Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Pecan Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Pecan Pie

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2002

      My mother, and now me, have been making this pie for years and it is the best pecan pie I have ever had. I make it for Thanksgiving and Christmas and all my guests and family love it. It is great with a dollop of whipped cream on top and a nice hot cup of coffee. A great end to a holiday meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2002

      The first pie I every baked was using this recipe. My wife can't stop talking about how good it was. Now everybody wants to know my secret but I will never tell them my "Homemade Pecan Pie" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Love this recipe! So simple yet so delish! Pecan Pie is my fav and this one is right on the money! I sometimes bake just a few mins longer for a more sturdier filling. You cannot go wrong with this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      I grew up enjoying classic pecan pies. This recipe, made with fresh pecans from my backyard, was better than I remember. I will definitely make this pie for my friends and family. Wow was it good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This is the pecan pie recipe I've always used and that has never failed me. Ooozy sweet and the directions couldn't be easier. Serve with vanilla ice cream; or today we had it with real whipped cream. Thank you. cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I love pecan and this is definitely a classic! I only had a 10-inch pan available since I made it for Thanksgiving and was baking several pies. I increased the recipe by half which meant it took longer for the filling to set. I highly recommend covering the crust with foil if you try increasing it also, as it got a little too done. An excellent addition to our Thanksgiving feast. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      True, Southern pecan pie. I'm sure my Mom got her recipe off the Karo label, because this is EXACTLY the way her pie tastes. I do toast the pecans before adding, to give it just that much more oomph. My Yankee Mother-In-Law said it had too many pecans, and yankee DH said it was too sweet. That tells me this is a perfect recipe! LOL. Thanks for posting a true Southern delight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This is the way I was taught to make pecan pie as well. I agree this is the perfect recipe - no altering this recipe for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      This is a tried and true recipe that I have made many times. A good recipe for the novice pie maker, too. Enjoy, everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      I've made this exact recipe that the Karo label uses for the past 25 or so years and I (and everyone who has eaten it) love it!! Only because that's the way my 'Gram' showed it to me 'pre' Karo syrup recipe. I'm definitely not knocking trying different spins on this recipe but I'm thinking, does something this simple and tasty really need to be tweeked? I'm certainly not getting any complaints in my house and I'm a Southerner, at least 4 generations back from Tennessee (born in Miami and living in Connecticut, go figure). I have to wonder if the Karo recipe came from a good 'ol gal from the South. My family has run the gammit on good Southern pies. Thanks for putting forth something that really doesn't need improvement!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      First time I've ever made pecan pie. I think I baked it a little too long, but it was still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      This was my first pecan pie and it was a HIT!! DH is quite picky about this pecan pie and this one pleased him....pleasing me! I will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      This was the first pecan pie I ever made, and it's very simple. I took it to Thanksgiving dinner, and my family (most of whom are cooks) absolutely loved it! I'll definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      This is the way I have been making pecan pie for the last many years. It is so easy and foolproof. I have tried many others and always come back to the basics. The one thing I would suggest is to make sure that the 9" pie crust is a deep dish otherwise you will have to much filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      One more review won't hurt! This pie really is a classic. And, the ingredients are simple with straightforward directions. This pie is a staple at our house on Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      Well me and my sister have been looking for MANY different types of interesting pies to make. And believe me are pies out there that you wont ever believe the ingredients were needed. But then since the holidays are comming up weve been looking for holiday pies. Especailly Pecan Pies. Weve came across some terrific ones and then there were some horrible ones, but this one...it was different. It actually had me going to the store, buying more ingredients to make another that same day, because we ate it all in that 2hr period.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      Adding the vanilla to this recipe sure was the trick. It punched it up in taste. Bought a 4 pack of pie crusts (8 total crusts) at a food warehouse store. Now, I will be baking pies until Christmas. LOL Easy to follow recipe and turns out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      I was just getting my recipes for Thanksgiving together when I came upon this one,I decided to put it on recipezaar,but I looked first to see it was already on.And you are so right,this IS very very good, And the best pie ever. I make it for Thanksgiving & Christmas EVERY year Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      Great pie and easy to make. I doubled the vanilla and added 1/4 cup of Jack Daniels - voila! - Kentucky Bourbon Pecan Pie. Warm out of the oven and ala mode - people were licking their plates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Pecan Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 467.2
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    45%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 86.9 mg
    28%
    Sodium 115.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 36.2 g
    144%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites