Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Clam Chowder / Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Clam Chowder / Stew

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2002

      This is soooo good Dorothy. Just the way my grandmother used to make. The chowder turned out very rich and creamy. I just used a little extra clam juice to get the right consistency as we like ours a little thick. This was very heartwarming and a comfort food for me. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      This chowder is absolutely perfect!! I made it in my crockpot for dinner Halloween night and it makes for a very comforting bowl of chowder. The recipe was very simple but the flavors where fantastic. Serviced with a side salad & crust bread. Thanks Dorothy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      This was very good and very easy - full of clams and the chicken stock makes the flavor richer. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      WOW, This recipe is easy, fast and tastes great. What more could anyone want? Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      Wonderful chowder! I made a mistake when making it, but it turned out dynamite! I was going to cut the recipe in 1/2, cuz it was just the two of us. BUT, I added the whole 14 oz. can of chicken broth, instead of 1/4 cup...OOPS! But, when whisking the 1/2 & 1/2 and milk, I just added more flour to thicken the roux. I was afraid that it might be flourey (sp?) tasting, but it was great. I also added 3 stalks of chopped celery when sauteing (sp?)the onions. Instead of cayenne pepper, I used crushed red pepper. And I added more bacon to it (should have used 2 slices, but I used about 8 slices). This came out fantastic! Will definitely make again. Good recipe, Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      This is the best clam chowder I've ever had! Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      first cold night of the year, the chowder was excellent. Gave it four stars for taste, the other star because how easy it was to make thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      This was absolutely the best clam chowder we have ever had. I added about 3 tablespoons of Nutritional Yeast to 'kick it up a notch', but otherwise, it was excellent as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      This was excellent! I used left over baked potatoes for the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      This was good but I did make some changes so that I knew we would like this. I used a cup of chicken broth and two cups of half and half. I was afraid the chowder would have been too thin if I had added the milk also, I used instant potato flakes instead of flour to thicken the soup. I used four cans of clams but only used the juice of one. My clams were also minced. I used regular pepper instead of cayenne and used 3/4 teaspoon. I didn't add the parsley, worcestershire or paprika. Next time I would cut the salt back as I thought it was a bit salty. We enjoyed this the next day also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      Absolutely amazing!! This has become a weekly staple in our house. Thanks for the awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Scrumptious! Both the kiddies wanted seconds...then thirds! My husband is the clam chowder buff in the house and said it was great. I had bacon drippings but no bacon and it worked well. Instead of plain salt I used celery salt, and I might add some chopped celery in with the onions next time too. Oh, and instead of half and half, I subbed milk/sour cream. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

    • on April 20, 2009

      I found this chowder to be somewhat bland. My company agreed and suggested that I add a tiny pinch of thyme and that definitely enhanced the flavor. I purchased two cans of baby clams, chopped clams and used half-and-half. This was okay but I think I might use it as a base and search for other recipes to incorporate into this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I fed my husband, four teenage boys and myself and everyone seemed to love it. Changes that I made: I only had one can of clams, I used 4 potatoes rather than two, I used about 1 1/2 cups of broth because I knew I needed to feed many, and finally, I chopped 7 green onions/chives because that's all I had. I did not use the parsley or the paprika. It was a success and all agree I need to add this to my list of regular dinners. I served it with french bread slathered with butter and parmesan and broiled until toasty. Yum! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This was excellent, I ddin't want to use canned soup. We both said yum at the end of the meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      What a flavorful and perfect consistency for clam chowder. This came together so easy and had a great flavor. The cayenne pepper adds a zing at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Wonderful chowder. This was my first attempt at clam chowder. Creamy, smokey and great. The bacon was a great addition. I did not have Half and Half so I subbed whipping cream. I can't wait to make again. Thanks for posting. 1-18-09 Made the chowder for the second time. I messed up and only bought 18oz of clams. I added about 6oz of canned smoked salmon. It turned out wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I love clam chowder and this recipe is no exception! This was the first time I've ever made chowder and this one is a keeper! Jut perfect especially with a little extra cayenne. I also Used non-fat milk but just for my own satisfaction. Tasted absolutely wonderful and is now our Christmas Eve staple! Thanks Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Derf - Thanks for a great recipe. We've made this chowder dozens of times, and someone always asks for the recipe! I generally add more bacon and clams, but otherwise, it is great for the Pacific Northwest winters. Thanks much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Clam Chowder / Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.0
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    38%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 70.2 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1093.9 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 23.3 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites