Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic BLT Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic BLT Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2009

      Made this for dinner using Chef #67103 's Barefoot Contessa's Oven Roasted Bacon and of course, this classic sandwich is DELICIOUS! Next time I think I'll try the suggestion of mustard on one slice of the bread! Stacky.... you will ge greatly missed!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This is my favorite way to make a BLT (on toast) and, in fact, is one of my favorite foods in all the world. If you add another slice of toast and sliced turkey meat it becomes the old favorite "Club Sandwich". I really dislike when either of these is served on rolls, as the delicate crispness of the toast really puts this sandwich over the top! I really am glad you posted the recipe on Zaar, because it would be a shame if say, 20 or 30 years from now, no one would know what a BLT is. Stranger things have happened than people forgetting what BLTs are. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      It does not get any better than a BLT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I used Barefoot Contessa's Oven Roasted Bacon recipe and it was totally easy to put this together with no mess!!! I definitely love that you listed Hellmann's mayonnaise as the mayo to use because if you're gonna do it with bacon, do it right and don't use nasty Miracle Whip or some other thing besides real mayonnaise!!! Thanks, Stacky!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Yep this was totally great. I made these as mini sandwiches for a gathering of ladies they all kept going back for more. I followed another reviewers advice and used yellow mustard on one slice. One other tip from me: After slicing the tomatoes, I laid the slices on a stack of paper towels, sprinkled just a little salt on top. Allowed them to sit for a few minutes while I worked on the other parts of the sandwich. Then right before assembly, piled a few other paper towels and a plate on top of the slices and inverted them. This reduced some of the wetness of the tomato and removed most of the bitter seeds. They were awesome. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Perfect recipe, only lacking one thing...a generous scrunch of BLACK PEPPER! (it is literally screaming out for this)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Love this sandwich. We eat them many times when the tomatoes are in season. So good. thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      I have been making this for years with a little mustard to it. 16 years ago when I got with my boyfriend, now husband, I made this for him. He said, "I am not eating that." After eating one, he now asks for it all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      BLT's always wonderful. Made for Name that Ingredient!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      My family loves BLT's and this is exactly how we make them. I do not measure the mayo, I just put it on. Sometimes my hubby will add pepper to his tomato. We all enjoy these. We eat them about once a week in the summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      I agree you can't go wrong with a classic sandwich and while I believe that Hellman's is the best mayo, this is the only sandwich that I insist upon using Miracle Whip. YUM. I love to make these all summer long especially when I don't want to heat up the house with cooking (I cook the bacon in the microwave).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      The simplest food is often the best food. There is nothing a a BLT in the summer when the tomatoes are at their juiciest! Thanks for posting this classic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Very simple and good. Really hit the spot. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Best comfort food! My wife doesn't like tomatoes so i use cucumber instead and still great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I made this with Morningstar farm imitation bacon and it came out great! I took another reviewer's advice and put mustard on one side of the sandwich and mayo on the other. YUM! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Oh my goodness. Who knew that a recipe was needed to make a BLT. We have used various breads, but Hellmans is a must. Someof us like our bread toasted but others don't. My only suggestion is to eat this right away if you don't toast your bread, especially if you have juicy tomatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      To be honest, I've made a lot of recipes from RecipeZaar, but I always turn out to be at least a BIT disappointed in them (or maybe I'm just a bad cook xD). But this is one recipe that has never disappointed me. I've been making this sandwich for weeks now right after school and it satisfies my stomach very much so (: Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      A Classic recipe that is always a winner. I like to use a better quality white bread rather than "kids" sandwich white bread. Makes a huge difference. IMHO. In our family half use Hellmann's Lite Mayo the other half, Miracle Whip. It's all good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      We love BLT's with the bacon crispy! Some of us like the mayo but my older son has his without. If you've never had one, try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Yum -- a true classic... I crave these quite often :) The only sub I made was pre-cooked bacon, and a different brand of mayo (as that is what I had on hand) but very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This is in reply to Hadiknown. While Americans think of a BLT sandwich as an everyday thing, cooks in other counrties may not. Recipezaar is worldwide and I'm sure there are many people around the globe who have never heard of a BLT and would LOVE to try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic BLT Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.7
     
    Calories from Fat 333
    64%
    Total Fat 37.1 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 46.2 mg
    15%
    Sodium 940.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites