Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Clapshot (An Orcadian Potato and Yellow Turnip/ Swede/ Rutabaga Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Clapshot (An Orcadian Potato and Yellow Turnip/ Swede/ Rutabaga

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2003

      Excellent. A very simple, tasty side dish. I didn't drain mine well enough, so I didn't have the consistency needed to fry the leftovers as was suggested(but they reheated well anyway). Oh well, I'm sure I'll get it right in the future, as I plan to make this often. Thanks for another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      Made this last night and the kids couldn't tell there was turnip in their mashed potatoes!!!! I served it with pork chops and it was a big hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      I usually serve up haggis with my mashed potatoes and turnip separate, but I tried this instead and of course it went just as well. It goes well with fried eggs and baked beans too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      This was quite good, and very similar to a Shaker recipe I've made for years called "Alabaster." (If you use white pepper instead of black, the Clapshot is a creamy white color.) The only thing to watch out for is that turnips can hold a LOT of moisture and the dish can get a little too watery. But it was excellent! Thanks, Millie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      "Super duper wonderful", says DH!lol Served the clapshot alongside meatloaf and it was a delectable combination. Used two rutabagas to four russet potatoes. Will cut the rutabagas pieces a bit smaller than the potatoes next time, to ensure more even cooking. Sprinkled with fresh snipped parsley---bravo! Will make this a regular at our house. Thank you so much for posting, Mille!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      We tried this tonight to have alongside pork tenderloin. I think I may have chosen a turnip that was too old, as the dish had a bitter flavor to it. Might try again in the future with younger, smaller turnips or other root vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2004

      BRAVO.... With this recipe, I disguised a vegetable!! I had my 3 children that I can't normally push veggies into & my husband that I had to tell had turnips. I am sorry to say that I have no leftovers to try with the tomatoes, guess that I will do that next time. This recipe was not hard at all to make and alterered everyday potatos into something more healthy. I used this as a side dish with chicken breast seeing that we are all trying to eat a bit healthier and I will surely make this again. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      Great way to add a not too favorite vegetable into the menu. And the kids liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Clapshot (An Orcadian Potato and Yellow Turnip/ Swede/ Rutabaga

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.9
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    64%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 83.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes