Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2011

      So great, everyone loved it. I used green onions in place of regular onions- worked out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      This was very tasty and simple to prepare. it's going to be a staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      great recipe! Made as is. Thought it was a little too watery, and simmered for closer to 30 minutes. Will definitely be making again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Very good. Didn't think it would be. Didn't have sazon goya, so used 1 TBS red wine vinegar, 1 cube bouillon, no sugar, no peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

    • on February 27, 2010

      This is the same recipe on the Goya can plus sugar, which it doesn't need. Tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

    • on November 12, 2009

      Delicious. I increase the amount of onions & peppers (personal preference).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      SO good! So much flavor... and goes perfect over rice! We didn't use green onion because we didnt have any... We also substituted Italian Seasoning for oregano because we were out of that... We used the recomended substitution for sazon goya.. Also didnt have cooking wine or cider vinegar... Threw in a splash of red wine instead and it was so tasty!! Served this recipe with pork butt steaks... A delicious and inexpensive dinner! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      Holy Moly this was delicious!! I cannot wait to make these again. I didn't have any garlic or green pepper, so I used a whole seeded jalapeno instead. It was really spicy but I love spicy!! I also had to use the substitutions instead of the goya and I forgot to add the wine. Still - it turned out perfect and the taste was really really good. It also smelled so great while simmering, it made us so hungry. I served it along side some spicy grilled chicken that I made and it was a fabulous, easy meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Would not make these again! Nothing great about them. There has got to a good cuban black bean recipie out there. Someone please let me know if you find one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This was so delicious and easy to make! We used this as a filling for tortillas, along with brown rice, grated cheddar, salsa and sour cream! Yummy! Will be making again soon and often! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      awesome. i double onion and green pepper, and garlic too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This recipe is awesome! I doubled it because the reviews were so good and I am definitely glad I did! Leftovers for a few days! I did not have the sazon goya, so I used Carmine's substitute. It was just a little too salty, so next time I won't be adding the extra salt. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Wonderful! This is our standby when we don't feel like cooking. It is so easy, healthy, and tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      This recipe is one of my favorites on Recipezaar. I use all of Carmine's tips, except use chicken broth instead of water and buillion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Very simple but excellent recipe! I didn't have the sazon goya, so I used the cumin, no-chicken bouillon and garlic salt substitution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      As good as in resteraunts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      oh, yeah, this is delish! made just as posted, but used substitute for sazon goya (chicken boullion (1), cumin, corriander and garlic powder - about 1/4 of each). thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      We loved this recipe! I used frozen chopped onions to save time, and went by the recipe exactly. I would add just a touch less water next time, to thicken them up a bit. I served them over Mahatma yellow rice and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.3
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    22%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sazon goya

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites