70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have yet to bite into this bread, but form the smell, I am in heaven!! I followed Chef Cajun Deb's example and soaked my raisins (SunMaid's Mixed Jumbo Raisins) in some cognac for about 36 hours . . . and the dough smelled divine! I am actually making this for my brother, but am hoping that he'll gratefully offer me a slice. I'm waaaay excited about making this bread again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick September 30, 2008

Great bread. I soaked the raisins in whiskey over night and then drained just before adding to bread and wow what a great flavor. It didn't have a strong flavor but made the raisins more flavorful. Thanks Lane

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cajun Deb July 28, 2008

Thank you Lane for posting a recipe that will become a classic in this household. Not a fan of raisins, so I substituted walnut pieces. Adds a nice crunch. I'll cut back on the butter used to brush the dough next time, as it squirted out of both ends when I rolled it up. Messy, but so delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robbie #22 April 25, 2008

Absolutely fantastic recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bet-z March 24, 2008

This is one of the best breads that I have ever had. I too reduced the cinnamon somewhat, to 1 1/2 tsp. I baked it in a 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 baking pan which made around 15 slices. Thank you for posting this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flo Rose January 29, 2008

According to my husband, this is the "best thing to come out of that bread machine". Wonderful, moist bread with loads of flavour. It has become a family favourite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadiangirl #3 January 17, 2008

Things I learned while baking this bread: 1) remember to push bread machine away from edge of counter during kneading cycle. 2) Roll dough to 10 x 12 rectangle as directed in the recipe. 3) After resting the dough in the fridge overnight, allow dough to come to room temperature before baking. Anyway, after having the bread machine crash to the floor, I picked up the dough (10 second rule) and placed it in the Kitchen Aid mixer to complete the kneading. When I rolled the dough out I didn't pay attention to the directions. It seemed like a lot of butter & cinnamon sugar. When the loaf baked the top was golden brown but the center was raw. This could have also been caused by cold bread dough going directly into the oven. All problems and errors aside, this bread (the parts we ate) was absolutely delicious, sweet and the consistency was light. I will be making it again - after I buy a new bread machine. Any suggestions what kind I should buy? Ok, bought a new Breadman machine. Today I made this recipe again. It turned out great!!! We will be having this often

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenBee49444 January 13, 2008

This did not turn out for me. I am not sure why. I think I followed the directions exactly. The outside was getting to dark while the inside remained doughy. I finally just tossed it. I will try this again and then update my review, perhaps I inadvertenly did something wrong. It did smell good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko December 04, 2007

Lordy Lordy Lordy!! I don't know if words can describe this awesome bread! I do have to say, I baked 30 min at 350 and didn't know the center was still dough.... will bake longer next time. My family wants this made daily.... Hmphfff :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKompelien November 03, 2007

Delicious and easy! We had this breakfast this morning topped with a mix of Ricotta/Sweetened Greek Yoghurt and Chocolate Shavings. The topping crust was nice and crunchy. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethP September 22, 2007
Cinnamon Swirl Raisin Bread - for Bread Machine