Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    209 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 209

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2010

      Wow!!!! This is the best potato salad i have ever had:))) Will make again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Just like my child hood backyard picnics!! Nice old school flavor,,your recipes never let me down. If you ever leave your husband call me!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I have never made a decent potato salad in my life - now I can say I have!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Very good. I made this to go with BBQ ribs and everyone just loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      this is the kind we usually buy from the deli--- now we can make it for less than half the price and fresher! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Can't believe I forgot to rate this. It is excellent! I reduced the number of eggs (just a personal preference); however, I followed the rest of the recipe as written. So glad I found this. It's now the only recipe I use. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      First time making potato salad and really liked this recipe, easy and to the point! Way to go!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I followed this recipe exactly as written, only omitting the 1 teaspoon of salt since I thought there would be enough salt in the mayo and mustard -- it was just right! Best potato salad I have EVER made or eaten. I am passing this yummy recipe on to everyone I know! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I have been using a recipe just like this for years, and it is wonderful. A word to all you chefs out there, be you new or tried and true. When you make your sauce test is with each ingredient. I am not fond of a vinegary salad so I add it by half tsps at a time til I get it right. The same with the mustard,the sugar etc. And use fresh minced onions, not dried. This recipe does not specify, and if you use the dried, you will probably overwhelm the salad. I also play around with a little hot sauce. This recipe is a definite keeper. Just tweak it to suit you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      With all the great reviews, I thought this was going to turn out great. But I did not like the garlic powder in this recipe and all the onions that are called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      EXCELLENT recipe! Finally success with a potato salad recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      I can't give this five stars because I forgot the celery rib! This is a wonderful standard potato salad recipe and will be an excellent staple for any young cook to build their experience upon, and is very forgiving. As I look at my bandaid-ed finger, I'm looking at the review below of 'leave the skins on for flavor' and I'm starting to agree with that logic...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Forgot to submit the review..I've made this potato salad for years and it's always a winner. I have substituted Dijon mustard at times and that is good as well and have also added a bit of parsley. So many good suggestions along the way here too. Thanks so much for sharing and I am glad I finally got to it and said thanks for writing this one out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      this is really close to my mom's. but i've made some additions. try adding 1/8 teaspoon of colemans dry mustard to this. if it has to sit to make sure it doesn't get dry, add about 1/4 cup or less of milk(depending how dry the potatoes look) to the dressing. i like to boil the potatoes in the skins, adds flavor. your right, psych 751, young cooks don't know if you don't salt the water for potatoes and pastas you can add salt till the cows come home and it just won't have that mellow flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Hands down, best potato salad I've ever made or eaten! I've tried several recipes trying to come up with something similar to what my mom makes. This is similar And even better (shhh, don't tell Mom :) After reading Mountainbaby's review, I had to try it because I keep running into the pickle relish/pickle recipes too, but the salty-sweetness in this recipe is so much nicer. Thanks so much for a great recipe and one that will be made again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I love this recipe. I've made so many types of potato salads, but this one may be the best ever. This is the first time I haven't used some type of pickle in potato salad, but it really didn't seem to matter. The garlic was also a first. I always microwave the potatoes and peel and cut them when cool. It's so much easier that way. I also use only the egg yolks mashed with a fork (that's a texture thing for me). Thanks for this lovely recipe. I will use it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This was delicious!! With qualifiers... I didn't really measure anything. I think I wound up putting in a bit less sugar. And I used stone ground mustard instead of yellow. And granulated garlic instead of powder. But other than that, I think I stayed true to the recipe. And everyone loved it! I think this is the one. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I doubled this recipe and took it to a BBQ. It was gone in no time at all, and everyone was asking for the recipe. Several people said it was the best they had EVER had. I don't think I will ever use another recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

    • on April 23, 2010

      Fantastic! You didn't say how to handle the eggs, so I diced them with an egg slicer into tiny chunks. Excellent seasonings, yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.7
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    40%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 128.0 mg
    42%
    Sodium 686.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites