Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Beef Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Beef Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2010

      I always remembered my mom's beef stroganoff as having strips of beef in it rather than ground beef, and searched and searched for a recipe like that. This is the one I found, and it turned out great. I used top round instead of tenderloin and regular button mushrooms but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Even without the more expensive ingredients it was delicious. I like the brightness the lemon juice brings to the otherwise heavy and creamy sauce. Oh, and even the leftovers the next day were good. I was afraid the sour cream would curdle, but I didn't seem to have a problem with that (maybe because I used full fat sour cream).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Excellent. Made as directed except I added 2 minced cloves of garlic when I added the mushrooms. Next time I will slightly lighten up on the lemon juice and/or lemon zest. Thanks for posting what must be a very authentic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      This is a great, easy recipe. I did use a cheaper cut of meat (London broil) and sliced it very thin while it was half frozen. However it just wasn't a good enough cut to serve just-cooked with a bit of pink, as you would sirloin or tenderloin etc. So I followed the recipe up to the point of thickening the sauce and added a whole cup of beef broth-- let it slightly thicken, and then I stirred the beef strips back in and let it 'stew' in the sauce for 20 minutes while the egg noodles cooked. When it came time to serve, I cut the heat to the beef and added the whole cup of sour cream-- perfect, and the beef was tender. I only put 1/2 tsp lemon juice as others recommended. Skipped the zest. Was really tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      This is very good. Great ingredients. Needs less lemon juice. Made for I recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      GREAT DISH! The only thing I changed, and will alter even more next time, is the gravy%u2026we like a lot of gravy over our noodles. Next time I plan to add 2 T (heaping) flour, 1 c broth (or more) and 1/2 c merlot (or other dry red wine). I loved the lemon and Dijon%u2026totally reminded me of swedish meatballs??!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      You are a genius! I've been making Beef Stoganoff for years, and always loved it, but the addition of mustard and lemon juice is outstanding. Now why didn't I think of that!?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      When I read the recipe, I was not sure about the lemon and dijon mustard as my tried and true stroganoff recipe doesn't have either of these. But I thought, might be a new gourmet twist. I made a point of tasting the recipe as I went along. The lemon was actually nice; I did go on the light side. As soon as I added the dijon I regretted it. The flavor was a bit off for my taste. My DH liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      We liked this so much! Easy & good. I skipped the mustard and lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This was excellent!! I used both crimini and button mushrooms for this. I omitted the lemon zest but followed the directions and served it over egg noodles. It made a great dinner and we truly enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Beef Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.7
     
    Calories from Fat 351
    90%
    Total Fat 39.0 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 18.9 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 75.6 mg
    25%
    Sodium 328.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes