19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My mother, and now me, have been making this pie for years and it is the best pecan pie I have ever had. I make it for Thanksgiving and Christmas and all my guests and family love it. It is great with a dollop of whipped cream on top and a nice hot cup of coffee. A great end to a holiday meal.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nell Majeran March 06, 2002

The first pie I every baked was using this recipe. My wife can't stop talking about how good it was. Now everybody wants to know my secret but I will never tell them my "Homemade Pecan Pie" recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael Mitchell March 06, 2002

Love this recipe! So simple yet so delish! Pecan Pie is my fav and this one is right on the money! I sometimes bake just a few mins longer for a more sturdier filling. You cannot go wrong with this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raeassia November 09, 2009

I grew up enjoying classic pecan pies. This recipe, made with fresh pecans from my backyard, was better than I remember. I will definitely make this pie for my friends and family. Wow was it good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tabitha S. December 01, 2013

This is the pecan pie recipe I've always used and that has never failed me. Ooozy sweet and the directions couldn't be easier. Serve with vanilla ice cream; or today we had it with real whipped cream. Thank you. cg

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRL January 01, 2009

I love pecan and this is definitely a classic! I only had a 10-inch pan available since I made it for Thanksgiving and was baking several pies. I increased the recipe by half which meant it took longer for the filling to set. I highly recommend covering the crust with foil if you try increasing it also, as it got a little too done. An excellent addition to our Thanksgiving feast. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) December 03, 2007

True, Southern pecan pie. I'm sure my Mom got her recipe off the Karo label, because this is EXACTLY the way her pie tastes. I do toast the pecans before adding, to give it just that much more oomph. My Yankee Mother-In-Law said it had too many pecans, and yankee DH said it was too sweet. That tells me this is a perfect recipe! LOL. Thanks for posting a true Southern delight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom November 24, 2007

This is the way I was taught to make pecan pie as well. I agree this is the perfect recipe - no altering this recipe for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ November 12, 2007

This is a tried and true recipe that I have made many times. A good recipe for the novice pie maker, too. Enjoy, everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully November 22, 2006

I've made this exact recipe that the Karo label uses for the past 25 or so years and I (and everyone who has eaten it) love it!! Only because that's the way my 'Gram' showed it to me 'pre' Karo syrup recipe. I'm definitely not knocking trying different spins on this recipe but I'm thinking, does something this simple and tasty really need to be tweeked? I'm certainly not getting any complaints in my house and I'm a Southerner, at least 4 generations back from Tennessee (born in Miami and living in Connecticut, go figure). I have to wonder if the Karo recipe came from a good 'ol gal from the South. My family has run the gammit on good Southern pies. Thanks for putting forth something that really doesn't need improvement!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty-cake November 21, 2006
Classic Pecan Pie