225 Reviews

When I read this recipe, it didn't sound all that different than any other, but based on a 5 star rating by someone else, I tried it and my company did all but lick the bowl clean when I served it! Be careful with the salt. BE SURE to salt the water when you cook the potatoes! (I notice a lot of recipes don't mention that anymore. A young cook doesn't know to do this). I doubled the amount of salad dressing because (I used more like 10 or 11 potatoes)--but the eggs and it wasn't dry the next day when I served it. GREAT potato salad!

43 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psych751 April 01, 2002

I searched for a potato salad recipe for a little BBQ we were having last weekend. I was a little inundated with all the recipes available, but I'm sure glad I went with this one.I made the salad the day before and just added a little more mayo right before serving. We got lots of comments on it. Thanks for the great recipe!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** September 02, 2002

Made this for a little Memorial Day Bar-B-Que, after agonizing over all of the available potato salad recipes on Zaar, but am sure glad that I picked this one. It was great, no not great, amazing!!! It's a keeper, thank you for sharing.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah K. June 03, 2002

Great recipe! I tried a technique from the Food Network of tossing the warm, diced potatoes with about 1/4 c. pickle juice and the other ingredients except the mayo. After chilling, they soaked up the liquid, I only needed a cup of mayo. Fantastic flavor, creamy and delicious!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TommyGato August 12, 2010

Classic potato salad.... As my family ( my sister, parents and my fiance) and I ate through the bowl of potato salad with our BBQ'ed chicken and hamburgers, we all smiled. I swear there was a moment when we felt that we were young again back at my parents old house laughing the summer evening away. I love the way a good meal can do that to a person! ***DEEP SIGH***
The potato salad was great. I thank you very much for the recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ryli April 06, 2011

This was very good - all eaten up! I added 1/3 cup of sweet pickle relish because of personal like, otherwise followed recipe exactly!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy September 21, 2010

Hi MizzNezz! I knew I couldn't go wrong with a recipe of yours! I made this for my FIL's 91st B-Day...it was a big hit. Sometimes the simplest ingredients are the way to go and this is an excellent example. Thank you for my go-to recipe for potato salad! M&Mers

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M&Mers June 18, 2010

For as far back as I can remember, I have always loved potato salad.
I am pretty picky when it comes to potato salad and have tasted other versions of my memory's favorite and have been sadly disappointed.

This recipe ROCKS! It is clearly the best potato salad I have tasted.
I did add 1/3 cup of Sweet Dill Relish - which for me has always been a key ingredient.
It tasted exactly like I have always remembered a potato salad should taste.

I will be making this recipe often!
Thank you for posting this wonderful anytime food!

Roger Baran

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RogerBaran April 12, 2011

Miss Nezz does it again! This is exactly as it says - a classic! I usually add sweet relish, just because I like pickles in potato salad, but I followed the recipe exactly and everyone thinks it is fantastic. I think it would also be great with a pickle relish, but it already has a little crunch, so that works for me. All the reviews and all the pictures can't even show the 'exactly perfect' blend of flavors. You are one of my favorite Chefs on Zaar and now food.com. If I need a really, really good recipe, I just go to what Mizz Nezz does, she has never steered me wrong.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita February 12, 2011

My family loved this. Thanks

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane Brooks May 02, 2002
Classic Potato Salad