Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2009

      THE BEST frosting I've ever made! I whipped it in my stand mixer and it turned out so creamy and smooth...I could barely get it on the cake my family wanted to eat it right from the bowl. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      This recipe only needs about 3/4 of the amount of confectioners' sugar that it calls for. I had to do a lot of doctoring to make this recipe work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Easy and delicious!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      simply awesome...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I followed the recipe and it came out perfect. This is now my frosting recipe that I will be using for now on. I use a Kitchen Aid mixer and this was very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Great frosting. Made it for my first cake decorating class and the consistency was very good, maybe a little too runny to do things like flowers though. My frosting definitely tasted the best in the class, however I did think that maybe it was still a little too sweet. Thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This not only tasted fantastic, it was so easy to make. The only problem that I had with it was that when doing the piping I got 'hothands' so the icing started to melt and I had to let it chill again. Other then that...perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Wonderful! I loved this. It was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I don't like giving a bad review, but this wasn't a good icing. It ran off of the cake! I followed the instructions exactly, except I didn't put as much milk in it, and it still was too runny. This was supposed to be for my son's birthday cake, and I am disappointed in it. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      This frosting was entirely too sweet for me and the people who attended the party I took it to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This is the best frosting in the world! Seriously, my boyfriend is really picky about frosting and he said that this is the best he's ever had. He requests that I make this frosting for every cake that I make. I haven't made the chocolate variation yet but I have made the white at least 5 times. He can't get enough of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      This is the best buttercream frosting I've had so far and the easiest recipe. I used this recipe to help my friend decorate cupcakes for her son's 3rd birthday party. The frosting was so smoothe and creamy! We made both white and chocolate, and they both were a big hit. I will say, though, that we dipped our fingers into the chocolate a lot more than the white! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

    • on April 17, 2006

      My review had a big mistake, thankfully someone brought this to my attention. I should have said pounds of powdered sugar not cups forgive me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      This was a great buttercream. My usual recipe is 1 lb. butter and 6 cups powdered sugar, vanilla extract and a raw egg white in a food processor. Now that we're contending with Avian Bird Flu here in the Balkans, I was pleased as can be to find this nice recipe. It is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Nice and fast to make. Not the best buttercream I have ever had (that goes to my pastry chef cousin) but a fast and easy frosting to make when you need it now! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      Loved this and just reprinted to put on my inner cabinet door as it's only one I will use now........thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2004

    • on February 13, 2004

      Had a boxed cake mis in the house nothing to frost it with found this.. It is really good. I am not sure how much powdered sugar I added as I just dumped until it was to the point I wanted it. I know I did not add the full bag. I am thinking about 1.5 pound. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      Wonderful frosting, a most definite keeper. Thank you, Christine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 662.3
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    32%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 47.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 84.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 113.9 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 111.0 g
    444%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites