40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is soooo good Dorothy. Just the way my grandmother used to make. The chowder turned out very rich and creamy. I just used a little extra clam juice to get the right consistency as we like ours a little thick. This was very heartwarming and a comfort food for me. Thanks

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes September 28, 2002

This chowder is absolutely perfect!! I made it in my crockpot for dinner Halloween night and it makes for a very comforting bowl of chowder. The recipe was very simple but the flavors where fantastic. Serviced with a side salad & crust bread. Thanks Dorothy!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher November 05, 2002

This was very good and very easy - full of clams and the chicken stock makes the flavor richer. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maddy_2 April 08, 2003

WOW, This recipe is easy, fast and tastes great. What more could anyone want? Thank you!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lin Scott March 26, 2003

Wonderful chowder! I made a mistake when making it, but it turned out dynamite! I was going to cut the recipe in 1/2, cuz it was just the two of us. BUT, I added the whole 14 oz. can of chicken broth, instead of 1/4 cup...OOPS! But, when whisking the 1/2 & 1/2 and milk, I just added more flour to thicken the roux. I was afraid that it might be flourey (sp?) tasting, but it was great. I also added 3 stalks of chopped celery when sauteing (sp?)the onions. Instead of cayenne pepper, I used crushed red pepper. And I added more bacon to it (should have used 2 slices, but I used about 8 slices). This came out fantastic! Will definitely make again. Good recipe, Derf!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marty Fredericks April 03, 2004

This is the best clam chowder I've ever had! Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. LaMons January 21, 2004

first cold night of the year, the chowder was excellent. Gave it four stars for taste, the other star because how easy it was to make thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina Waddell September 29, 2003

This was absolutely the best clam chowder we have ever had. I added about 3 tablespoons of Nutritional Yeast to 'kick it up a notch', but otherwise, it was excellent as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe December 24, 2013

This was excellent! I used left over baked potatoes for the potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mudpie October 27, 2012

This was good but I did make some changes so that I knew we would like this. I used a cup of chicken broth and two cups of half and half. I was afraid the chowder would have been too thin if I had added the milk also, I used instant potato flakes instead of flour to thicken the soup. I used four cans of clams but only used the juice of one. My clams were also minced. I used regular pepper instead of cayenne and used 3/4 teaspoon. I didn't add the parsley, worcestershire or paprika. Next time I would cut the salt back as I thought it was a bit salty. We enjoyed this the next day also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 12, 2012
Clam Chowder / Stew