22 Reviews

Loved this chicken. I marinated it overnight and really enjoyed the nice citrus flavor. Thanks for sharing, Teresa. Made for For Your Consideration tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme April 16, 2015

We really enjoyed this chicken. It's nice, light and fresh tasting due to the citrus. Next time I might add more of the garlic, oregano and chili powder. I particularly liked the fact that this chicken can be both marinated and cooked very quickly! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 20, 2011

This was absolutely amazing! Even though I was out of lime/lime juice, my SIL suggested trying it with orange juice, not really the same but it still turned out delicious! I pan seared the chicken since it's much too cold outside right now to grill, then deglazed the pan with chicken broth and lemon juice for a nice full flavored sauce. The whole family raved! This will be a regular for sure! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tori.zombie December 02, 2010

Marinated the chicken overnight and DH cooked on the grill. A light citrus flavor and moist chicken that we enjoyed. I agree with the reviewer that mentioned serving this with a subtle side dish to not overpower the chicken. Made and reviewed for Kittencal's Recipe Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 30, 2010

It isn't exactly BBQ weather here in London today. So, I did these under the broiler and they still turned out really well. I ended up marinating them for several hours in the fridge and by the time they were done they were packed full of flavour. I really enjoyed them and think they would be a great base for a chicken burger piled high on a bun with some mayo and crisp veggies. Made for Spring PAC 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne March 29, 2010

The flavours are quite subtle, even after marinating for 30 hours (had to skip a dinner). The flavours work well if you are having other subtle side dishes; if paired with stronger flavours on the side I would add more garlic to the marinade. The chicken was incredibly juicy and would be fantastic on top of a salad. Made for PRMR Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini September 12, 2009

This was so good! I marinated my chicken about 5 hours - the result was a wonderful citrus, garlic flavored chicken; the oregano comes through ever so slightly - perfect! I served with fresh steamed broccoli topped with lemon-pepper. I love that this marinade is made with things I have on hand regularly. Another great one Teresa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI July 31, 2009

I hate to give this such a mediocre rating after all these 5 stars but I felt like this lacked flavor. There was a hint of citrus but not much else. I marinated for the requisite amount of time but I wonder if it would be better marinating for a bit longer or perhaps allowing the flavors of the marinade blend together for some time before adding it to the chicken. This recipe probably won't get a repeat at my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus July 16, 2009

You can play roulette with this recipe...breasts, thighs, or legs! My husband hasn't stopped expressing his amour of this dish. Made for PRMR

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 29, 2009

I'm giving this four stars because I personally thought the taste was just pretty bland. I felt that the amount of citrus was really overpowering and that's all I could taste. However, it was not good grilling weather here today. so I broiled this instead, and I'm thinking it probably would have been better on the grill. I will probably try it again and maybe increase the amount of chili powder and add some other seasonings to kick the taste up a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lydia's Mama April 17, 2009
Citrus Barbecued Chicken