100 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I first found this recipe on the back label of Goya Black Beans and have used it always when black beans and rice is on the menu. A very good and simple recipe. I make the basic recipe as it is and then add in whatever feels right at the time. As one commented I add in a can of Rotel diced tomatoes at times. Always like topping with some sliced green onions. Instead of using white rice I always like to use some spanish yellow rice... Mohatma (sp?) brand works out well.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdrichardson June 19, 2010

yummmmmmmm. I used 1 pound of dried black beans and soaked them overnight. For seasoning, I used 1 teaspoon salt, 1 tablespoon oregano, 1 tablespoon cumin, and "Better than Bouillon" veg base (vegetarian).... I also put in a seeded and finely chopped jalapeno (it was barely spicy, i couldn't imagine this without it!!) I cooked it the same way described by Teresa except it took about 2.5 hours for the beans to be done (it takes a while but you get double the amount for the same price, or less! and more nutrients, you know you want those :) I served with brown rice to use it up.... good, white rice always tastes better though...... DELICIOUS!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JungleLove November 14, 2009

I make it with no peppers or sazón, but I do use "sofrito". The sugar and vinegar are really important. I add 2 bay leaves and remove them after cooking. That gives you the authentic Cuban taste.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
resipsaloquitur May 30, 2011

I made this recipe after noticing that it was the same one on the back of my goya black beans and reading the reviews. The only sub I made was red pepper for green pepper. However, I added a few of my own ingredients after the 1TBSP of Cider vinegar tasted way too powerful to me. Towards the last 5-7 min of cooking I added 2 chopped plum tomatoes, the fresh squeezed juice of one lemon and 1/8 tsp of idolized salt. I was extremely happy with the outcome. My BF and I gobbled it up. When making this again I feel that 1 tsp of cider vinegar should be more than adequate. Very GOOD! Plus, it is a very healthy meal if you're carb friendly. It is such a significant source of dietary fiber and protein with relatively low calorie and fat count. KUDOS Goya:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachealMarie May 04, 2013

Very yummy, used some red pepper as that's all we had, added a chopped tomato, used the chicken stock powder garlic powder cumin as well the rest of the ingredients. Cooked the onions etc in olive oil. Didn't add any water. Subbed cider for rice vinegar and let it simmer covered for 20 mins then simmer another 20 mins uncovered. Served over brown rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*lil_miss_SBC*~ January 20, 2011

Great recipe! I added a can of Rotele and didn't add any water to make it a little thicker. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brycro76 May 26, 2010

My family like this recipe better then Goya's. It was easy to prepare and it did not took long to cook. I would make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The4a's February 27, 2010

This is terrific! I did a few things different based on our preferences and to stretch it into a lunch dish: no green pepper or sugar; added corn & 1 fresh tomato chopped, broth instead of water, and I used lime juice instead of vinegar. I also used 2 medium onions, and I accidentally drained the beans. And I did not have the sazon goya so I used cumin, about 1/2 tsp. This turned out AMAZING!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
All-Natural-Nut February 27, 2010

Very good. Only a few comments: First, if you double the recipe you probably only want to add a cup of water or else it will take forever to simmer away. Second, I love to add mushrooms and roma tomatoes. Third, I love to add Cilantro and Jalapeno to give it a nice kick. Great food and cheap too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doubting Thomas January 09, 2010

I love this, it's a great side dish with roasted Mexican spiced chicken and corn. Definitely has been my go-to for years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzyGirl09 October 28, 2014
Classic Black Beans and Rice