Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2008

      This was not only easy, but the most favorful black beans and rice recipe I have ever had. The secret is definately Sazon Goya. We prepared it as a main dish and my husband loved it also. As we are reducing the amount of meat we are eating, this is a perfect vegetarian meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This is very good! I served it with Pernil (puerto Rican Pork Shoulder) and instead of the water I used the pan juices from the pork! This was a little salty but such a good flavor so next time I would use 1/2 water and 1/2 pan juice and don't add any extra salt. I also used red bell pepper instead of green.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      VERY good....but even better the next day!! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Yum! I thought this recipe would be good, but didn't realize how super good it really is. I've often tried to make beans and rice and it never comes out good. I didn't bother buying sazon goya since I had the cumin, etc. My only modifications: I added some chopped celery, and because I accidentally put in way too much green pepper, I simply doubled the recipe. Thanks, Dawn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Wow!! I love black beans and rice but hadn't been able to get the right flavor with them. This recipe is great! I didn't have the Goya seasoning so i subbed 2 tspn paprika and 2 tspn cumin. SOOOOOO good. DH won't go near beans but he was tempted b the incredible smell!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

    • on January 08, 2008

      My family loved it - even the picky ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Suprisingly good. I didn't have sugar and I added thyme, seasoning salt, and black pepper to it. My mom loved it. And my roommate who only tolerates beans had a second helping after I had to coax her to eat the first. I am definately adding this to my recipe book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      I doubled the recipe and served it with corn on the cob. Since it was so flavorful and a complete protein (beans w/rice), it made a really tasty and healthful main dish. We prefer red bell pepper so that's what I used. I made my own sazon goya and next time I'll leave out the salt (or reduce the bouillon) because it was just a touch salty for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      I made these as directed and they are fabulous. I used sazon goya with annato (all I can ever find) but it didn't affect the taste in my family's opinion. Who needs rice?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      I am eating this now, it is sooooooooo delicious! I made it exactly as written, adding chopped onion, a bit of olive oil and redwine vinegar on top. Served with side of avocado. Thank you for sharing! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Oh my GOSH, delicious. I left out the sugar (I'm on the South Beach Diet) and added a splash of balsamic vinegar instead of cider vinegar, because it's what I had on hand. SO easy, inexpensive, and delicious! I didn't serve it over rice or anything, since I'm going low-carb, but it's perfect on its own. My fifteen-year-old brother finished it off; I guess I'll need to make another batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I thought this was great and in my family of 6 only 1 person didn;t like it becsause of the black beans. I just mixed it all in with the rice and add 1/2 of a red pepper along with everything else for colour. I used the sub suggested for the sazon goya and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      This was SOOO good! We don't like things that are very spicy, so it was just right! It is exactly like I remembered eating while living in Central America. Yummy and cheap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      With the addition of a little hot sauce for more flavor, we really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks for posting Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I made this exactly as the recipe states. I served it as a main dish over rice, without meat, with a skillet of warm cornbread. Very good, but after tasing, it did need a little extra seasoning for my taste. I added some Goya seasoned salt to my serving and it was perfect for me after that. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      This recipe was a bit sweet for me. I followed the recipe, even using the recommended sazon goya. I was going for the same taste as a restaurant in Isla Verde Puerto Rico called Metropol. This recipe will NOT give you the same black beans and rice, which was quite disappointing to me. BUT, my husband said I should definitly do this recipe agin. I say 4, he says 5 stars. It was good, but definitely do it with long grain rice and serve separately. Do not mix until you are ready to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious! Exactly as black beans and rice should taste. I followed the recipe except that I used 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp chicken buillon, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1 tsp salt in place of the salzon goya. This makes a very hearty and healthful dish that definitely doesn't lack in flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Better than the local Cuban place (they don't get so fancy with the peppers for just a side dish). We loved this! It was perfect with Lamu Style Mahi Mahi #84807. The perfect hint of sweet and sour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.3
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    22%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sazon goya

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes