73 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are excellent! The reviews are true!! The only modification I made was instead of the raisins, I folded in a banana or two that I chopped into small pieces. Delicious! Thanks Kree, for posting this recipe:)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
birdinhand May 21, 2010

Very good! Used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white flour and kept the rest of the recipe as-is. Tastes wonderful! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~MollyM May 11, 2010

Great Muffin! I added an extra egg, used half whole wheat flour, and added 1/4 cup white sugar. PERFECT!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie Gal March 11, 2004

Perfect! I was looking for a good bran muffin recipe and this one appealed to me because it did not have cereal in it. I thought I had wheat bran in the house but I had oat bran and I used it with great success. Next time I will add more golden raisins after first soaking them. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tricia in ga January 26, 2004

Great recipe I used sour milk and each time (after maybe 12 times so far)came out perfect. Prefer these to the usual recipes calling for cereal which isn't available in my area.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom McKernan August 27, 2003

These were great! I made them as written, except for a little less cinnamon because my boyfriend doesn't like it. Next time, I will use applesauce instead of oil and reduce the sugar, because they were more than sweet enough for me. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
komcdonald March 23, 2011

Delicious healthy = A keeper in my house! Thanks for sharing. I look forward to trying with different types of dried fruits.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway December 21, 2010

This is a great bran muffin recipe! The flavor and texture are both wonderful. I had to do a few substitutions (oat bran, cranberries instead of raisins, vinegar-soured-milk instead of buttermilk) and they were still wonderful. The recipe seems very adaptable, and I plan on trying lots of variations! Thanks for posting this Kree.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoe February 28, 2004

Wonderful muffins! I too was looking for a recipe that did not use cereal, but the bran itself. I have often made them with frozen berries instead of raisins - they turn out very moist and tasty! These have been a great hit with my fiance. (I went travelling for three weeks recently and left three batches for him; he worked his way through them before I returned!)Thanks for a great, easy to make, healthy muffin recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serena-bean February 08, 2004

DELICIOUS! I changed it though, user lowfat soymik, whole wheat flour, egg beaters and replaced most of the oil with applesauce. Now I have a great low-fat bran muffin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Kochav November 10, 2003
Classic Bran Muffins