Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Pie Crust, Idiot Proof Step-By-Step Photo Tutorial Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Pie Crust, Idiot Proof Step-By-Step Photo Tutorial

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2002

      This is indeed a classic pie crust! Very flaky and it has a great buttery taste. Easy to follow recipe. I made 2 crusts and froze one since I was making a cream pie. I will use this recipe again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      For those of you making this recipe without a scale i did some research due to the fact that on two of the posts there is a debate regarding converting from ounces to cups.. This is the website i used http://www.gourmetsleuth.com/cooking . For the record. 11 1/4 ounces of white unbleached all purpose flour = 2.55 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2002

      Excellent! Everything about this recipe works very well- the preparation was a breeze, the measurements accurate, and the taste and texture was great. The dough was very easy to work with and cooked up very flaky. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2002

      This had to be the flakiest pie crust I've ever made. Easy to prepare in the food processor with perfect results. I loved the lemon in crust! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      I'm new to the world of pastry, but this recipe was an easy to follow introduction to it. The crust was beautiful and flaky, and sooo easy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2003

      I love you Mean Chef!! I have never been able to make a good pie crust before....it was always tough. I've made two great pies now using your crust recipe. I used a kitchen scale to get exactly the 11 1/4 ozs of flour, the only thing I didn't do in the recipe is add the lemon juice because I didn't have any, but will do that next time. The dough was so easy to work with--never tore, and was so nice and tender and flaky. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      Excellent pie crust! I had to make it using my hand mixer, but it worked just fine. I used this crust for apple pie. It was tender, flakey & delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      I was perfectly happy with my old pie crust recipe, but now I like this one better! It was simple to make (I did it by hand) and easy to work with. Very flavorful and flaky. Thank you, MC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2003

      Great Crust !!! It's amazing what a little lemon juice can do! I've been trying a lot of different, but always "almost" the same recipes, trying to find the perfect pie dough, and I think this is it. Thanks, Mean Chef. The only thing I did differently was to do it by hand, since I was feeling too lazy to clean up the processor afterward. I ran the cold butter and shortening through a coarse grater into the flour, rather than chopping it up, and then incorporated everything using a pastry blender. I've used this recpe now for a chicken pot pie and and apple pie, and it was great for both.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2003

      Outstanding. This recipe should be called "Perfect Pie Crust". I've never had a crust roll out so easily. I loved making it in the food processor, and the butter and shortening combination is perfect -flaky and flavorful. The addition of lemon is unusual - I really liked it. I made a one-crust pie and froze the other half of the dough - can't wait to make another pie. I'll be using this recipe over and over - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      I am a first timer in making pie. This pie crust is so easy to make. It is flaky and the taste is fabulous. I use this in an Aussie Pie recipe I found in Recipezaar for a Company Pot-Luck event and won the best food of the day award. Many colleagues came to me with their thumb up. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      Made this for your Strawberry Rhubarb Pie #60390 and the crust tastes super. I'm pie crust inept, so even though the mixing process was simple, I had a heck of a time getting it into the pie pan. But hopefully I can get some pointers on how to overcome my problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I made this crust with Lemon Pudding Pie It's a nice, flaky, and dense crust. I halved the recipe as a bottom crust was all that was needed. I used your technique of egg yolking the crust and baked it for 15 min in a 220F oven. Then made the pie and finished baking. The crust and the pie came out wonderfully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      There isn't much that hasn't already been said. It's a terrific and simple recipe. The best pie crust I've ever made. Thanks Mean Chef.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2003

      Troy made 4 pies this Thanksgiving all using this crust. It worked exceptionally well. I have always done a half butter and half shortening crust in the past, but I must admit this was a better crust, so Mean has the ratios right here. Should mention, we didn't realize this made a double crust, and we doubled the recipe, so instead of just 2 pies we had 4! Troy was happy to keep baking though, so our bonus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      I'm never buying a pre-made again!! My pie (Cranberry) turned out perfect and the class with pictures was great. I learned so many new tricks and it was easy to mix up in the food processor. Using parchment paper to roll it out was so.....cool. My family noticed the great crust right away and loved it. I never covered the edge and it was perfectly browned after cooking for 1 hour!!!! If you can't tell, I'm very excited and impressed with this recipe. Try it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      Excellent recipe and very easy to do! I have never had much success with pie crust, and tend to (shhh!) buy mine pre-made. This was easy enough to warrant not buying them anymore! Thanks to your class and your detailed instructions I have overcome yet another baking fear of mine. ;) I did have a bit of shrinkage in the oven, but I'm betting that that was operator error. hehe Thanks Mean! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      As expected, a complete success thanks to Mean Chef's instructions. Really terrific. I did use my food processor, which made it even easier. Quite tender and flaky!! Made blueberry pie with this. Thanks Mean Chef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This is IT! Finally, the perfect marriage of butter and shortening in a pie crust. I do believe I will abandon my all-butter pie crust for this one, as this has that great butter taste but also has terrific flakiness. The directions are simple, the recipe is easy and fast to prepare-- with wonderful results. I'm not sure my el-cheapo kitchen scale is all that accurate, but no matter-- my two pie crusts were, well, perfect. I used them both to make a double-crust apple pie that is likely the best pie I've ever made. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      Butter? Shortening? Butter? Shortening? This is the perfect solution to the debate. Now, why didn't I think of that? Handles beautifully and the taste! I don't think the taste can be beaten.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Pie Crust, Idiot Proof Step-By-Step Photo Tutorial

    Serving Size: 1 (601 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2487.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1318
    52%
    Total Fat 146.4 g
    225%
    Saturated Fat 73.5 g
    367%
    Cholesterol 244.0 mg
    81%
    Sodium 1184.5 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 258.6 g
    86%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    55%
    Protein 34.2 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes