flavor of the rhubarb. I may even put in cinnamon in its place.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      I've made this several times this summer and we love it. I usually substitute cinnamon for the mace, but otherwise make it as listed. Excellent taste, easy preparation, and a great use for my huge patch of rhubarb - what more could you ask for? Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      I made this today with a few changes and it was very good. One point I would like to make about rhubarb. There is the old fashioned variety that is mostly green in color, that is quite sour and the Canada Red which is red in color and sweeter, so it doesn't need as much sugar. I have only seen the red variety for sale. It is the old fashioned that grandma grew and split up when it got too big. I used 2-16 oz bags of Flavorite brand frozen cut up rhubarb (it is the red variety) yield between 4 and 5 c. I let it thaw and drained the water off, 1 c sugar, 1 egg, 2 T flour, 1/4 t cinnamon ( that is what we like) and I added 1/8 t salt ( that sparks up the flavor of fruit and veggies ). I mixed everything for the filling except the rhubarb and then gently folded the rhubarb in (I didn’t want to break the fruit up). I doubled the topping amounts and added 1/8 t salt. Mix the dry ingredients and then work in the butter with a pastry blender or 2 forks until all is crumbles. I put it in a 11 X 7 (2 qt) glass pan and baked it 45 mins at 350. Have you ever tasted something that just tasted a little flat like something was missing? That usually is the lack of salt or not enough salt. This is a keeper not too sweet and not too tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      My husband loves rhubarb, and this was a huge hit. I increased the rhubarb to 4 cups, and cut the sugar to about 2/3 cup because we like it tart. The rhubarb didn't get mushy, and I think the egg/flour mixture kept it from being too soupy. Quick and easy to make, and absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Thanks for the recipe. I made it tonight and the family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I substituted cinnimon for mace (didn't have any) and everyone loved it. Will be making it again this weekend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Taking prior advice, I went ahead and doubled the recipe right away. It was completly worth it! Amazing and delicious, we served it with whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      Great recipe! Easy to make and delicious. Just put the second batch in the oven. Doubled the recipe both times. Will make again adding a cup or more of raspberries. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      Absolutely delicious! Made a much bigger quantity because we are greedy and ate it with custard-typically English. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      This is wonderful! I made it with gluten-free flour and it was perfect! Crispy and delicious. I served it with a choice of ice cream or whipped cream...most took both...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      WOW, I thought That I had reviewed this recipe. I have made it two times now. It is so good and easy to make. I used 2 cups rhubarb and 1 cup strawberries out out of our garden. Also used Splenda instead of the sugar and nutmeg in place of the mace. Both times I served it to dinner guest, they loved it. Thank you so very much for sharing this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      Yum in no time. Worked perfectly well with cornstarch and whole wheat flour - I was out of all-purpose and had a serious sweet craving. Great recipe, Sackville Girl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      I love rhubarb but I am the only one in my family that does. Therefore, I doubled this recipe (I had twice as much rhubarb on hand as the recipe called for) and put half of the mixture into a deep 9\

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      This recipe is very easy, very quick, and VERY GOOD! I used a scant 4 cups of frozen rhubarb and added 2 peeled, cored, and thinly sliced apples. It was a nice combination. Three cups of rhubarb wouldn't have been enough for my 9-inch deep dish pie plate. I didn't thaw the rhubarb first, but simply rinsed it in a colander under cold water, then let it drain while I mixed up the rest of the recipe. This is definitely a keeper. It would be nice with strawberries added instead of the apple. I love desserts that you can whip up at the last minute. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      A co-worker of mine requested a rhubarb pie but , I was too tired to fuss with making the pie crust after a day at work , I came across this recipe while hunting for something to make instead . I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 inch baking pan . It worked out very well ! I did'nt have any mace so I used nutmeg instead and I also added a little grated lemon rind . I took this to work to share and not a crumb was left ! Everyone enjoyed it and I will make this again . A nice easy crisp to make while rhubarb is in season !!! Thank You !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Rhubarb Crisp

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 492.8
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    24%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 77.0 mg
    25%
    Sodium 128.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.2 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 68.8 g
    275%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes