Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Fish and Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Fish and Chips

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2011

      We really enjoyed this. I did dip the fish in flour before dipping in batter. I only made the fish portion of this recipe with "Hush Puppies Justin Wilson Style". I did add some garlic powder, chili powder and freshly ground black pepper to the batter. I will be using this recipe again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2014

      This recipe is so easy to make and sooooo good.<br/>Sometimes I add Indian spices to the flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      This was wonderful! I think we under cooked the first batch, but every batch after that was fab! The batter was thick crispy and perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      i usually make a beer batter for my fish, but i didnt have any beer on hand so i decided to try this recipe. i was a little skeptical but i was so pleased at the out come of this. it produced a perfect, crisp, but oh so light crust. absoloutly perfect! everyone raved about it. this is now the only batter i will use when making fish and chips. i used it with flounder by the way, and i did dredge the fish in flour before dipping in the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      Loved it , it was wonderfully light

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      Terrific! This batter was light and crispy, just the way we love it. I made the mistake on the first batch of frying the fish in the basket of a deep fat fryer (I know you said not to.) Although the fish was good, the batter stuck to the basket so it looked like scrambled fish by the time I pried it loose, lol. My grandson thought that it was much better than Ivar's - which is a huge complement around here. Thanks Patrish for a great meal. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      Great recipe and so easy to make! I followed another poster's suggestion about dusting the fish with flour before dipping in the batter and it worked great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      We liked the lightness of this batter, but no matter how well I dried the fish pieces, it would just slide off. I'll use the batter again, but might dust the fish with corn starch. I used the traditional double fry for the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      My family loves this fish recipe! Like others have said, it's a must to dry, dry, dry the fish before dipping in the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Excelent. Made as written. Wife loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      This was a basic fish & chips recipe, but a good one. I only did the fish part of the recipe & it turned out great. This will become my standard recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Loved the batter!The vinegar/bicarbonate soda really makes a huge difference,great substitute for adding beer/lager as most recipes suggested.I however added some paprika to the flour/salt mixture to season it better besides black pepper.Definitely a keeper.Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

    • on March 25, 2009

      Very good Recipe! I'm not really a big fish person so I'm not the best reviewer here but my friend who i made it for loved it. I used Tilapia as that is what the store had. The Batter had a good light taste. Make sure you follow the directions! I did not mix the ingreediants in proper order, so I redid it and there really was a big difference in batter texture. (off course most people probably actually read the recipe better than me lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      OMG this was such a good recipe. i even impressed the hubby. he came in and saw the fish and got out pickles and onion slices. so we had fried pickles and onion rings. SOOOOOO GOOOOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      THIS is the recipe I've been looking for! I've never done a fish fry before but the BF was BEGGING me to make the attempt...After searching a bajillion batter-type recipes I finally found THIS one that mercifully relies on a more BASIC set of ingredients instead of beer (yu-uck)...Once I got the hang of the actual frying technique LOL it was SUPERB...The only thing I can add is that you MUST be sure to pat your fish VERY dry...If you don't, the batter will literally SLIDE off your fish the moment the oil vigorously bubbles LOL...But once you've gotten the hang of that part, you are going to be eating the yummiest fried fish you've EVER had! NO tartar sauce necessary! YUM! Thank you for sharing this recipe! It's the bomb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This is a very nice fish batter. Very crispy and light. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Great fish frying recipe. The batter was light and crunchy with just a little more seasoning of the fish prior to battering up, it was simply delightful. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      i really hate to put a damper on things here but this recipe was tasteless for lack of a better word. i fried up a test piece of fish before frying up the whole batch and i'm glad i did. the fish looked just gorgeous, btu i ended up putting in lots more salt, garlic powder, pepper, and cayenne and it still needed something more. i blew my diet for this one and i wish i hadn't, definitely wasn't worth it, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      This batter was great.Very crisp and stayed crisp.I have always used a beer batter in the past but didn't have any on hand.This will be my house recipe from now on.Thank-you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Fish and Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (391 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.4
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    13%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 48.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 523.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 26.6 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes