18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my first time using rhubarb. I followed the advise of the other reviewers and substituted the nutmeg for the mace (I don't have any anyway). I also added about 1 cup of fresh strawberries. This is a very easy to follow recipe with few items to clean (I love that). I thought 1 cup of sugar with the fruit was a little bit too sweet for me (I like tart fruit). Excellent recipe. I threw in a couple of tablespoon of oatmeat with the topping because I love oatmeal. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 May 16, 2008

I found this way too sweet, but my husband enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u June 23, 2011

I really enjoyed this dessert. I made a couple of changes - I added 1 cup of oatmeal to the topping, used 4-5 cups of rhubarb as well as added a quart of strawberries (sliced) and I replaced the mace with cinnamon and it all just fit into a 9" x 13" glass baking pan. I did not double the egg/sugar mixture and it was wonderfully tart, a perfect end to our meal. Thanks for posting and I will make sure that I freeze some rhubarb to enjoy this dessert at other times of the year.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee May 13, 2009

I felt like there was too much mace. It took away from the flavor of the rhubarb. I may even put in cinnamon in its place.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kruotsi July 15, 2007

I've made this several times this summer and we love it. I usually substitute cinnamon for the mace, but otherwise make it as listed. Excellent taste, easy preparation, and a great use for my huge patch of rhubarb - what more could you ask for? Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full September 11, 2010

I made this today with a few changes and it was very good. One point I would like to make about rhubarb. There is the old fashioned variety that is mostly green in color, that is quite sour and the Canada Red which is red in color and sweeter, so it doesn't need as much sugar. I have only seen the red variety for sale. It is the old fashioned that grandma grew and split up when it got too big. I used 2-16 oz bags of Flavorite brand frozen cut up rhubarb (it is the red variety) yield between 4 and 5 c. I let it thaw and drained the water off, 1 c sugar, 1 egg, 2 T flour, 1/4 t cinnamon ( that is what we like) and I added 1/8 t salt ( that sparks up the flavor of fruit and veggies ). I mixed everything for the filling except the rhubarb and then gently folded the rhubarb in (I didn’t want to break the fruit up). I doubled the topping amounts and added 1/8 t salt. Mix the dry ingredients and then work in the butter with a pastry blender or 2 forks until all is crumbles. I put it in a 11 X 7 (2 qt) glass pan and baked it 45 mins at 350. Have you ever tasted something that just tasted a little flat like something was missing? That usually is the lack of salt or not enough salt. This is a keeper not too sweet and not too tart.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cknoss September 19, 2009

My husband loves rhubarb, and this was a huge hit. I increased the rhubarb to 4 cups, and cut the sugar to about 2/3 cup because we like it tart. The rhubarb didn't get mushy, and I think the egg/flour mixture kept it from being too soupy. Quick and easy to make, and absolutely delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
952865 September 03, 2009

Thanks for the recipe. I made it tonight and the family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil-jo July 14, 2008

I substituted cinnimon for mace (didn't have any) and everyone loved it. Will be making it again this weekend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissPrissKate May 31, 2008

Taking prior advice, I went ahead and doubled the recipe right away. It was completly worth it! Amazing and delicious, we served it with whipped cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tricia1972 June 05, 2007
Classic Rhubarb Crisp