Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Potato Gratin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Potato Gratin

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2002

      This is an excellent crowd pleasing dish! So yummy, it was hard to stop going back for thirds (and fourths)! This recipe served 6 of us as part of a BBQ meal. I crushed the garlic in a press before adding it to the cream and used a little extra salt in mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      I found this recipe on Fine Cooking and had to make for Easter. So glad I did, it was fabulous. I used a mandolin to slice the potatoes and make it a bit easier. I baked it a couple of hours before the meal and then reheated it prior to dinner. Worked out perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      We love these potatoes, but they are an indulgence. Have been making them for years and experimented with different seasonings, e.g. fresh dill and also lots of garlic. They are always a success and no empty plates. Of course guests groan about the calories but keep on eating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

    • on November 04, 2008

      This was a huge success at my dinner party for friends at work! Everyone went back for seconds and the dish was empty in a New York minute! I used Gruyere cheese in mine and it was an excellent choice. I will use this recipe again for Thanksgiving with the family for a change of pace, that I am sure they will enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Very good - very rich! I used 2 cups fat-free half & half, and added 1 tablespoon flour, just to help thicken. Great for when you want to indulge, but not something I'd fix regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      I loved this recipe, simple and I used lite cream and it was still so indulgent. Just fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      Fantastic gratin potatoes. I made them just as written, using half heavy cream and half light cream. It really does thicken up nicely as it cools a bit. Everyone loved these potatoes. This is a keeper; I'll make this again, thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2003

      This is very very good! And makes THE perfect "gratin dauphinois" as you would have it in France. Very important to cut the potatoes real thin, so if you have a mandoline, give it a workout! (and watch those fingers!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Potato Gratin

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 599.6
     
    Calories from Fat 437
    72%
    Total Fat 48.5 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 30.0 g
    150%
    Cholesterol 177.8 mg
    59%
    Sodium 484.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites