Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2010

      I first found this recipe on the back label of Goya Black Beans and have used it always when black beans and rice is on the menu. A very good and simple recipe. I make the basic recipe as it is and then add in whatever feels right at the time. As one commented I add in a can of Rotel diced tomatoes at times. Always like topping with some sliced green onions. Instead of using white rice I always like to use some spanish yellow rice... Mohatma (sp?) brand works out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      yummmmmmmm. I used 1 pound of dried black beans and soaked them overnight. For seasoning, I used 1 teaspoon salt, 1 tablespoon oregano, 1 tablespoon cumin, and "Better than Bouillon" veg base (vegetarian).... I also put in a seeded and finely chopped jalapeno (it was barely spicy, i couldn't imagine this without it!!) I cooked it the same way described by Teresa except it took about 2.5 hours for the beans to be done (it takes a while but you get double the amount for the same price, or less! and more nutrients, you know you want those :) I served with brown rice to use it up.... good, white rice always tastes better though...... DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I make it with no peppers or sazón, but I do use "sofrito". The sugar and vinegar are really important. I add 2 bay leaves and remove them after cooking. That gives you the authentic Cuban taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      I made this recipe after noticing that it was the same one on the back of my goya black beans and reading the reviews. The only sub I made was red pepper for green pepper. However, I added a few of my own ingredients after the 1TBSP of Cider vinegar tasted way too powerful to me. Towards the last 5-7 min of cooking I added 2 chopped plum tomatoes, the fresh squeezed juice of one lemon and 1/8 tsp of idolized salt. I was extremely happy with the outcome. My BF and I gobbled it up. When making this again I feel that 1 tsp of cider vinegar should be more than adequate. Very GOOD! Plus, it is a very healthy meal if you're carb friendly. It is such a significant source of dietary fiber and protein with relatively low calorie and fat count. KUDOS Goya:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Very yummy, used some red pepper as that's all we had, added a chopped tomato, used the chicken stock powder garlic powder cumin as well the rest of the ingredients. Cooked the onions etc in olive oil. Didn't add any water. Subbed cider for rice vinegar and let it simmer covered for 20 mins then simmer another 20 mins uncovered. Served over brown rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Great recipe! I added a can of Rotele and didn't add any water to make it a little thicker. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      My family like this recipe better then Goya's. It was easy to prepare and it did not took long to cook. I would make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      This is terrific! I did a few things different based on our preferences and to stretch it into a lunch dish: no green pepper or sugar; added corn & 1 fresh tomato chopped, broth instead of water, and I used lime juice instead of vinegar. I also used 2 medium onions, and I accidentally drained the beans. And I did not have the sazon goya so I used cumin, about 1/2 tsp. This turned out AMAZING!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Very good. Only a few comments: First, if you double the recipe you probably only want to add a cup of water or else it will take forever to simmer away. Second, I love to add mushrooms and roma tomatoes. Third, I love to add Cilantro and Jalapeno to give it a nice kick. Great food and cheap too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Delicious and easy to prepare,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      I have made these beans a lot, but I make the following changes: 1) I do not add the water because I do not like them soupy, 2) I put in a little less vinegar (I haven't tried wine) and 3) I do not add the sugar. My born-in-Cuba friend LOVES my black beans which I serve with Cuban pork, rice, avocado salad and tortillas. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      Awesome and super easy recipe and fast recipe if using canned beans (which I did). Wonderful flavor and especially yummy the day after when they got thicker and even more flavorful. Thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      This was a great lunch. It was affordable and easy to make with all the ingredients from the cupboard. I used the substitute seasoning and I thought it was great, DH thought it was okay so I gave it a 4. I would make this again, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      This is the first time we've made something like this, even though we love this type of food. We gave some to one of our elderly friends of the family who absolutely loves black beans and rice, and she says this is one of the best she's ever tasted. Needless to say, we always make extra for her now. Even though I'm not a big lover of rice, I can't seem to get enough when we have it with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I made this without the green peppers. I didn't have the Goya mix so I used chicken bullion, cumin and garlic salt as the recipe suggests. I put some lime juice over the rice after it was cooked. Yum Yum Yum! Great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      Mmmm...creamy from the beans and a bit crunchy from the rice. I enjoyed it tremendously. I added a little bit of green chili for a little kick. Will make it again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      Overall, very easy to make and made a nice side dish for fajitas. Made as per the recipe, except used cumin and some extra garlic powder as I didn't have sazon goya. Was very good, but a little bit bland for our taste. I would probably add a bit more garlic next time, and perhaps increase the spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      First rate! not too spicy, excellent flavour! I used vinegar instead of wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

    • on October 11, 2011

      I didn't even have the onion or green pepper, and it was still delicious!! Can't wait to make again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.3
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    22%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sazon goya

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites