Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Beef Stew in a Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Beef Stew in a Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2014

      OMG! I died and went to heaven. This was the best stew I have ever made. I did not use the crock post but simmered it on the stove for 4 1/2 hrs. The beef cubes just melted in your mouth. I took it easy on the wine, only about 1/2 cup and used more beef broth. I used a whole box. I used fresh carrots, potatoes, frozen string beans that I added half way through and then frozen corn added 1/2 hour before serving. I made homemade bread in my bread machine. I put my husbands on mashed potatoes but I ate mine from a bowl. It was out of this world and this will be my stew recipe from now on. It made the whole house smell luscious! Thanks for the recipe, Mrs. Habu! I posted a pic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      This is a big hit even with the kids! As long as they don't see what goes into it! The flavours are rich and homey. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      This was the best stew I've ever made. I did however tweaked it up a bit. I used a chuck roast, used the suggested Brandy with water and added one 14 oz can of crushed tomatoes. The gravy was thck and tasty! This willbe a part of my recipe repetoir FOREVER! my husband has asked me to make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      This is a tasty stew that comes together quickly. I omitted the salt, added some garlic and used lemon thyme in place of the thyme. I would have liked to have more gravy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      I thought this was quite good - my husband prefers his soups and stews a little thinner, so next time I might add an additional cup or two of liquid. It was rich and satisfying and hit the spot on a cold night. Plus the house smelled wonderful - a nice bonus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Not really sure what happened, but even after 9 hrs on low the potatoes weren't cooked through. Luckily we had a change in plans and I was able to let it cook more over night and the next day. When we ate it 32 hrs after it went in the crock the potatoes were still firm, but cooked.
      The meat was super tender and the sauce was really flavorful. I'll definitely make it again, but I might par cook my potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      We love this recipe! It tastes exactly like the Cooks Illustrated/America's Test Kitchen version I always used to make, but you don't have to babysit it. The only changes I make are to buy a 2-3lb chuck roast and cut it up into bite size pieces and omit the tomato paste. With those small modifications, it's just perfect for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This is a very good stew recipe. After reading the reviews I also added some fresh garlic. I cooked this on the stove instead of the crock pot and found the longer it sat the better the flavors blended. Next time I may make this a day in advance. Thank you Mrs. Habu we all enjoyed your"classic Beef Stew".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      So good! Mine took about 5 hours on high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      This was awesome! I made it for our Saturday family dinner and it was a hit! I didn't have bay leaf and tomato paste so I just left it out. Stiil a great recipe. I also cooked in on the stove instead of the crock pot. I can see this is going to be a winter favorite! Thanks for the great recipe. Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      A hit at my house! I made this yesterday to eat after an afternoon of skating and everyone enjoyed (3 & 5 year old sons), even my DH who isn't a fan of food made in the crock pot gave it thumbs up! Made exactly as written and cooked on low for 7 1/2 hours. Put some frozen peas in, turned to high, and it was ready to serve in about 20 minutes. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      This was delicious! I had been searching for a good crockpot stew recipe using red wine...I don't need to search anymore, because this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      This was absolutely delicious. Though I do have to confess, I discovered half way through that I ran out of wine. So I decided to use 1/4 c Brandy and 3/4 c water to substitute. Suprisingly it came out wonderful. Everyone had seconds, except for my picky one who for once ate everything in his bowl with out me having to say ANYTHING. This is definately one for my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      We all found this to be very bland. My husband and his friend both added hot sauce to give it some kind of flavor. I too added garlic and extra seasonings, but I will keep to my regular stew from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      This was a pretty good beef stew in our opinion, however, the potatoes and carrots were mushy at the end of the 7 1/2 hours cooking. I just bought a new crockpot, and used it, so I don't know if that had anything to do with the outcome. I made the recipe as stated, with the exception of adding 1 clove of garlic, chopped. Served this with crisp sour dough rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      Out of everything I have made on this website(about 15 recipes) my fiance says this is his favorite. THANK YOU.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      This is without a doubt the best beef stew I have ever easten! I made it exactly as directed except to add a little chopped garlic. Everything was closed for a snowstorm so we were cooped up in the house all day. While cooking it smelled so good it made our mouths water! I served it with #46501 Basic Machine French Bread and my family gobbled most of it right up. I barely saved enough to take to work for lunch the next day! Thanks Tali for a great new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      I made this for my BF's lunch thermos (he works out in the bitter cold). He loved it! He asked me to make it again - next time adding more onion. Both he and my best friend said it was the best beef stew they had ever eaten. I topped it with shredded Parmesan cheese and served it with Hard French Bread. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2004

      Bless you for a stew that my husband ate every bite of, 2 nights in a row. Next time I might add garlic & I might look for a better (beefier) brand of broth (or heaven forbid, make my own...). Easy recipe & came out exactly as described. MANY thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Beef Stew in a Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (569 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 748.1
     
    Calories from Fat 379
    50%
    Total Fat 42.1 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 110.3 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1835.9 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    39%
    Protein 39.0 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites