Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2009

      We loved this recipe! I used frozen chopped onions to save time, and went by the recipe exactly. I would add just a touch less water next time, to thicken them up a bit. I served them over Mahatma yellow rice and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This was an extremely good, quick lunch for me and my two young sons! I did not have any of the sazon goya, so I substituted with 2 tsp. cumin, 1 chicken bouillon, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. ground coriander, and 1/4 tsp. dried thyme. Delish!! I'll serve leftovers in tortillas tomorrow. Oh, I almost forgot, I cut up about 3/4 cup tomato and added to the onion/pepper/garlic saute for some extra nutrients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      that was good ..thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I loved this! I also used the previous posters substitution for the sazon goya, and used the cider vinegar vs cooking wine, but otherwise followed exactly. So easy, reminded me of a Cuban version of red beans and rice...but done in 25 min vs a few hours! Served over rice, next to sweet corn and grilled chicken. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I don even like black beans, but my husband does, so I made these. Wow. Best balck beans ever. I will not go back to refried after these. I used the Sazon because I buy it in big boxes (love that radioactive color) and added about 1/2 TBS of red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! I have made this recipe several times now (using Carmine's seasoning substitutions) and my husband said it was about time I rated it. The whole family comments every time I make it that it is great. The only other black beans and rice I've made came out of a box. This is far superior and takes about the same amount of time to make. We usually serve it over brown rice as a vegetarian main dish but occassionally the guys like to have it with sausage or shrimp added. It's a no-brainer for those nights you want something quick and easy and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Such a delicious dish! This is my second attempt at making black beans and rice and this recipe is awesome! I didn't have sazon or fresh garlic so I had to improvise, but it is sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      My dhand ds loved it! Easy to prepare and the note about the Sazon Goya was a wonderful help! Easy to make, and I doubled the recipe so I know we will be having a treat next week from the freezer. Thanks Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I think there was too much cumin for our taste in this recipe. I didn't have the sazon goya, so I used Carmine's substitute. If I make this again, I will halve the amount of cumin. Thanks for sharing, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This is a regular at our house, my hubby loves this!! Company never compains either! Dawn, Thanks sooo much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

    • on September 29, 2008

      Loved it, great flavor! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      This is delicious. The only change I made was that I used Sazon Goya con culantro y achiote instead of what was listed. Forgot to write it all down on the grocery list! It was very, very good. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I am eating this right now and it is yummy! My kids loved it too. I think less oil could be used if desired. I used the seasonings mentioned in the note rather than the sazon goya. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      This is excellent!! Add a few green olives and it is perfect! Thanks so much Dawn...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      "Classic" is right. It makes your standard black beans and rice. I'm still looking for the "perfect" recipe, but until then, this will do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This recipe is killer. Not hard to make, common ingredients, and it turns out really delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Delicious. I used Carmine's suggestions for substitutions and it came out great. Everyone in my family enjoyed and ate it... even the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Perfect! I didn't have the sazon goya & needed to make it vegetarian, so I subbed with vegetable Better than Bouillon, 1 tsp. cumin and extra garlic. This was a total hit & I'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      What a yummy dish. This is full of flavor and very easy to prepare. Doesn't take any time at all. Next time I think I will throw in some cooked chicken and make a full meal out of it. Thanks Dawn for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.3
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    22%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sazon goya

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes