Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      This has got to be the best buttercream frosting recipe I have ever had or made! The only change I would make is that I found that 1 1/2 lb of powdered sugar was enough to satisfy my sweet tooth. Also, I think that 2 lb would have made my frosting too thick, but it just depends on personal preference. Either way, it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      This is very good and also pipes well. I used this on a First Holy Communion cake and I had enough to frost a half sheet cake plus color the remaining with food coloring and pipe around the outside and write with. I also only had to use 1 1/2 lbs. of sugar to get the right consistency. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      extremely rich, but extremely yummy. I decorated my first cake with this frosting. Will definetly be using this recipe and no longer buying the frosting from the stores!!! Thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2002

      used this for my sons birthday cake. I got many complements. this frosting is truly buttery and very creamy! its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      Well, I've been looking for the perfect buttercream icing recipe and I must say that... I'll continue looking. This wasn't the best, but it was okay. I had trouble with the getting the consistency just the way I wanted it. I only put 1 pound and 1/2 of the powdered sugar in it as suggested and it was way too runny so I kept adding more until I added 2 pounds (the amount in the recipe) and then it just tasted like powdered sugar, not like "butter cream". Thanks for a good recipe, but it doesn't really suit my tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      I found that a mere pound and a half of powdered sugar was still too much. I only used that much, because I was suspicious of the recipe calling for 2 pounds; I was right. Also, I was not happy with the consistency. I added 3 eggs to mine and used heavy cream instead of milk, and the frosting came out too thin and sweet for my liking. I will keep looking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Sorry, we didn't like this frosting. It was the wrong consistency for detail decorating - too dry. Also, both my husband and I did not like the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      I used 1 1/2lbs and it was still a little to sweet for me, so next time ill use 1 lb, but i really liked the consistincy of it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      I thought it was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      i like the frosting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      i thought it was yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      It tasted very good when I made it. It was fluffy and wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      it was good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      this was a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      I thought this frosting was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      I have made this at house and my family liked it but what i loved was the flavor and that you had to weight the sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      We used this recipe in my foods classes. I learned that you really do need to measure the sugar by weight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      This recipe is wonderful! I couldn't have asked for a better one. Don't expect to put it in the freezer or fridge to save it, however; it falls apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This was a pretty good frosting, I did not need all of the powdered sugar in mine only 1 1/2 pounds. I also find as with any buttercream, you need imitation butter flavor to really give it that good rich flavor you want and not just sugary fluff. Will use as a base recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Use only 3/4 of the powdered sugar, otherwise way too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 662.3
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    32%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 47.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 84.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 113.9 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 111.0 g
    444%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes