Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / City Chicken (But It's Not Chicken!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    City Chicken (But It's Not Chicken!)

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2003

      Let me be the first to say "Yum!". The pork was soooo tender and the gravy was very flavorful and great over mashed potatoes. It was a little salty even though I used reduced salt broth. I cut up 1 pound of boneless pork chops but made all of the gravy. I didn't use the skewers just stir fried the pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      DH really liked this one. I used garlic powder, half the onion soup mix and skipped the skewers. Definitely a recipe worth repeating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      We enjoyed this. I was scrambling for a recipe that didn't have a can of soup involved. This fit the bill beautifully. I used garlic powder and half of the dry soup mix, and it was plenty salty. I thickened the gravy just a bit with Wondra, and added some fresh mushroom slices. Served over egg noodles. Thanks for posting DDW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Mmmm..Very tasty with mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This was very easy and had great flavor. I did not skewer the pork instead just sauted it. The cooking time was significantly less with smaller pieces of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      We all loved this! I did not use the skewers and I used garlic powder instead of the garlic salt. I thickened the sauce for a nice gravy and served it with mashed potatoes. It was very yummy and everyone, including the kids, liked this! I will be keeping this recipe to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      I cooked it in a crock pot & it worked out great. I was very salty for my taste. It might be from the soup mix or maybe the broth. I'll try reducing the salt where I can

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      try it in your crockpot. i use country style ribs and skip the skewers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      WOW ! amazing! my husband loved it and compared it to his grandmothers! i call that a big hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      Tasty, smells wonderful, but I was hoping for a more tender end product. I'm sure this will be good as leftovers too though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      This was wonderful. I made it for my wife and she raved about it!!!This was a very easy meal to prepare and the results were GREAT!!! Will be making this again. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      very good and easy.. use low sodium broth and garlic powder and it won't be too salty. I added all broth instead of the water for more flavor. was great and will be making again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      This recipe was delicious! The gravy had a wonderful flavor and the meat was fork tender! I just made it tonight and I had to hide some for my daughter to eat when she gets home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      My daughter just got braces and feeding her has been a challenge. The pork was very tender, and I served it with egg noodles - she ate two servings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This was good but it seemed to lack something for us. I used fresh garlic as I didn't have garlic powder (as suggested by other reviewers). I used about 3/4 envelope of the onion soup and still found it too salty. Thx.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I made this recipe last night and my whole family absolutely loved it. We will definitely be having it again (and again). I made it gluten-free with GF flour and by thickening the gravy with corn starch - delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      this is delicious we all loved it thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      this recipe was so good i used the juice for potatoes wasnt a big hit with my hubby but i think he was lying because he had second plate

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      This was incredible! My boyfriend and I were both wonderfully surprised at how delicious it was. I used garlic powder and chicken bullion cubes for the broth. This will definitely be a regular meal for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      i make this for my son and my boy friend and they love it. my boyfriend has never had it and he was pleasently suprised at how tender it gets. i started useing a roaster to cook it. i dont use this recipe but i am definately goin to try the onion soup in this batch. thanks for posting , it gave me some ideas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for City Chicken (But It's Not Chicken!)

    Serving Size: 1 (301 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 795.3
     
    Calories from Fat 508
    63%
    Total Fat 56.4 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 20.8 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 182.4 mg
    60%
    Sodium 1591.2 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 47.9 g
    95%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites