147 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for bingo this week and it was well received by all, though no one was really WoW'd by it. Some stated it was good. The only changes I made was to use Italian Seasoning in place of the oregano (I used 1 T. instead of 1 tsp. because I doubled the recipe), and used Cheddar cheese for the layers and Mozzarella cheese on top. I made it with whole wheat pasta and canned Hunt's spaghetti sauce with no added sugar. I am sure it would be much better with homemade pasta sauce, but this worked for a quick throw together casserole. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Angela. I am sure I will make it again sometime with my homemade sauce. Linda

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen May 07, 2010

I made this dish and it was very easy. I did change it up a bit. I used canned spaghetti sauce and added a bit of sugar, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, Italian seasoning, and crushed red pepper. I used all of those spices (except the sugar) when browning the meat. Also, I didn't have much shredded cheddar but I had shredded mozzarella and sliced mozzarella. The recipe calls for creating three layers and I only had enough sauce to make two. I used the the shredded mozzarella and a bit of shredded cheddar between the two layers and a little bit on top. On top though I covered it with sliced mozzarella. Everything turned out great. The one recommendation that I have it to include more sauce. I would be inclined to use at minimum 10 more ounces if not the full can. When I reheated the left overs I made more sauce and covered it in the sauce before microwaving each plate. Turned out EXCELLENT!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlt992s October 03, 2010

I tend to add extra cheese on top and Italian seasoning in place of the oregano, otherwise I make this recipe as written and it comes out delicious every time! Thanks for a simple change up to a regular spaghetti dinner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Cherry Blossom September 04, 2012

Super easy dish to make! I added a few things to it, because I like lots of veggies in my spaghetti. I added capers, fresh herbs (oregano, basil and rosemary), and zucchini cut into small chunks. It didn't take long at all to put together, and everyone loved it! I'm sure I will be making this again very soon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachael K July 18, 2011

This is very good. I made it without meat and it turned out great. I actually just did sauce, noodles, and cheese, with no extra spices. So, my review may not reflect what it would have been if I had made this to a T. But, I loved the simplicity, and baking the spaghetti really helped with the flavor. And, who knew cheddar cheese would be so delicious with spaghetti!? I froze half of this, and look forward to eating it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthNutSarah October 19, 2009

I'm so sorry to give a low review, but we found this very bland and tasteless, despite the fact that we love all the ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton September 03, 2009

This was pretty good, and it was surprisingly easy to make. But I just don't think it's quite worth all the guilt of just how unhealthy it is (and I'm not even a health-nut). I, personally, am probably going to just stick with regular spaghetti and pass on the two cups of cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire June 13, 2009

This is a very good, standard recipe. I used turkey sausage in place of the ground beef and sprinkled italian seasoning into the cooked sausage and over the top of the casserole before the final layer of cheese. I also saved time by combining the sauce with the cooked pasta and assembling the dish in two layers: pasta/sauce first, cheese, pasta/sauce, cheese; it worked great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pfhantastic Cook December 04, 2014

use prego, you'll get a better result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marci m. October 27, 2014

I just made this, on the sly while the rest of my family is out, and couldn't resist eating some. YUM!!!! I LOVE anything (except mac & cheese) that has pasta. Very good, very easy, and next time I'm going to add more sauce and garlic. We like garlic at my house. Hoping my fam likes it as much as I do!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
InkyCook June 07, 2014
Classic Baked Spaghetti