10 Reviews

WOW, this marinade is terrific and will be used often. I marinated boneless pork chop for almost 2 hours. My picky kids proclaimed this their "favorite way to eat chops" and we got 5***** review from all. We grilled 'em outdoors. My only change made to the recipe was that I used only 1 t black pepper. I was pleased that the chili powder and black pepper was not too spicy. Just a perfect blend of seasonings. Thanks a bunch LizzyGirl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour August 31, 2009

Used this marinade for a beef tenderloin roast. Marinated overnight so all the flavors set in. Pan seared the roast then baked in in the oven at 350 uncovered until the temp hit 140. Used the marinade and drippings from the roast to create a sauce. Simmered/reduced down and added 1/4 of heavy whipping cream and vegetable stock for a nice finishing sauce. Served Cuban Balck Beans and Rice with chopped onions and cilantro and a dallop of sour cream. Amazing meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faith M. December 29, 2014

This was a wonderful marinade that I used on 2 lbs of pork tenderloin. I marinaded it overnight. I baked the pork in the oven at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. The pork was deliciously tender and moist. Thanks for sharing. Made for Spring PAC 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou April 07, 2014

I served this as the main entree at a Cuban themed brunch and received rave reviews from all guests. AMAZING. This is destined to become a staple at our home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DawnPutney October 14, 2012

This was a great marinade. I used bone in chicken breast and marinaded it overnight. Grilled it and I love the flavors!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff August 27, 2010

Great marinade for grilled chicken! Loved the combination of spices and citrus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here May 15, 2010

Omg this was so good! I marinated a whole chicken and cooked in a rotiserie! The smell was almost unbearable, i couldnt wait to eat it it was so tempting. Very good and cant wait to try it on beef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mikey #6 May 09, 2010

Fantastic marinade for a taste of the "Islands". I substituted shallots for the onion, fresh ginger (finely grated), and fresh ground nutmeg. I used a Jaccard Meat Tenderizer (tool) on pork steaks to really allow the marinade to get deep inside. I marinated meat for 4 hours and grilled them on a charcoal grill. Great recipe LizzyGirl, thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom June 02, 2009

YUM! Used this on chicken wings and they came out great. I added cilantro and Goya's adobo to the marinade and let them sit for about 5 hours before baking. They had a fantastic taste - thanks LizzyGirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MariTries2Cook January 13, 2009

I used this for grilled pork. It was excellent. Especially delightful because all ingredients are usually in the pantry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racrgal July 15, 2008
Citrus-Spice Caribbean/Cuban Marinade for Pork, Beef, Chicken