Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Classic Baked Spaghetti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Baked Spaghetti

    Average Rating:

    145 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 145

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2010

      I made this for bingo this week and it was well received by all, though no one was really WoW'd by it. Some stated it was good. The only changes I made was to use Italian Seasoning in place of the oregano (I used 1 T. instead of 1 tsp. because I doubled the recipe), and used Cheddar cheese for the layers and Mozzarella cheese on top. I made it with whole wheat pasta and canned Hunt's spaghetti sauce with no added sugar. I am sure it would be much better with homemade pasta sauce, but this worked for a quick throw together casserole. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Angela. I am sure I will make it again sometime with my homemade sauce. Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      I made this dish and it was very easy. I did change it up a bit. I used canned spaghetti sauce and added a bit of sugar, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, Italian seasoning, and crushed red pepper. I used all of those spices (except the sugar) when browning the meat. Also, I didn't have much shredded cheddar but I had shredded mozzarella and sliced mozzarella. The recipe calls for creating three layers and I only had enough sauce to make two. I used the the shredded mozzarella and a bit of shredded cheddar between the two layers and a little bit on top. On top though I covered it with sliced mozzarella. Everything turned out great. The one recommendation that I have it to include more sauce. I would be inclined to use at minimum 10 more ounces if not the full can. When I reheated the left overs I made more sauce and covered it in the sauce before microwaving each plate. Turned out EXCELLENT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      I tend to add extra cheese on top and Italian seasoning in place of the oregano, otherwise I make this recipe as written and it comes out delicious every time! Thanks for a simple change up to a regular spaghetti dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      Super easy dish to make! I added a few things to it, because I like lots of veggies in my spaghetti. I added capers, fresh herbs (oregano, basil and rosemary), and zucchini cut into small chunks. It didn't take long at all to put together, and everyone loved it! I'm sure I will be making this again very soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      This is very good. I made it without meat and it turned out great. I actually just did sauce, noodles, and cheese, with no extra spices. So, my review may not reflect what it would have been if I had made this to a T. But, I loved the simplicity, and baking the spaghetti really helped with the flavor. And, who knew cheddar cheese would be so delicious with spaghetti!? I froze half of this, and look forward to eating it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I'm so sorry to give a low review, but we found this very bland and tasteless, despite the fact that we love all the ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      This was pretty good, and it was surprisingly easy to make. But I just don't think it's quite worth all the guilt of just how unhealthy it is (and I'm not even a health-nut). I, personally, am probably going to just stick with regular spaghetti and pass on the two cups of cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

      I just made this, on the sly while the rest of my family is out, and couldn't resist eating some. YUM!!!! I LOVE anything (except mac & cheese) that has pasta. Very good, very easy, and next time I'm going to add more sauce and garlic. We like garlic at my house. Hoping my fam likes it as much as I do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2014

      Easy to make. I added some chopped broccoli, zucchini and onion to the boiling water also. I also added salt, pepper and turmeric. Liked by all, so that the whole 1-1/2 batch disappeared between 4 people! I think 1 batch (8 oz noodles) would not be enough for a family of 4. Only if not real hungry. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      Was browsing the web, in hopes of refreshing my memory for the recipe, and this was the most similar..I use all things above, in addition to ricotta cheese in the layers. Also, I add a bit of salt and a bit of sugar(to cut that acidic taste)..It's MUY PERFECTO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      just as good, if not better than regular spaghetti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      I have never before rated a recipe, but this one was so easy and so delicious. I had all the ingredients, and was looking for a comfort food for my husband who just had braces put on and is in quite a bit of pain. It was the first meal he had for over 4 days and he loved it. I will definitely make this again for kids, grandkids and also when a quick meal is needed for a neighbor in need. What a delight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Let me start by saying that my husband declared this one of the best pasta dishes he has ever eaten. He had two helpings, added some of the leftovers to his eggs in the morning (gross, I know), and took the last of the leftovers for lunch today. It was really a great meal, and I think the key is the spaghetti sauce. I used a homemade sauce that I threw together when I realized I didn't have any jarred sauce and I took the advice of other reviewers and added another 15 oz can of crushed tomatoes to the recipe. I also used turkey instead of beef and whole wheat spaghetti. I didn't have enough cheddar cheese for the whole casserole so I used a blend of cheddar, Italian blend and Parmesan. I also added some dehydrated onions when I cooked the turkey for some extra yum. I layered everything in my Pampered Chef deep covered baker, baked for 15 minutes covered and 15 minutes uncovered. The result was a perfectly cooked casserole that I could eat once a week. Thank you for posting such a great recipe that is so easily adapted! We will make this one quite often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      This was a good basic recipe. I followed the recipe as written other then I used cheddar and mozz cheese. We thought it could have used more seasonings. This was a great weeknight meal that heated up nicely for my lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

    • on October 06, 2011

      Yeay! I recipe that we all like! Thank you! I don't know why, but the baking of the whole thing adds more than just melted cheese. In the future I will make ahead and bake the night of. I added sauteed onions, a jar of prego (full serving of veggies) and whole wheat pasta. Next time, I'll also add minced garlic as well. I also used mexi cheese, because my cheddar expired. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      Looking for a recipe that was fast and easy for Basic Baked spaghetti and found it. I didn't want to use canned soup. This was good. I agree with another poster that it needs more sauce otherwise delicious. I made this twice. Once with ground beef and once with ground turkey and both were tasty. The dish depends on layering the cheese and also keeping it moist and saucy. I added another 12 ounces of sauce to it and it made a big difference. For those who need more seasoning add it. You can sub in Italian seasoning for the oregano to have other flavors and move it to One TABLESPOON as another poster suggested as well. Otherwise it is an easy, kid pleaser that takes minutes to make. Thanks for sharing AngelaTN! Enjoy ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      We loved this so much we had it 3 times this month! Yummy, simple and quick to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Absolutely delicious. It was easy, simple, fast and it didn't hold back on flavor a bit! The whole family loved it :) Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Baked Spaghetti

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 515.8
     
    Calories from Fat 238
    46%
    Total Fat 26.4 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 92.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 559.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 32.2 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites