Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2014

      This makes a big loaf! It had a nice banana flavour. I added some chopped walnuts and some flax seed. Next time I would reduce the amount of sugar to maybe half or 3/4 cup as I found it a little on the sweet side. Also, I had to bake it about 10 minutes longer than stated to get the middle fully cooked. Overall very nice recipe which I will probably make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      I didn't have any yogurt so I used 1/3 c extra banana, plus a Tbsp of lemon juice. Tasty and not too heavy or too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      This is a great recipe! Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I tried many banana bread recipes and this beat out every other one. It is now a family staple and we love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I find this recipe better than the more fattening banana breads. It stays moist which is great. Doesn't taste low fat at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      This bread is great as is! I used light sour cream in place of the yogurt and it worked fine. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the T. Everyone loved it! Thanks Chef~V!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Love this banana bread! It is pretty easy to make and light in calories. I topped mine off with a brown sugar and cinnamon mixure before I put it in the oven. Now I have something to do with me leftover bananas!!Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      I tried this recipe to use up some yogurt. It's more bland than other recipes I prefer. I added chocolate chips and walnuts, my usual favorite add-ins, but the flavor still lacked. I also used very, very (read: black) bananas, which should have helped, too. Each to his own. The texture was nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This was great for me. Someone had mentioned it was 1 pt. per slice for weight watchers which I have been doing since just after Thanksgiving. I used the vanilla yogurt and 1/2 c. Splenda Blend instead of sugar. Very good and very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

    • on July 15, 2007

      Excellent! Sweet with lots of banana flavor; we'll make this one again! I used one cup white flour and one cup wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      This was fantastic. I think this is going to be my go to recipe for banana bread. DH loved it and he's kind-of picky about low-fat breads and texture, but he liked this one. I used light margarine and egg beaters. I also used fat-free vanilla yogurt instead of plain yogurt and vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      Delicious with a great banana flavour. I used brown sugar instead of white, added 2 tsp of baking powder (to get a more cakelike texture) and baked it in a bundt pan (took about 40 minutes). I didn't add any nuts as that is our preference (it also helps to keep the calories down). I served it warm topped with light cool whip and sprinkled with cinnamon. Lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      This is any persons banana's dream! The banana flavor was so strong it was to die for!!!! If you were to taste this bread, I don't think anyone would realize this is low fat!!!! This recipe is going into my favorite recipe cookbook! I will sure be making this often when there is old bananas sitting on the counter! Thanks for this great recipe Janet W!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      Simply a wonderful recipe! I made the following changes: 2/3 c. of wheat flour, 1 1/3 c. AP flour; I Can't Believe It's Not Butter; Splenda (1:1); sour cream (I had no yogurt and couldn't wait to try!); and a 1/4 c walnut pieces. (I didn't see those listed in the ingredients.) We have dieters in the house, so low-cal is "in." I am not sure if my changes would change the nutritional facts for the better, but I would assume so. It turned out GREAT! Very moist and tasty. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is my cookbook to stay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      I chose this recipe for Pick a Chef '06. This made a very moist bread and the whole family enjoyed it. I used vanilla yogurt and will try strawberry the next time. Great recipe; thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      Wonderful bread! I also saw this in Cooking Light and have made it several times, but was glad to find it posted here the very same day I had a bunch of brown bananas to use up. I never seem to look at any of my cookbooks since I became addicted to Zaar LOL. Lots of banana flavor that's not weighed down by a ton of oil or butter. Moist inside, crisp outside. Doesn't taste lowfat. Used homemade lowfat yogurt with great results. Lovely sweet bread you won't feel guilty about eating or feeding to the kids. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      This was a VERY good version of banana nut bread. My office staff nearly knocked me down trying to get to a 2nd piece!! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      This was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      this is really good and i liked the fact that it has no nuts (my future sil is allergic). i used greek yogurt, and people who told me they hated bananas wolfed this down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.4
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    21%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 35.6 mg
    11%
    Sodium 194.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    67%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes