Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Macaroni Salad

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2010

      Made this last night for a gathering my mom is attending today. She tasted it just a bit ago and said it was amazingly good, as she usually doesn't like pasta salads. I did have to add an extra cup of mayo (used the whole fat stuff last night and the extra cup is fat free) to get the creaminess back to it, but it worked out just fine.

      Thanks!

      Update: Ahhh, I just found this recipe again after a LONG time. I lost my printout and for some reason, I didn't put it in my keeper cookbook on here. I made this for the church Sunday school kick off tomorrow. I put in some halved cherry tomatoes for color. Used tricolor rotini and yellow mustard. I gave mom a small bowl of it and she came back in or seconds. :D Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      I made this for a small BBQ at my house. Everyone raved about it! It wasn't sweet, even though there's sugar in it. I hate sweet salads! The vinegar and lemon add the right balance of freshness and makes it less heavy. I will be making this again, and again! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      This pasta salad was incredible! Let's face it...most macaroni salads go unnoticed. NOT THIS ONE! I times it by 4 for a big BBQ event and everyone loved it. I used red wine vinegar, half of the lemon juice, and red chopped red onion and dijon mustard. It is true...use the Barilla elbow mac...it does have ridges! Make the dressing as early as you can to let the salt, sugar, and pepper meld. I added the onion, celery and peppers to the mix. This is a winner! Enjoy it this summer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2003

      Delicious! Nice and tangy. I love the lemon juice and onion, it really perks it up. I finely chopped my celery and red bell pepper and minced my onion for a more deli-like texture. Delicious! Easy to double, too. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      This is a great macaroni salad. I loved it and will definitely be making it again this way. The only thing I changed was the mayo (I used Hellman's,) and it was delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      A really good macaroni salad recipe. I made half of the recipe. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      delicious and fresh. so much better than the stuff you buy at the deli counter. Rekindled my taste for macaroni salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      I've been making mac. salad for years. I was VERY leery of adding the sugar, but always willing to try new/different things, it actually turned out good! It had to be the combination of the lemon; Dijon and vinegar because I was very surprised! (I cannot stand sweet salads!). As far as variations go, I added 4 hard-boiled eggs, diced carrots and radishes along with the onions and celery. I also used Hellman's mayonnaise. I was happy to mix up my old macaroni salad with a new twist! Thanks Joan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Loved this....made a few adjustments. Left out sugar and put in 1 extra cup of mayonaise as we like a more less tangy/non-sweet salad. Was very good. Plan to take it to my next carry-in function

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      I could give this 6 out of 5 stars if I could! I have eaten my moms potato salad for years..THIS ONE is better than hers! Everyone pics at it warm while I'm still mixing it! Awesome warm or cold! I have been asked to make this for every summer and fall function we go to!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      This is such a great basic salad recipe. It is good as is, but you could change it up so many ways. DH said it would be good with tuna and peas in it, DD suggested cheddar cheese and bacon bits, possibilities are endless. Thank you so much for this versatile recipe we will use forever. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Kinda boring...not much flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

    • on July 03, 2010

      Great salad! Like another reviewer, i used red wine vinegar and dijon mustard. I also added some chopped green olives and a combo of red and green peppers. Nice and tart dressing…i used Hellman's mayo, of course! Thanks for a keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Perfect! I avoid any macaroni salad that does not include green pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I added 4 chopped eggs and used 1/2 mayo, 1/2 miracle whip. Also, I didn't have red or green pepper so I used just celery, green onion, and chopped carrots. Great standard recipe that can easily be changed. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Delicious!! I doubled the recipe and added some ham and old cheddar cheese. I used a combination of Miracle Whip and Mayo, "hot" prepared mustard, tri-coloured pasta, both green and red pepper and green onions. This is a keeper. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Very good salad. I made this to go with Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen). Very good meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Good macaroni salad. I usually leave out the green pepper--just a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Excellent recipe! Not too sweet and does not have a real vinegar taste. Made it exactly how it was written and added some small cubed cheddar cheese. Will definately make again! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Macaroni Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (820 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 381.7
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    39%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 621.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites