Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    213 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 213

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2002

      When I read this recipe, it didn't sound all that different than any other, but based on a 5 star rating by someone else, I tried it and my company did all but lick the bowl clean when I served it! Be careful with the salt. BE SURE to salt the water when you cook the potatoes! (I notice a lot of recipes don't mention that anymore. A young cook doesn't know to do this). I doubled the amount of salad dressing because (I used more like 10 or 11 potatoes)--but the eggs and it wasn't dry the next day when I served it. GREAT potato salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      I searched for a potato salad recipe for a little BBQ we were having last weekend. I was a little inundated with all the recipes available, but I'm sure glad I went with this one.I made the salad the day before and just added a little more mayo right before serving. We got lots of comments on it. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      Made this for a little Memorial Day Bar-B-Que, after agonizing over all of the available potato salad recipes on Zaar, but am sure glad that I picked this one. It was great, no not great, amazing!!! It's a keeper, thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Great recipe! I tried a technique from the Food Network of tossing the warm, diced potatoes with about 1/4 c. pickle juice and the other ingredients except the mayo. After chilling, they soaked up the liquid, I only needed a cup of mayo. Fantastic flavor, creamy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Classic potato salad.... As my family ( my sister, parents and my fiance) and I ate through the bowl of potato salad with our BBQ'ed chicken and hamburgers, we all smiled. I swear there was a moment when we felt that we were young again back at my parents old house laughing the summer evening away. I love the way a good meal can do that to a person! ***DEEP SIGH***
      The potato salad was great. I thank you very much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      This was very good - all eaten up! I added 1/3 cup of sweet pickle relish because of personal like, otherwise followed recipe exactly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Hi MizzNezz! I knew I couldn't go wrong with a recipe of yours! I made this for my FIL's 91st B-Day...it was a big hit. Sometimes the simplest ingredients are the way to go and this is an excellent example. Thank you for my go-to recipe for potato salad! M&Mers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      For as far back as I can remember, I have always loved potato salad.
      I am pretty picky when it comes to potato salad and have tasted other versions of my memory's favorite and have been sadly disappointed.

      This recipe ROCKS! It is clearly the best potato salad I have tasted.
      I did add 1/3 cup of Sweet Dill Relish - which for me has always been a key ingredient.
      It tasted exactly like I have always remembered a potato salad should taste.

      I will be making this recipe often!
      Thank you for posting this wonderful anytime food!

      Roger Baran

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Miss Nezz does it again! This is exactly as it says - a classic! I usually add sweet relish, just because I like pickles in potato salad, but I followed the recipe exactly and everyone thinks it is fantastic. I think it would also be great with a pickle relish, but it already has a little crunch, so that works for me. All the reviews and all the pictures can't even show the 'exactly perfect' blend of flavors. You are one of my favorite Chefs on Zaar and now food.com. If I need a really, really good recipe, I just go to what Mizz Nezz does, she has never steered me wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      My family loved this. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      This recipe is fantastic!!!! I made this over the weekend and it hit the spot with the hot weather we have been having. I am one of those that prefers their potato salad cold. I added tons of celery and onion and it had that perfect crunch. The texture was smooth and creamy and I'm thrilled I finally have a recipe that I can stick with. I made this with some BBQ baked chicken, beans and a salad. Far better than going out to eat. I'd have to say I was rather proud of myself pulling off such a fantastic meal. I will definitely make this again and again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      A great potato salad recipe that will also work when you want to add other ingredients.

      This is my first time making potato salad. Bummed because I overcooked my potatoes. I could tell when I started dicing them because they were falling a apart a little. I let the potatoes cool before dicing them. I also didn't know what a "medium" potato was. My potatoes were a little smaller than a baseball. I used the red potatos that I had in the house already. I mixed all the ingredients in a separate mixing bowl. I added just a little dill, diced scallions with the red onions, dijon mustard instead of yellow. Smoked paprika instead of plain. 1/2 cup of buttemilk and 1 cup of mayonaise. (personal preference). I only had 2 hard boiled eggs....I would definitely add more the next time. I really liked the taste but unhappy because it was mushy because of the overcooked potatoes. I would definitely use this as a "staple" recipe and would make again. IMPORTANT: Definitely ADD SALT when boiling the potatoes. The potato itself will have more flavor. Leave a few slices of the eggs to decorate the top. TASTES SO MUCH BETTER THE NEXT DAY....try making it a day before your event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      MissNezz -- Thank you for sharing this potato salad recipe with us. It's exactly the way I like it. I did add 1/2 c. sour cream to the mayo mixture (and I combined the mayo, sour cream, vinegar, sugar, mustard, garlic powder, salt and pepper all together). Then I stirred it into the potatoes, eggs, celery and onion which I had combined in a large bowl. So, so yummy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Much better on day 2. Also tastes pretty good with light mayo! I added 2T mustard since I really like the flavor the mustard brings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      I have made potato salad before. I've had other's potato salad before. I get it. So I thought. But I decided to try this recipe based on the reviews, and lack of relish in the recipe. I don't know whether it was the cooling of the potatoes before adding the dressing, or the bit of garlic, but this turned out far superior to any potato salad I have had. I, the apathetic potato salad eater, not only went back for seconds, but licked the serving spoon while putting it away. It's creamy and flavorful. So good. Definitely my go-to recipe now! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Absolutely love this recipe. Everyone THINKS I can cook o_O - I love it!

      I first made it for a meal for my husband and it was delicious. Then I had the family come over and they loved it just as well. Recently went to Texas to see some friends for Christmas and they totally loved it as well. All I have to say it that it has not fail me yet. I am still working on the mixture portions but regardless of that it is the best I've tasted specially if it is made with red potatoes. Cold is the best way to have it btw.

      Five Stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Yum! This had just the right mix of sweet and tangy. The dressing was creamy and smooth with a nice crunch from the celery and onion. I normally don't like raw onion but it's not at all overpowering. I was in a little bit of a hurry so I omitted the boiled eggs, but next time I will definitely add them. I used yukon gold potatoes, which I cooked in salted water, whole, for about 20 minutes. It might have been a tad too long because one or two of them crumbled when I peeled and cubed them. I mixed them in the dressing when they were warm (gently, as to not crumble the intact cubes!)
      Delicious. I have found my go to potato salad recipe for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      ITS great i only suggest adding relish personally i dice up some red and green bell peppers and you can add olives if u like i dont tho lol and add like 1tablespoon and a half of mustard gives it more kick but other than that you cant go wrong its great i add red bell peppers because theey are sweet and crunchy and the green bell peppers even out the flavor !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      This is an excellent classic potato salad. This had great texture and flavor. Made this yesterday and is all but gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      This was excellent! It had a lot of flavor and honestly was one of the best potato salads I've ever made. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (328 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.7
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    40%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 128.0 mg
    42%
    Sodium 686.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites