Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    214 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 214

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2010

      This was a hit at our last family get-together! I loved the taste of the dressing. It will definately be my go to recipe for Potato Salad now. I've tried many and never liked any as much as this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Very tasty and the recipe is easy to make. Made this for tomorrow (Father's Day) and the fam already ate some of it. Thank you for the simple and great recipe. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Best potato salad recipe I've ever made! Anyone can vary the veggies or eggs or whatnot, but the dressing is great! (instead of sprinkling the top with paprika, I mix a little for color into the dressing)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2014

      Made this for the first time yesterday, and it was absolutely fantastic. I don't care much for the 'sweeter' potato salads (of which there are a LOT out there). This is indeed a classic version of a simple, "hearty" potato salad - even somewhat "spicy" given the pepper and mustard. I can see this becoming my 'go to' potato salad recipe for a long, long time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      I thought this was a pretty good recipe but WAY TOO SWEET! Next time I would take out at least half of the sugar if not all of it. I added some diced dill pickle to kill some of the sweetness. Not a bad recipe just no need for all that sugar in a potato salad. Save the sweetness for the coleslaw.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      I have used this recipe multiple times and our friends love it, I even added beacon to it. Thank you for sharing this recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      Best potato salad i've ever had!. It was my first time making potato salad and it was very easy! I made the salad for 20 servings. Everyone loved it and was impressed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      This potato salad is truly excellent as is, it got rave reviews. I tend to like just a bit more color and texture to my potato salads though, so the second time I made it, I added chopped Italian parsley, capers, sliced black olives, crumbled bacon, and chopped pickled red peppers. I also incorporated some Italian dressing into the original dressing mix. Those additions truly made it a home run, I'll not make potato salad any other way now. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      I was late in salting the water (when cooking potatoes) ! I added a pinch of celery seeds which just seems to enhance the celery flavour. I'm not a big onion fan especially raw but I still added them but just cut way back -- I always seem to really taste them in food and I prefer little. This was so tasty. I thought maybe the recipe was a bit too easy but this is one of those recipes where simple is best. Thanks so much for sharing it with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      I didn't think anything could beat my mother-in-law's recipe for potato salad...her kids even have what they call the "magic spoon", as in, "I don't know WHO ate the potato salad, must've been the magic spoon." But, MizzNezz, you have done it! My MIL's recipe calls for chopped sweet pickles, but since moving to Mexico, I can't get them. Your recipe quite handily takes care of that. Nobody missed the pickles, at all! This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      Add me to the list of 5-Star reviews for this recipe. It is fantastic. One thing I typically never put in potato salad was garlic powder, but I think that and the cider vinegar are what really make the flavors come together in this recipe. That, and the proportions of each ingredient are spot on. The dressing is tangy enough to hold up to the potatoes and eggs for a nice balance. I would recommend putting the paprika on just before you're about to serve it, as you'll need to stir it up every hour or so while it's chilling to keep everything coated evenly. It also helps to mash up some of the potatoes and stir that into the dressing to give it more of a paste-like consistency, it will coat the chunks of potato better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      My husband LOVES potato salad but he just never could get the recipe correct when attempting to make it himself. I can tolerate eating the premade store bought kind but my husband absolutely hates it! I was feeling ambitious one day and decided to take a crack at making it. The recipe was suprisingly easy to make and I was VERY impressed with myself for it turning out perfect the first time. YAY! I followed the recipe pretty much exactly with just two changes. First, I did NOT use the cider vinegar. Only because when I was at the store I had thought we had some at home. Turns out we didnt and I was too lazy to go back out. Second, I added in 1/3 cup of sweet relish. Just for personal preference. Based on a previous review, I salted the water the potatoes were boiling in too. For those who have a difficult time making hard boiled eggs, I find it easiest to cover them in salted water, bring them to a boil for 5 minutes, then turn the heat down to a simmer for 10. afterwards, soak them immediately in ice water to cool them down. Should be perfect. definately keeping this recipe on hand! I would make it daily if I could. The whole bowl was licked clean within 24 hours. my husband and I LOVE this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Made this the other day. It was super delicious. I cooked 2 pounds of potatoes, used 1 cup of full fat real mayo and 1/2 cup of low fat and used only 1/2 of the sugar and only 4 eggs. It turned out amazing! Will definitely be making this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      Very good indeed. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of using just one boiled egg and adding some finely chopped green pepper. Too, I made a little discovery. When I've made potato salad in the past, I think I've not waited until the boiled potatoes were completely cool, or at room temperature resulting in a kind of "mashed" potato salad - edible, but not especially attractive. This time, I got busy with something, and came back a couple of hours later. By then the potatoes had completely cooled and had firmed up nicely and didn't stick together when I added all the other ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      It was okay.. It tasted like the average picnic potato salad but with onions. I'm not a big fan of the onions but it was a pretty nice recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      I have made this several times for gatherings and it is always a hit! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      I took this to a family gathering and got great comments from many people.Thank you so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      This is the best potato salad! My family asked me to make it again before the first batch was even gone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Very Good, I even tried baking the potatoes. Turned out great for the fourth of July 2010

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This was great, I did add some fresh dill to it just before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.7
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    40%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 128.0 mg
    42%
    Sodium 686.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes