Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Green Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Green Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2008

      This is THE best green bean casserole recipe. Substitute 3/4 cup sour cream for 3/4 cup milk and everyone will be asking you to make the GB casserole for years to come ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      We never had green bean casserole growing up, so this was something totally new for me. When others told me about it.....my first reaction was eeeeew :( But, then we tried this recipe and......I like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Perfect. I doubled it and added 2 tsp of soy sauce (only used 1 cup of milk). Used cut green beans and next time will try french. Thanks for the Thanksgiving keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      What do you say about traditional green bean casserole? It was excellent. I don't like mine quite as runny so I just add a splash of milk. Otherwise, this was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      Good but seemed a bit.....bland.I added a bit of season salt and some minced garlic because I add it to everything but it still needed something.I also learned a long time ago that no matter what I do sometimes this dish bakes up too watery.Sometimes it doesnt though,it cooks up perfectly.So I decided to sprinkle in a tspn of cornstarch into the soup/milk mix to ensure it thickens.This amount seemed to work perfect for this amount of soup and g.beans.It was thick and creamy.Very easy and I had everything on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      I can't cook to save my life, but this couldn't be easier! I even used Almond Milk instead of regular milk and it didn't faze it at all, may have made it even better, who knows! All I know is it was delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      This was okay. I didn't add the milk, thankfully. It was eaten all up so I might make again. Doesn't taste like the frozen green bean casserole from Green Giant,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      What can I say?? This is certainly a classic easy recipe, so it's hard to go wrong! It was fantastic. I love full flavor, though, so I always find it a lil' bland. I like to add onions, minced garlic, and extra pepper. I didn't have any fried onions on hand, so I substituted about a cup of crushed cornflakes for the top. Turned out okay, but I think I would maybe crumble some butter in the cornflakes next time so they stick better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Gotta love the classics. This is the only thing I've seen so far that EVERYONE in the family will eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Just like mom used to make. I made this for my family yesterday in our early Thankgiving meal for my son whos home from the service. We loved it, but then I already knew wo would. thank you for sharing the "classic" green bean recipe with us. We loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      For the last several years I have attempted to make a traditional green bean casserole without using cans of soup in hopes to make the dish more "gourmet." My husband was never really satisfied with the outcome and said it was missing something. So this year I made this one. Not only was this SUPER EASY but it also pleased my green bean casserole lovin' hubby. Thanks LexingtonMom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      The family gives this 4 stars....I would go 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      It has been years since I have had this dish. I made it today. I am not a fan of green beans on their own but with the soup and the fried onions I really enjoyed it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Very simple and tasty recipe! I used fresh green beans and added a few extra spices and peppers to taste. I didn't use a lot of cheese but next time I will add 1/2-1 cup of sharp cheddar cheese. The french-fried onions definitely added the extra touch to the casserole. I served this a side dish for the Mmm-ham (Mmm-Ham), in addition to Sweet Potato Mash (Sweet Potato Mash), and Spinach Apple Pecan Salad (Spinach, Apple and Pecan Salad). Very Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      this is always a great side dish that everyone enjoys. My 14 year old son, Jordan, said it is his favorite casserole out of all the casseroles in the world, so you got his approval too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Great family get-together staple! I've tried other doctored-up versions, but the original is always the best! Never mess with a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This is a five star recipe ONLY if you use the regular cream of mushroom soup (the fat free is very bland tasting to me) and if you put in 2 small squirts of soy sauce. The soy sauce makes all of the difference to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This was the first time I made this and it was a big hit. DH raved about it ! I used cut green beans and followed your recipe exactly. It is going in the faves book. Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Yummy - we love green bean casserole. This was really easy and quick! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Wonderful!!! Love this recipe every year!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Green Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.1
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    38%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 372.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French-fried onions

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites