Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    214 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 214

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2010

      6/1/10 I made this this past weekend for Memorial Day. It was good but I could only rate it three stars because honestly I couldn't notice any difference from other potatoe salad recipes. Maybe it is because I normally put celery, onion and eggs in my potatoe salad anyway. The only thing I changed in the recipe was to use only half the amount of onions because a cupfull seemed like a lot and our family is not that fond of raw onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      I have finally found a potato salad recipe that got a "boy that's good!" comment from my DH!!! thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      this is so wonderful - I really liked this and so did everyone at work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This Is a Good old fashion potato salad recipe A+++ Its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      OMG! This is the best! Will make again... like tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Wow!!!! This is the best potato salad i have ever had:))) Will make again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Just like my child hood backyard picnics!! Nice old school flavor,,your recipes never let me down. If you ever leave your husband call me!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I have never made a decent potato salad in my life - now I can say I have!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Very good. I made this to go with BBQ ribs and everyone just loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      this is the kind we usually buy from the deli--- now we can make it for less than half the price and fresher! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Can't believe I forgot to rate this. It is excellent! I reduced the number of eggs (just a personal preference); however, I followed the rest of the recipe as written. So glad I found this. It's now the only recipe I use. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      First time making potato salad and really liked this recipe, easy and to the point! Way to go!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I followed this recipe exactly as written, only omitting the 1 teaspoon of salt since I thought there would be enough salt in the mayo and mustard -- it was just right! Best potato salad I have EVER made or eaten. I am passing this yummy recipe on to everyone I know! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I have been using a recipe just like this for years, and it is wonderful. A word to all you chefs out there, be you new or tried and true. When you make your sauce test is with each ingredient. I am not fond of a vinegary salad so I add it by half tsps at a time til I get it right. The same with the mustard,the sugar etc. And use fresh minced onions, not dried. This recipe does not specify, and if you use the dried, you will probably overwhelm the salad. I also play around with a little hot sauce. This recipe is a definite keeper. Just tweak it to suit you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      With all the great reviews, I thought this was going to turn out great. But I did not like the garlic powder in this recipe and all the onions that are called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      EXCELLENT recipe! Finally success with a potato salad recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      I can't give this five stars because I forgot the celery rib! This is a wonderful standard potato salad recipe and will be an excellent staple for any young cook to build their experience upon, and is very forgiving. As I look at my bandaid-ed finger, I'm looking at the review below of 'leave the skins on for flavor' and I'm starting to agree with that logic...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Forgot to submit the review..I've made this potato salad for years and it's always a winner. I have substituted Dijon mustard at times and that is good as well and have also added a bit of parsley. So many good suggestions along the way here too. Thanks so much for sharing and I am glad I finally got to it and said thanks for writing this one out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      this is really close to my mom's. but i've made some additions. try adding 1/8 teaspoon of colemans dry mustard to this. if it has to sit to make sure it doesn't get dry, add about 1/4 cup or less of milk(depending how dry the potatoes look) to the dressing. i like to boil the potatoes in the skins, adds flavor. your right, psych 751, young cooks don't know if you don't salt the water for potatoes and pastas you can add salt till the cows come home and it just won't have that mellow flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Hands down, best potato salad I've ever made or eaten! I've tried several recipes trying to come up with something similar to what my mom makes. This is similar And even better (shhh, don't tell Mom :) After reading Mountainbaby's review, I had to try it because I keep running into the pickle relish/pickle recipes too, but the salty-sweetness in this recipe is so much nicer. Thanks so much for a great recipe and one that will be made again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.7
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    40%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 128.0 mg
    42%
    Sodium 686.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites