63 Reviews

made this to go with pancakes. It was easy and awsome. To my surprise my non sweet eating husband really liked it. I feel like I want to serve it with apples or ice cream. A keeper for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWendyMG May 02, 2010

WOW this syrup turned out quite thick! It thickened so quickly on my stovetop! But it was delicious. I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp & used Splenda. I also used cornstarch per previous suggestions & that was a good thing. It smelled & tasted delicious. Thanks SO much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS September 17, 2005

Tastes nice, easy recipe, but too thick. I will try it next time with 1 tbsp of corn starch or flour. I also increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. it's more a sauce than a syrup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deeprose3_6854654 May 17, 2014

I guess we are the only ones out of all the other 60 reviews, that don't like this recipe. It was awful. We had to pour it out. I had made another recipe with cinnamon in it, and it was good. Sorry, but, this was really bad. I followed the recipe exactly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissy sue July 16, 2013

Made this for pancakes tomorrow a.m. Only change was I added 1/8 tsp vanilla extract. Quick, easy and delicious! Took spoon to the kids to try...they took the whole spoon and licked it clean! Already thinking of other things to put this on!! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hoolio1978 May 26, 2013

This is incredibly delicious syrup. I used ginger instead of cinnamon so this would become a blood type B friendly recipe. Then I poured it on top of the Oatmeal Cottage Cheese Pancake recipe found on this site. Perfect texture considering the fact that I wanted a syrup that was thick without using corn syrup. Thank you...Sallyanne...for contributing to my collection of fabulous recipes. Sincerely, Sherry Belle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry Belle May 18, 2013

I made an account just to review this recipe. It is the best syrup I have ever tasted, and it grows great with not only pancakes, but ANY bread you want, and maybe some other things I haven't tried. Thank you for this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spacet March 01, 2013

This syrup is so delicious. I initially made it to go with banana pancakes and have since tried it on different kinds of pancakes and waffles and it is always SO good! Regular syrup just doesn't compare! And the fact that it's so easy to make doesn't hurt either :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kkington May 31, 2012

Delicious every time. First tried in Gingerbread Pancakes With Cranberry-Maple Syrup replacing the maple syrup minus the cinnamon sticks in that recipe. I use white sugar, sea salt, rice flour to be gluten free, at least double the cinnamon but I would add even more next time! I used canola oil with ok results in place of the butter once but butter adds so much flavour and I will use it for now on unless I need to make this dairy free. A second time I made this a delicious strawberry cinnamon syrup by adding the juice of Simple Strawberries which I let macerate a day and night and almost 3 times the cinnamon. I served this beautiful cheap strawberry syrup with Rice Flour Crepes, the strawberries, sliced banana and plain yogurt for a wonderful gluten free breakfast. Yet a third time I chopped peeled empire apple and cooked until slightly soft in the syrup and served it over gluten free waffles. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 21, 2012
Cinnamon Syrup