Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2010

      These are excellent! The reviews are true!! The only modification I made was instead of the raisins, I folded in a banana or two that I chopped into small pieces. Delicious! Thanks Kree, for posting this recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Very good! Used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white flour and kept the rest of the recipe as-is. Tastes wonderful! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      Great Muffin! I added an extra egg, used half whole wheat flour, and added 1/4 cup white sugar. PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      Perfect! I was looking for a good bran muffin recipe and this one appealed to me because it did not have cereal in it. I thought I had wheat bran in the house but I had oat bran and I used it with great success. Next time I will add more golden raisins after first soaking them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      Great recipe I used sour milk and each time (after maybe 12 times so far)came out perfect. Prefer these to the usual recipes calling for cereal which isn't available in my area.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      These were great! I made them as written, except for a little less cinnamon because my boyfriend doesn't like it. Next time, I will use applesauce instead of oil and reduce the sugar, because they were more than sweet enough for me. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      Delicious healthy = A keeper in my house! Thanks for sharing. I look forward to trying with different types of dried fruits.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      This is a great bran muffin recipe! The flavor and texture are both wonderful. I had to do a few substitutions (oat bran, cranberries instead of raisins, vinegar-soured-milk instead of buttermilk) and they were still wonderful. The recipe seems very adaptable, and I plan on trying lots of variations! Thanks for posting this Kree.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Wonderful muffins! I too was looking for a recipe that did not use cereal, but the bran itself. I have often made them with frozen berries instead of raisins - they turn out very moist and tasty! These have been a great hit with my fiance. (I went travelling for three weeks recently and left three batches for him; he worked his way through them before I returned!)Thanks for a great, easy to make, healthy muffin recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      DELICIOUS! I changed it though, user lowfat soymik, whole wheat flour, egg beaters and replaced most of the oil with applesauce. Now I have a great low-fat bran muffin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      oh, these are so good. I love to use buttermilk in my baking and was immediately drawn to this recipe because of it. That, and the fact that this recipe uses wheat bran produces, I think, a more tender crumb than the usual bran muffin made with cereal. A great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      Wonderful! I made this with eggbeaters and applesauce with no oil. They were very moist just out of the oven but they dried out quickly when I left them out. Next time I will put them in plastic in the fridge immediately after they cool. <br/>They are sweet and taste like they have honey in them! I might try to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup to reduce calories further.<br/>Also the yeild was 14 for me. ETA: made again (always tweakin'!) with what was in the fridge. For applesauce used some peaches canned in extra light syrup. Dumped it all in without draining (maybe 1-2 cups), used one egg and 2 Tbs oil. In place of raisins, blueberries and reduced the sugar to half cup. Yield was 17 muffins (I may have used a touch more flour and bran) and came in at 100 cals each. Next time I will drain the peaches because the batter was a little runny but the flavor of the muffin was good. Just a touch sweet so I think I will stick with half cup sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      Just the recipe I was looking for! Subbed mostly applesauce for oil, used bakers wheat bran, and used half plain yogurt and half milk for the buttermilk. I'm not always a raisin lover, but it goes great in these with the cinnamon. Nice soft texture and flavor. I might be making these every day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      Delicious! I added one tablespoon of ground flaxseed and one tablespoon of buttermilk, as well as one half of a banana. Will certainly make again, and plan to try some of the suggested healthier modifications, such as applesauce in place of vegetable oil. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      These are pretty good! This is definitely a great basic recipe that will be good for adapting... I'll be holding onto it. I used skim milk and lemon juice to make my "buttermilk," one mashed banana instead of the oil, and only 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also added 1 cup of frozen mixed berries. Because of the berries I had to bake the muffins for the full 20 minutes. p.s. This lowered the calories to 115 per muffin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      I made these by baking 12 and refrigerating the dough a few days. The first 12 were okay. The muffins made with the refrigerated dough which had sat a few days and blended flavors were much more moist and tender and had that richer brown bran muffin color. To the second batch I added 1/2 cup of diced canned peaches (my family does not like raisins), a splash more buttermilk and mixed it up again. Topped them with a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar before baking. The second batch with the "aged" dough was FANTASTIC... moist and tasty with the small chunks of peach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      I have made this recipe several times now and really enjoy it. I have used both wheat bran and wheat germ successfully. I also use 100% whole wheat flour. Sometimes I add blueberries instead of rasins. Love the versatility of this recipe! Thanks for a healthy treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      terrific! used dried chopped apricots instead of raisins and used cardamom instead of cinnamon. yum! Also didn't have buttermilk so I used 1c milk and 1Tbsp vinegar as a substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Hubby was on my butt to make Bran Muffins. These are the best. I subed All Bran cereal for the bran. Doubled everything except for soda, baking powder and salt. Next time I will try melted butter instead of the oil like Kimmi B. I made muffin tops using #12 scoop. Baked 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      I swapped all the white flour for whole wheat, and used melted butter rather than vegetable oil - I usually slather bran muffins with butter when I eat them so why not just bake it right in? :) They are moist and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (817 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.9
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    34%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 16.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 263.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 16.5 g
    66%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites