255 Reviews

This was a hit at our last family get-together! I loved the taste of the dressing. It will definately be my go to recipe for Potato Salad now. I've tried many and never liked any as much as this one.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynjt July 04, 2010

Very tasty and the recipe is easy to make. Made this for tomorrow (Father's Day) and the fam already ate some of it. Thank you for the simple and great recipe. Love it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms O June 19, 2010

Best potato salad recipe I've ever made! Anyone can vary the veggies or eggs or whatnot, but the dressing is great! (instead of sprinkling the top with paprika, I mix a little for color into the dressing)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefscott67 June 15, 2010

FIVE stars, definitely five stars! This is probably the most classic potato recipe that I have ever come across. I don't have a crowd to feed, so I used 2 russet potatoes and cut the mayo to 1/3 cup, added 2 tsps cider vinegar, 2 tsps sugar, 1 tsp salt. Quartered the rest of the ingredients. The salad turned out to be perfect! Will definitely make it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen June 05, 2015

Made this for the first time yesterday, and it was absolutely fantastic. I don't care much for the 'sweeter' potato salads (of which there are a LOT out there). This is indeed a classic version of a simple, "hearty" potato salad - even somewhat "spicy" given the pepper and mustard. I can see this becoming my 'go to' potato salad recipe for a long, long time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenlee #2 August 25, 2014

I thought this was a pretty good recipe but WAY TOO SWEET! Next time I would take out at least half of the sugar if not all of it. I added some diced dill pickle to kill some of the sweetness. Not a bad recipe just no need for all that sugar in a potato salad. Save the sweetness for the coleslaw.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcrahrah May 10, 2014

I have used this recipe multiple times and our friends love it, I even added beacon to it. Thank you for sharing this recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennUnderhill July 06, 2013

Best potato salad i've ever had!. It was my first time making potato salad and it was very easy! I made the salad for 20 servings. Everyone loved it and was impressed!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hccgrl June 28, 2013

I'm a Culinary Student at a technical school. I find this recipe somewhat basic, but it is good. It's very simplistic, yet has the flavor you would expect of a potato salad. I did make some of my my own changes. I added an extra teaspoon of black pepper and added green bell pepper to it. It's definitely something I wouldn't mind plating up in a professional setting. I plan on making several more batches and tweaking them until I get a very good flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dante T. November 07, 2015

I'm vegan so I make a couple changes to this recipe when I make it to meet my needs and it still turns out great. Sub the mayo for veganaise and leave out the eggs. I also add sliced black olives (1 can) and about 1 cup diced pickles. One of my favorite potato salad recipes, hands down.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
devakii.x August 16, 2015
Classic Potato Salad