Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Citrus Barbecued Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Citrus Barbecued Chicken

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2011

      We really enjoyed this chicken. It's nice, light and fresh tasting due to the citrus. Next time I might add more of the garlic, oregano and chili powder. I particularly liked the fact that this chicken can be both marinated and cooked very quickly! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      This was absolutely amazing! Even though I was out of lime/lime juice, my SIL suggested trying it with orange juice, not really the same but it still turned out delicious! I pan seared the chicken since it's much too cold outside right now to grill, then deglazed the pan with chicken broth and lemon juice for a nice full flavored sauce. The whole family raved! This will be a regular for sure! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Marinated the chicken overnight and DH cooked on the grill. A light citrus flavor and moist chicken that we enjoyed. I agree with the reviewer that mentioned serving this with a subtle side dish to not overpower the chicken. Made and reviewed for Kittencal's Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      It isn't exactly BBQ weather here in London today. So, I did these under the broiler and they still turned out really well. I ended up marinating them for several hours in the fridge and by the time they were done they were packed full of flavour. I really enjoyed them and think they would be a great base for a chicken burger piled high on a bun with some mayo and crisp veggies. Made for Spring PAC 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      The flavours are quite subtle, even after marinating for 30 hours (had to skip a dinner). The flavours work well if you are having other subtle side dishes; if paired with stronger flavours on the side I would add more garlic to the marinade. The chicken was incredibly juicy and would be fantastic on top of a salad. Made for PRMR Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This was so good! I marinated my chicken about 5 hours - the result was a wonderful citrus, garlic flavored chicken; the oregano comes through ever so slightly - perfect! I served with fresh steamed broccoli topped with lemon-pepper. I love that this marinade is made with things I have on hand regularly. Another great one Teresa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I hate to give this such a mediocre rating after all these 5 stars but I felt like this lacked flavor. There was a hint of citrus but not much else. I marinated for the requisite amount of time but I wonder if it would be better marinating for a bit longer or perhaps allowing the flavors of the marinade blend together for some time before adding it to the chicken. This recipe probably won't get a repeat at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      You can play roulette with this recipe...breasts, thighs, or legs! My husband hasn't stopped expressing his amour of this dish. Made for PRMR

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      I'm giving this four stars because I personally thought the taste was just pretty bland. I felt that the amount of citrus was really overpowering and that's all I could taste. However, it was not good grilling weather here today. so I broiled this instead, and I'm thinking it probably would have been better on the grill. I will probably try it again and maybe increase the amount of chili powder and add some other seasonings to kick the taste up a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      I have made this twice now, it is so delicious and makes the chicken so moist. This time I also made a batch of the marinade and marinated some salmon (for the non chicken eaters in my family!). They also loved the subtle citrus flavors. I didn't grill it, but baked @ 400 for 30 minutes. Once the weather gets nicer, I will most definitely grill it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      VERY NICE TASTING CHICKEN, even if I did leave out the chili powder! I marinated the breasts for several hours, & THE CITRUS & GARLIC COMBO WAS OUTSTANDING! A great keeper of a recipe! Many thanks! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Delicious! Those who love citrus flavourings will love this recipe. The subtle variation of the lemon and lime: just SO scrumptious. I was keen for the chicken to soak up all those wonderful citrus juices, so I marinated the chicken overnight. I used four cloves of finely minced garlic and omitted the chili powder (personal taste preferences). Then I pan-fried the chicken breasts in a non-stick pan with just a tad of butter (probably about 2 teaspoons). I'll certainly be making this again, TeresaS, so thank you for sharing this recipe: we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Very tasty, loved the combination of flavors! I marinated then cooked in a frying pan with a little more lemon juice to coat and it turned out delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Perfect! This recipe is perfect in flavour & moistness!! It is perfectly light & summery! I served with raw veggies & dip, macaroni salad & tossed salad. The only change I made was to marinate overnight. Very refreshing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      This is a very tasty marinade! I used a bit less olive oil and a tad more garlic. I also poked the chicken a few times before I put it in the marinade to help it soak up a bit more of the lemon/lime flavor. I cooked this under the broiler for about 7 minutes on each side for a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Very good, subtle citrus flavor with this chicken. It would be excellent for Fajitas as well. I doubled the sauce and put it into a freezer bag with frozen chicken breasts in the morning. By the time I came home the chicken was thawed and marinaded! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      This is one of the best marinade I've had in a long time! So simple yet so tasty!! Can't wait to make it again! Thanks Boomette! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This is one of the best marinade I made. We loved it. I didn't taste the chili powder so next time maybe I'll add more. It was our first bbq of the year and also with a new bbq. Thanks Teresa Made for 123 hit wonders

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      What a winner. This was awsome. The flavor was fantastic. I ended up making this in a grill pan cause my gas grill ran out of gas about half way through, but they turnd out great. Will put this in my grill rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      Wonderful ww recipe!!! I love citrus flavors and this made for a wonderful grilled chicken. I followed the recipe except I used bone-in skinless chicken breast. Thanks TeresaS for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Citrus Barbecued Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.7
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    29%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 140.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 25.2 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites