322 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You know, I had never had baked ziti before - even eating out. I found this recipe when I was "on the prowl" for something totally different a couple of nights ago. Followed the recipe to a tee (except I subbed salt-free homemade meatless sauce and low-sodium chicken broth so that I could enjoy it without feeling guilty!) and BINGO! I was in business. Served it with a very crisp green salad topped with very spicy Greek olive oil dressing and my homemade sourdough croutons, and it was a meal to remember.

59 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® March 30, 2002

Delicious. I added lots of sliced mushrooms with the mince because I love them. I will make this again many times.

52 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! March 13, 2002

This was another great dish. Made plenty, ate the leftovers the next day, it tasted even better if that is possible.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HabaneroHog March 20, 2002

This was very good..my family loved it..definitely filled a 9 x 13 pan..thanks for sharing this recipe.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie March 27, 2002

Wow! I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! It was a very yummy dish and I would not change a thing. I used Prego chunky garden and it turned out awesome. This will be a favorite to make in my house again and again! Thank you!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexi's Mom April 17, 2002

The Classic Baked Ziti was great!! My kids and husband loved it. So easy to make. Was great to put together early in the day to have on a busy sport night. Made great left overs too. This one is a keeper. Thanks.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiSue April 05, 2002

Thanks for the great recipe! I only had a 26 oz. jar of spaghetti sauce on hand, so I decreased the chicken broth to 1/2 cup, and it was wonderful! My husband loved it and told me I need to make it again... so it's a keeper!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. April 12, 2002

I made this tonight and followed Miller's lead using homemade meat sauce (only kind I had). I don't know if it was the addition of the chicken stock, but this was just delicious. I thought that the proportion of sauce/liquid to pasta was perfect, and reducing either would have resulted in a skimpy dish. I was careful to leave the boiled pasta undercooked so that by the time it came out of the oven it still had some bite to it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, we'll make it often!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay March 18, 2003

This is a great recipe! Simple to make and delicious. Thanks Caryn!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut March 17, 2002

Very good and reasonably easy. This really makes a lot, I hope I can find the room in the fridge for the leftovers. I don't expect them to stay in there too long though. :) I used a 28 oz can of spaghetti sauce, and one cups worth of chicken boullion with a cup of water instead of broth. I think next time I'll use a jar with the full amount. Judging from my husband's reaction this will definitely be going on dinner rotation.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Curtis July 07, 2002
Classic Baked Ziti