Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    214 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 214

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2008

      Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Bravo. This is exactly like the potato salad I always love to eat at picnics in the summer. I omitted the celery only because I didn't have any and added 3 chopped up green onions for color. This is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      The best! I've never been able to make good potato salad until now. I cut the recipe in half. I microwaved the potatoes and then let them cool a couple of hours in the fridge. Peeled and diced them. I used red onions and no celery (didn't have any). It tasted great, just like the deli. I also added a few teaspoons of dill pickle relish and some diced red bell pepper for color. Will use this recipe from now on. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      I added a touch more sugar, but other than that a perfect potato salad recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Very good, made the night before and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I have been searching for a good potato salad recipe, and this is it. It was simple to make and I added bacon. You can't go wrong with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

    • on August 07, 2007

      Absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe and left out celery. It was so good. My husband and I enjoyed it with hamburgers and corn on the cob. This was the first time I made potato salad and I am so happy that I found a great recipe. MizzNezz, thanks for sharing your recipes. I've made a few of yours and they are always a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This was delicious and a keeper. I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      This has to be my favorite potato salad. I do not like a sweet recipe and this is not one if you do not overdo the sugar. Depending on strength, be careful of the onions. It is easy to overpower the salad. My suggestion is use real mayo. It really makes a difference. I doubt being #29 to rate your recipe makes much difference, but I really do like the results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I was looking for a simple classic potato salad that would satisfy a crowd and I found it!I have to admit I am not a mayo fan so I am basing my review on the feedback I got from other guests. SO thought is was really good and my best friend thought is was outrageous. Since she is the potato salad expert out of the two, I am giving this 5 stars. In addition, many others at the party loved the salad as well. I have a feeling I will be the one bringing the potato salad from now on :) I should add that I doubled the recipe since we had 16 at the party. It worked out perfectly. Thanks for the keeper MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

    • on May 27, 2007

      Yum! This was a great potato salad that I made for Memorial Day weekend. I made it the day before serving, but next time I will make it the day of so it is more moist. I had to add a little more mayo since the potatoes soaked up the dressing overnight. Love the flavor, it is perfect! Thanks for another great recipe MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      This has now become my "signature" potato salad recipe. I have made this several times and it is wonderful EVERY time!!! It's quick, easy, and always tastes great!! Thanks so much for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      Great potato salad. DD loved this one. Simple yet delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      This is pretty much the recipe I grew up with...I did however steal from another recipe which said to mash and add the egg yolks (only) to the dressing...I used four...Worked out well...I threw in some celery salt as well...I also like to add cucumbers and finely chopped radishes...Very good salad...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      This was an excellent potato salad. I added some celery salt & a little evaporated milk to make it really creamy. When I first made it I thought it had a little too much vinegar and sugar...but it was better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

      Absolute Perfection. I only substituted Grey Poupon for the yellow mustard because I didn't have the yellow in the house. Again, MezzNezz, my chef's hat is off to you ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      This was very good and my family loved it. It was a bit salty for me so next time I'll use a little less. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      Excellent! Thank you so much! Now, I did reduce the sugar -- only 1 TBSP...Substituted that 1 TBSP with Dijon mustard...Other than that, kept to the recipe, and even my EX loved this one! Thank you~! Love you for posting this one! Stacy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.7
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    40%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 128.0 mg
    42%
    Sodium 686.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes